We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dukes Head Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Stuart House Hotel(King's Lynn)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$401
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa(King's Lynn)(Great Value!)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Globe Hotel(King's Lynn)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Ffolkes Hotel(King's Lynn)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Kings Lynn(King's Lynn)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grange Hotel(King's Lynn)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Kings Lynn hotel(King's Lynn)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Bank House Hotel(King's Lynn)
US$161
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,191)
Filter reviews
1,191 results
Traveller rating
447
433
182
67
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
447
433
182
67
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe hotel car parktravelzoo dealturners restaurantcocktail barclassic roommarket squarefeature roomcream tealovely hoteloverlooking the squaretuesday market placecourse evening mealafternoon teawaiting staffcentre of towncorn exchangebreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
794 - 799 of 1,191 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Like a lot of people we booked from buying a Groupon deal and it was excellent value for money. We booked one night as a base to see some of the North Norfolk Coast & to visit Sandringham & it worked very well. The deal was Pimms & strawberries & cream on arrival, 3 course dinner with a bottle of wine & breakfast & it was all very nice. The service in the restaurant was good but they were very busy and our choice of table was in the main walkway from the kitchen so better to choose to sit away from there. Breakfast was hectic & again we were seated in a bad position near the buffet which was busy and very warm so we asked to move. In my opinion, too many tables close together it may have been better to offer separate sittings & less tables to give more room. I would recommend moving into the room the other side of the front entrance where it was much calmer. Having said that, the choice of hot & cold breakfast was very good and well stocked.

Our room was at the back of the hotel overlooking the passageway at the side. It was fine, not huge but adequate for one night & quieter than I had expected when we first went in. The air conditioning could have been better but we managed. Small bathroom, large shower but beware the floor surface was slippery. Well stocked courtesy tray, hair dryer in bathroom but you may prefer to take your own!!

Car park at the rear of the hotel & short walk through an outside passageway which was fine. Not enough spaces to accommodate the guests if the hotel is full so the earlier the better, we got the last space.

All together a very nice hotel and a very good value overnight stay. We look forward to finding another one like this.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JENNYJOHN2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear JENNYJOHN2011

I was so pleased to read your review on trip Advisor, and I was glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

As you can imagine our offers have proved very popular indeed and this is why our dining rooms have been busy, my tip for the future would be to avoid the 8pm rush at dinner and the 9am rush at breakfast, and as our opening times are generous there are many slots which are taken.

Keep an eye out for future deals where we will continue to offer great value for money in a lovely hotel.

best regards

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Four of us went with groupon. Afternoon tea was a large glass of Pimms, plenty of fruit, strawberries & cream. Three course evening meal, bottle of wine for 2, excellent meal & a lovely breakfast. Would not fault the food or the attentive well mannered staff.
I don't know if all the rooms are the same but ours was new & modern, lovely bathroom.
We thought that £99 for 2 was very good value for what we got. We are looking forward to going back...we only live 14 miles away, it was a lovely break to chill out for a couple of day's.
During the afternoon after a walk we went back for a coffee, it was a lovely day, the hotel does not have any where to sit outside so we went over the road to the Corn Exchange.
My only negative is that a few tables, chairs & umbrellas would be a good idea, especially as there are boards outside showing cake & scones on offer. I'm sure all the tables would be full outside if we had that option. However i am just being picky. Overall what a lovely place to stay, so many options for people to visit, being so near the coast & Sandringham.
Anyway thankyou to all the staff for making our short stay so good... will recommend to others.
Thankyou also to the good management

Room Tip: we were on floor 3, that was fine
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gavsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear gavsi

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Trip Advisor.

It is always lovely to read great feedback, especially when they praises all aspects of the hotel, so thank you very much indeed.

As for tables and chairs outside, we are currently planning our offering here, and as soon as we have the go ahead, we too will have a large area outside the front of the building where our guests can enjoy a meal or a drink whilst watching the world go by.

we look forward to welcome you back soon.

My very best wishes

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just had a Groupon night and the hotel was excellent. Lovely room on the front overlooking the Market Square, only slightly annoying that as it was a very warm night the pub next door was a bit noisy but not too late. Pimms and Strawberries very welcome on arrival and the dinner menu was difficult to choose but enjoyed what we picked and the Cote de Rhone was very good. Breakfast room was very busy but all the staff worked very swiftly to ensure everyone was looked after. Overall it was a very pleasant stay and all the staff could not have been more helpful. I hope to return and bring my Mum.

Room Tip: We had room number 12 and it was very good excellent mirrors in the correct places!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Callybal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Callybal

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

I was pleased to read that you had made use of our Groupon offer and that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Keep a look out for further offers as I am sure that when you return with your mum, both of you will have a great stay.

Best regards

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

3 nights at the hotel was sufficient. The room was very ordinary, its best feature being the king-size bed but for someone of our age, latish 70's and early 80's it was inconvenient not to have a proper shower. You have to climb into a tall sided bath and stand on a very shiny surface somewhat precariously; a quick in and out, too often in a very hot period. Equally the sole window looks out onto the dining room roof, a range of heavy pipes, which appear to host a noisy squad of seagulls. Parking is none too easy a good 100 yards away from the front and in one instance when there were no parking places available we were advised to park on the fee paying Council site opposite from which the car had to be removed before 8.00 am, and there are no porters available to manage luggage. Think twice if you need this kind of help. There are no lifts either that we were aware of.

No complaints about Kings Lynn itself; indeed thoroughly enjoyed a meal at the nearby Thai Orchid restaurant at very reasonable prices

Room Tip: No lifts, so try for 1st floor. We hope other rooms have better views than No 7, though we did hear one receptionist doing a hard sell of this room whilst we were still there.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianvarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear brianvarley

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy staying in room 7, which is one of our beautiful Feature rooms, and has a large bedroom and smaller lounge area, and is usually very popular with families.

Being a town centre hotel, not every room has a view overlooking the market square, and as many other Town or City centre hotels, windows do sometimes overlook areas which are less attractive.

Parking is available in our car park at the rear of the hotel, and is served on a first come first serve basis, alternatively parking is available on the market square for from 6pm to 8am for a minimal price of £1.

We do have a lift, which services all 4 floors, and whilst it is located at the rear of the hotel it does allow access via link corridors to the front part of the building, and as for luggage, we would have been more than happy to have assisted you both on arrival and departure.

Perhaps when you return, you could request a room at the rear of the building as they have very large walk in showers and are closer to the lift.

Kind regards

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Wow what a great hotel, we had been slightly put off by reading some dodgy reports about the hotel on TripAdvisor, but what a great surprise when we arrived the staff were happy, helpful, in fact without exception each member of staff we asked for help was polite friendly and helpful, room was spotless and very comfortable, really great nights sleep, even though our room was next to lift, it didn't disturb us, the food in the restaurant was second to none again exceptional service, and the breakfast was also very good,staff friendly and lots to eat, overall an amazing stay. Thankyou all at the Dukes Head for an amazing couple of nights .

Room Tip: Not sure only saw our room, this was at back but very quiet. Room 100
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie52EssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Ellie52EssexUK

Thank you so much for posting a glowing review of your stay on Trip Advisor.

Whilst I am always delighted to read when guests have had a good time, it is even better to read wonderful comments such as yours about my team, as it is they who really make the difference to any hotel or business for that matter.

I sincerely hope to welcome you back soon where I am sure you will have another enjoyable time.

Best regards

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews