We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great groupon deal !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dukes Head Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Wow what a great hotel, we had been slightly put off by reading some dodgy reports about the hotel on TripAdvisor, but what a great surprise when we arrived the staff were happy, helpful, in fact without exception each member of staff we asked for help was polite friendly and helpful, room was spotless and very comfortable, really great nights sleep, even though our room was next to lift, it didn't disturb us, the food in the restaurant was second to none again exceptional service, and the breakfast was also very good,staff friendly and lots to eat, overall an amazing stay. Thankyou all at the Dukes Head for an amazing couple of nights .

Room Tip: Not sure only saw our room, this was at back but very quiet. Room 100
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie52EssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Ellie52EssexUK

Thank you so much for posting a glowing review of your stay on Trip Advisor.

Whilst I am always delighted to read when guests have had a good time, it is even better to read wonderful comments such as yours about my team, as it is they who really make the difference to any hotel or business for that matter.

I sincerely hope to welcome you back soon where I am sure you will have another enjoyable time.

Best regards

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,086)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

695 - 701 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had a fantastic travel zoo deal of B&B, afternoon tea, bucks fizz and 3 course evening meal with wine. We were pleasantly surprised by everything. The food was lovely, the staff were friendly, the room wasn't anything special but was absolutely fine, the hotel itself was nicely decorated and the restaurant was a pleasant room. We had a nice evening and were very happy with the whole stay. We couldn't have asked for more. We do agree with some of the other reviews that breakfast wasn't quite as organised as it could have been; some guests were wandering in and seating themselves as there was no staff member or notice to ask them to wait to be seated. Also tables were not cleared very quickly so perhaps extra staff is required but it wasn't a problem to us. Would happily stay again on another deal of this type.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich_Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Rich_Sandra

I was delighted to read your review on Trip Advisor, and was pleased that you had made use of our Travelzoo offer, so thank you.

Your comments regarding breakfast have been discussed with the team, and I am pleased to report that even though the whole hotel seem to descend at the same time recently, we have now made improvements to make service better.

Come and visit us again soon.

Best regards

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I spent my birthday weekend here. WHAT A FIND. Nothing is too much trouble for any member of staff. All are polite and helpfull. Rooms are lovely with a very nice shower. Food is gorgeous. Great location being only a minute from town. We came at Easter as a couple and this time as a large family party. Both times we came away having had a great weekend. I honestly cannot fault this hotel. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Wendy H

Thank you for posting a lovely review of your stay with us on Trip Advisor, It was great to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us both recently and last Easter.

I hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

It was with some trepidation that I undertook my business trip to Kings Lynn. I had hard bad things about the town and things didn't look much better when I stepped off the train so be surrounded by some seriously looking inbred people. The town itself actually wasn't too bad from what I saw, at least not for a couple of nights. This was also made a whole lot better by my stay at the lovely Legacy Duke’s Head Hotel.

Just a short walk from the train station, through the town, this hotel is easy to find, located on the side of the large town square. The reception staff were very friendly and accommodating and my thanks goes to them for selecting me a quiet room, my number one priority in any stay.

The room itself was a good size and had a clean and modern feel to it. I would have liked a bath as well as a shower but that is only a minor thing, especially given the reasonable price that was paid.

The restaurant meal I had on the first night was lovely and the service I received was exceptional. The meal we shared as a business on the following night in one of the function rooms was also of a good standard. Breakfast offered a good range of cooked and continental choices.

From a business point of view things went well and the service was attentive.

Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel if you are looking to stay in the area.

Room Tip: Room 8 was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Harry G

Thank you for posting a lovely review of your stay with us on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us and as a result, hopefully given you a much better opinion of Kings Lynn.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Very cold room. Asked for a heater and they said because of the health and safety can.t give us one... windows very poor ... the wind was blowing up the net curtain. Duvet was a summer one, very thin. Food not very nice. One thing for sure-- won.t return here...

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrPJone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear mrPJone

Thank you for posting a Review on Trip Advisor.

I was sorry to hear that you were cold during your recent stay, and that we were not forthcoming in supplying you with a heater. As it is summertime, all of the heating in the building is switched off and indeed we have changed our bed quilts for summer ones, however there is no reason for not supplying guests with what they require.

I will of course look in to the issue to ensure this does not happen again.

My very best regards

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

From the outset this hotel is good; the beds are comfy, the bathroom is clean; it has free Wi-Fi! You will love the cosy bar; the restaurant food is superb and the breakfast is good. So why does this hotel just get an average rating from me?

We saw the online deals, such as other reviewers discussing travelzoo, and were interested, but in the end took the deal offered by the hotel which included bed, breakfast and dinner. What the deal does not tell you is the hotel car park easily gets full and you have to park in a car park around the corner. So, after a long journey, the female receptionist just breezily said the car park was full. She forgot to say we had to pay a further five pounds to park in the urban car park, one unfamiliar to us, overnight. We found ourselves walking through the town carrying all our stuff. Great!

This isn't surprising as the hotel failed to inform us at the time of booking a festival was taking place in the town during the weekend we had booked to stay here. Don't get me wrong, the festival is excellent for the town, but as potential customers we should have been informed that the event was taking place as we may have chosen to come at a different time. The reason for this is the hotel faces onto the Market Place where the concerts took place and the hotel had provided a bar for gig-goers in the entrance. Don't take me for a moaner, as I love a trip to the O2 Arena, but being greeted by stern security guards when we arrived at The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel was not exactly a warm welcome. I accept it was safety, but the suspicious glare of the guards as you wheeled your suitcase into the reception made you feel like you were entering a nightclub rather than the charming atmosphere the hotel promotes on their website. But then again I was yet to meet the disinterested churlish hotel reception Manager!

Well, TripAdvisors, I shouldn't be surprised by the dismissive response (see below) as the hotel does not place the paying hotel guest first: the pop-up festival bar was also the breakfast room and the comfy hotel bed did not give a good night's sleep as the scraping of furniture below me, probably putting the breakfast room back in place, interfered with my sleep. Not good.

Frustrated by parking in a car park around the corner we had to pay for and entering a tightly well-guarded nightspot rather than a hotel I decided to discuss this with the bored male Manager hovering reception. Well, he was the Manager on duty and the customer is always right hey? Seemingly not. And this was after a fellow male receptionist dithered trying to find our booking information. So, with the 'Manager' just watching him struggle to find our bookings as we stood waiting for what felt like minutes on end it was no surprise he didn't understand my growing discontentment. In simple terms I explained we had no choice but to park in the car park around the corner; we had to pay extra for this when there is a complimentary car park on site. He offered to find us a parking bay in the hotel car park; he failed to grasp we had already paid for the car park or gathered up all our belongings so we didn't have to leave the hotel again that night (it's not the same as parking outside accommodation where if you leave something you left in the back seat you can pop back and get it). There was no apology, no offer of a complimentary drink for the problem or the parking cost deducted from our booking. Although, I did get brusqueness thrown in as a complimentary extra: the reception Manager said he got the impression I could never be pleased here. If being judgemental to a hotel guest is part of managerial training these days then well I'm lost for words!

Seemingly the Manager didn't know me whatsoever as the hotel is actually very good. The hotel is located centrally and on nights such as this where the concert took-over the town you don't need to leave the hotel if you don't want to as everything you could want is here.

My only gripe? Just one; the corridor lighting is on a timed setting so you can find yourself unwittingly in a blackout and struggle to find your way into your room. If you do succeed in unlocking the door, you will find the rooms well-furnished with plenty of towels and toiletries. The shower is superb and there is also satellite television. It was also such a pleasant surprise to find free Wi-FI in the room.The evening meal was excellent; proper home-cooked food. The chef really should be congratulated. Excellent.

Moreover, the waiting staff work so hard and want to ensure you have a good stay; this is to the detriment of hotel Management. Yes, the rude reception Manager did not help my experience, but the hotel deals are excellent if they work for the guest. In this case it didn't.

For instance, we were told our table was booked for 8:30 p.m. : not offered a table at 8:30 p.m. I mean we are on our holidays, not staying in a regulated institution! We should have been given choices. And when we went down to the restaurant at 8:30 p.m. we were given complimentary drinks as the table wasn't ready. We eventually sat down forty minutes later. We ventured down to breakfast the following morning and had to wait ten minutes for a table because there wasn't one. Oh, and then you have to flag down an exhausted waitress (the only one!) ten minutes after being seated for coffee as you can't just have a fresh pot for you to pour at your own convenience. This is not an inflight service it's a hotel. If you want a fried egg you have to ask the frazzled 'senior catering manager' to have one cooked for you. And when it eventually comes the rest of the breakfast is finished. Oh, and you won't be able to hear your fellow guest or guests as the staff member allocating tables at the entrance constantly shouts over you trying to find free tables for waiting guests. It does seem Management does not understand what the customer wants.

Overall, through promoting amazing deals seems great. But not being able to provide the advertised services or on time is not so great. Or for reception Managers to be polite. Again, not so great. That's why it gets an average rating.

You can see why the receptionist didn't ask if we had enjoyed our stay when we checked-out.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank thetraveller089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear thetraveller089

Whilst I always welcome all feedback on Trip Advisor, what you have not written in this report is how hostile, rude and offensive you were towards myself and my team when you arrived with your mother.

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We spent an enjoyable weekend in King's Lynn staying at the Duke's Head Hotel.
We didn't benefit from the Groupon deal, which seems to be excellent value.
Along with other reviews, the food in the restaurant, for dinner, was excellent as was the service.
The room was modern and well equipped, however, as mentioned by other guests the wastes in the basin and shower were blocked and did cause a little inconvenience, this would surely obvious to the cleaning staff, so shouldn't need to be reported by guests.
In some of the public areas the carpets were very dusty and would have benefitted from vacuuming.
The room was very hot, what appeared to be an air conditioning control, didn't function.
The breakfast was a little chaotic, asking for an item off the menu and requesting more coffee, seemed to be a chore for some staff.
Overall, a lovely hotel, but given my experience, would only stay if I benefitted from a good deal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alpha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Alpha B

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

I was very pleased to read that you had enjoyed your dinner experience in our Turners Restaurant, but was disappointed to read that you had experienced some shortfalls during your stay.

As for the drainage, this is something that has recently occurred, but I am pleased to report that the issue has since been resolved.

We do not have air-conditioning in any room, the controls on the wall are for heating only and is a real help in the winter.

Thank you again for your review.

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near King's Lynn
2.2 mi away
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
#3 of 15 in King's Lynn
929 reviews
0.1 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
769 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#10 of 15 in King's Lynn
299 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
127 reviews
12.1 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Head Hotel

Address: 5-6 Tuesday Market Place, King's Lynn PE30 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
#7 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range: £54 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dukes Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of King's Lynn old town and overlooking the historic market place, the Duke's Head is perfect for discovering what Norfolk has to offer to the business and leisure traveller. Since Georgian times, this impressive classical building has welcomed visitors including Princess Victoria and Sir Robert Walpole (generally considered to be the first Prime Minister of Great Britain) in considerable comfort and style.Its location overlooking the ancient market place in the centre of King's Lynn would have denoted its importance in a town peppered with fine historic buildings. The Duke's Head is located walking distance away from King's Lynn station, nightlife, restaurants, bars and leisure club. Kings Lynn is serviced by regular trains to London and serves as an ideal location for discovering Norfolk. North Norfolk is an ideal tourist destination. Whether you enjoy the lively atmosphere and entertainment offered by traditional seaside resorts, the tranquility of the small fishing villages, which spring to life at high tide, you can't help but be impressed by the beautiful coastline and the fascinating history of its towns. The Hotel has recently benefited from a 3 million pound refurbishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dukes Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Dukes Head Hotel
Dukes Head Kings Lynn
The Dukes Head Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing