We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel stay but not so good evening meal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dukes Head Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel stay but not so good evening meal”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed for a Saturday evening (9th Aug) to celebrate my wifes birthday and used a Travelzoo deal to get a lovely Classic room upgrade. The hotel and the room (No 17) are very well prsented and clean and comfortable. The bed was great and comfy and the bathroom was large and had nice shampoo and shower gel etc. Very Good.
The bucks fizz and cream tea scones on arrival were just the ticket after 2 hours of grid lock on the pitiful Norfolk A roads. We did however have to ask for the scones to go with our tea and bucks fizz as the waiter forgot to bring them.??
We really looked forward to our evening meal having heard a lot about the restaurant however I am afraid to report that we were really let down here and had to speak to the duty manager Andrew Rankin the following morning to explain. We had a table booked, by reception, for 8:15pm and when arrived were told that we were wrong and it was 8:45 but we were shown to a table in the corner anyway. We were then left for over 25minutes ignored by all the young staff who were working at 100mph although by no means was the place full. After such a long wait I found the oldest member of the young staff who I believe was the floor manager and had to ask him take our order. A further 10 mins later someone came to our table and brought a bottlee of tap water and took our order. We were offered a free drink for waiting but as the bottle of wine was included in our package anyway this was a pointless offer.
1st course and Main was served quickly and was really really good, however after a further 15mins of sitting looking at our empty plates we lost the will to have a sweet course and left our table with uncleared plates etc and just left the restaurant. None of the staff said any goodbyes, thank you's or even noticed us leaving. The couple who were sat next to us actually left before us not having a sweet course either. Real shame that the service was so bad not just beacuse it was meant to be our birthday celebration dinner but because the food and menu demands better service.
Our table was the wobbliest table ever also and we were told it could not be fixed as it was the top and not the legs that was broken??? Don't sit in the corner table.
There was a wedding on in the hotel and maybe the staff were stretched but we were not impressed and feel rather disappointed.
As I said earlier I did discuss this with a duty manager so hopefully things get put into place to deserve the alledged AA rosette award but it certainly wasn't presented on this night.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a classic room. No. 17 was very nice, just don't expect a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenashbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Jenashbel

Thank you for posting a frank overview of your stay with us on Trip Advisor, and whilst I was pleased to read that nearly every aspect of your stay was good, I was disappointed to read that you had not received great service in our restaurant.

Whilst on this occasion service was not as it should have been I was pleased to see that you felt the food was really good, however it is about both food and service, and again I apologise for this and as you had spoken to Andrew Rudkin my Operations Manager you can rest assured that the issues with service will have been addressed.

I sincerely hope that you will give us another chance and visit us again, where I am sure you will experience the restaurant as you should have.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    379
    159
    48
    46
See reviews for
121
572
28
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed at the hotel on a Saturday night, travelzoo voucher, £99 Buck's Fizz, cream tea, 3 course dinner with a bottle of wine and full breakfast. Hotel, staff and food all better than expected. The car park is tiny but luckily we found a space. The pub next door has great live music. A very short walk into town. Our 3 course dinner was excellent and the dinning room is lovely. The whole hotel is very nice, tall ceilings and dark wood.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms may be noisy as function room is directly below, the disco went on til about 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Adam F

I was so glad to read on trip Advisor that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you had made use of our Travelzoo offer which has proved to be very popular and exceptionally good value for money.

I hope that the next time you are in Kings Lynn that you will stay with us again.

Best regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Four siblings and their partners came to Kings Lynn on a Great British Bake Off offer through Legacy Hotels after we had been to a family wedding further north. The Hotel was superb and centrally situated with free parking, although limited we managed to to park all 3 cars. The deal include bed breakfast and evening meal, you would go a long way to find the food better at any Hotel for the price we paid. The evening meal was 3 courses with a good variety of choice and also included a free bottle of Prosecco for each couple during our stay. The standard of service was first class and very professional. The only downfall was at breakfast when we found that fried eggs were not being made quick enough, therefore having to wait, but at least they were fresh! The rooms were very comfortable with a big walk in shower. Two of our family had travelled from Canada so we stayed 3 nights and did some sightseeing whilst there. We did a walk around Kings Lynn and found plenty of interesting places to see with lots of history as well as a good selection of shops. We will certainly use Legacy Hotels again, hoping they will come up to the same standard as the one at Kings Lynn.

Room Tip: Probably would ask for a room overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Valerie Y

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review of our lovely hotel on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you and your family had enjoyed your stay and that you made use of our Great British Break Off offer.

Sorry that the eggs at breakfast were not being replenished quick enough, I will be sure to pass this comment on to my chef who I am sure will be happy to resolve.

I hope that when you all meet up as a family again you will choose the Dukes Head for your stay.

Best regards to you all.

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Positives – Air of luxury, clean, attractive, good facilities, very good breakfast, free wifi, free on site parking, excellent location

Negatives – virtually none apart from a lick of paint here and there.

The hotel is located in the center of King Lynn one side of a central square.

We stayed for 2 nights in August 2014. The cost for a very good room with comfortable king sized bed in a well equipped room including breakfast for up to 2 people was £75 a night. This included a free cream tea on arrival using Superbreak. The hotel was refurbished in 2010.

When you see the front of the hotel and walk in you feel straight away that it offers a high quality of service and provision. Sort of old fashioned yet modernised luxury. Great!

The clean room had a desk with a very good modern bathroom with a large attractive shower cubical. It also has complimentary coffee/tea together with free biscuits. There was a modern large sized LCD TV with plenty of channels. Wi-Fi was unrestricted, good and free. The bed is very comfortable with very effective curtains to keep out the morning sunshine. The only downside to the hotel was the odd area which could have had a lick of paint – e.g. a white entrance door which had been kicked open a lot so it was marked significantly.

Given other hotels in Kings Lynn and what they charge, we considered that Dukes Head was well worth the price….. more than we would normally pay but worth the extra.

The staff are polite, helpful and very professional. They wanted to please and achieved that goal.

Breakfast from 7.00 – 10.00 am was very good. Eating area is very attractive with a good choice to boot. The hot food included bacon, sausage, tomato, scrambled egg. There were juices, cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit, toast and jams, cheese, tea/coffee, croissant. They would cook some items to order – e.g. porridge. The only thing I would have liked was some bread rolls. You could pay extra for smoked haddock, kippers, etc. All served in a great atmosphere with the hot self service food being topped up and warm enough. Brilliant.

Overall we liked the hotel very much and we would recommend anyone to stay there without hesitation. Overall it is an excellent place to stay and well worth paying the price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nothernman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Nothernman

I was delighted to read your review on Trip Advisor, and was very pleased to see that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Painting is an on-going task which we work with certain sections at a time, and believe it or not, the foyer and corridor outside the restaurant was only painted 4 weeks ago, but due to the volume of guests over the last month, needs to be done again and is programmed for the end of August.

We are extremely proud of our hotel, and it is lovely to read and receive positive comments and constructive feedback from all of our guests.

Thank you for your review, and come and visit us again soon.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed on a one night deal for £89 to include strawberries and Pimms and a 3 course dinner with a bottle of wine. Room was your normal hotel type though at the back of the hotel the WiFi didn't work. Evening meal was superb and staff very polite and courteous. Great value for money and would definitely return.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank creepycrawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear creepycrawley

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor, I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the deal to be exceptional good value for money.

Sorry about the WiFi, this has since been rectified.

Come and visit us again soon where I am sure you will have an equally enjoyable stay.

Kind regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

What a delightful hotel...couldn't ask for more. £99 Groupon voucher included Room, breakfast, dinner (fabulous food) with a bottle of wine plus Pimms and strawberry afternoon tea. Room was gorgeous and all the staff were so helpful. Riva our waiter for dinner was charming and attentive. Restaurant was beautiful...food was delicious. Bag yourself a bargain and explore Kings Lynn. Really lovely town.

Room Tip: Upgrade if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PColumbine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear PColumbine

I am glad that you decided to make use of our popular Groupon offer, and thank you so much for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

Our offers have been very well received this summer, I currently working on the next ones, so keep an eye open and be sure to come and visit us again.

Best regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed one night on a Travelzoo deal, but would have been happy if we had paid the full amount. It is clean, comfortable and serves quality food. The staff are efficient and friendly. Even when we checked out at 11am we were allowed to leave our car in the hotel car park.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RAC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear RAC8

What a lovely review to read on Trip Advisor, thank you so much for posting one.

I have to say that our Travelzoo deal has been most popular, and like yourself many of our guests have thoroughly enjoyed their stay with us, and have found the deal to be exceptional value for money.

I hope that you will come and visit us again soon.

Best regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these King's Lynn hotels
0.1 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
724 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#10 of 15 in King's Lynn
273 reviews
6.0 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
795 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Head Hotel

Property: The Dukes Head Hotel
Address: 5-6 Tuesday Market Place, King's Lynn PE30 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
#7 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dukes Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of King's Lynn old town and overlooking the historic market place, the Duke's Head is perfect for discovering what Norfolk has to offer to the business and leisure traveller. Since Georgian times, this impressive classical building has welcomed visitors including Princess Victoria and Sir Robert Walpole (generally considered to be the first Prime Minister of Great Britain) in considerable comfort and style.Its location overlooking the ancient market place in the centre of King's Lynn would have denoted its importance in a town peppered with fine historic buildings. The Duke's Head is located walking distance away from King's Lynn station, nightlife, restaurants, bars and leisure club. Kings Lynn is serviced by regular trains to London and serves as an ideal location for discovering Norfolk. North Norfolk is an ideal tourist destination. Whether you enjoy the lively atmosphere and entertainment offered by traditional seaside resorts, the tranquility of the small fishing villages, which spring to life at high tide, you can't help but be impressed by the beautiful coastline and the fascinating history of its towns. The Hotel has recently benefited from a 3 million pound refurbishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dukes Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Dukes Head Hotel
Dukes Head Kings Lynn
The Dukes Head Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing