We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at a lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dukes Head Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to King's Lynn and the Legacy Duke's Head Hotel. We had booked our stay via a Travel Zoo deal and have to say it was incredible value for money. The service, the room and the food that we has during our stay was very good. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and we would definitely consider staying there again. The only negative piece of feedback we have was the late night revellers and noise coming from the pub next door, bearing in mind this was a Sunday night. The noise went on until midnight which made sleeping difficult. However, we cannot fault the hotel. We look forward to returning in the future.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alex I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Alex I

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor, I was glad to read that you had made use of our Travelzoo offer, and that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay and found the offer to be great value for money.

I hope that you will come and stay with us again in the not too distant future.

Best regards

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

699 - 705 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here after finding it at short notice on trip advisor and we had to be in the area to pick up a vehicle the following day. It was so much more than we were expecting. Fantastic room with comfy bed and excellent shower. The bar and restaurant were superb and the food was excellent. We both said we would definitely go back for a longer stay next time as there is so much to see and do around Kings Lynn and overall it is very reasonably priced, so a great find.

Room Tip: some rooms are noisier than others so you should ask not to be on the side which has the pub outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear susan t

Thank you for posting a lovely review of your stay with us on Trip Advisor, I was glad to read that you had stumbled across us and that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

I hope that you will come back soon now that you found us.

Kind regards

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was a chance booking for one night - and a very competitive rate.
An ancient and most historic hotel set in the town square. It is most beautifully presented. Receptionist was helpful, friendly and efficient. Room was excellent in all ways. Clearly the whole hotel had been the subject of an extensive upgrade and refurbishment. Very quiet and comfortable.
Lovely breakfast, efficiently served by the hard-working staff. Free wi-fi in every room and private free parking were a really nice bonus. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel and we will definitely return, hopefully for a longer stay, when in Kings Lynn again.

Room Tip: Room 314 was comfortable, clean and quiet. I can entirely recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear John H

Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review of our lovely hotel on Trip Advisor, I was delighted to read that you had stumbled on us by chance, and that you were delighted with the outcome.

We are very proud of our hotel, and as you say we look after it and ensure that we deliver great food and service as well, and thank you once again for highlighting this.

I hope, that now you have found us you will come and stay with us again, and perhaps stay a little longer next time.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Booked a 2 night B&B deal via Groupon which included dinner on the first night with a bottle of wine and a cream tea with a glass of champagne! We upgraded the room to one of the original rooms in the main hotel (with sloping floors and sash windows) and was so pleased with the room. The hotel is lovely, right on the market square and with easy walking distance of the pubs/cafes and the river. The hotel is beautifully decorated and well-maintained. King's Lynn is beautiful with very old buildings, such as the Corn Exchange and the Town Jail perfectly preserved and in use. It really felt that we had gone back in time!

Food was excellent and staff were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was especially good with a great choice from a buffet but also cooked to order items available. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting West Norfolk and we used this as a base to visit Sandringham, Burnham Market and Holkham (all highly recommended).

Would definitely recommend a stay at this hotel. Go book!!

Room Tip: We upgraded to a room in the main hotel (complete with sloping floors)and a massive bathroom. - Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank redsue137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear redsue137

Thank you so much for posting a lovely review of our hotel on Trip Advisor, I was delighted to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed your 2 night Groupon stay.

Thank you also for your kind comments regarding my staff, as it is they who make the real difference to any guest staying here and I was very touched to receive these.

I hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

My very best wishes to you.

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Had a nice stay , room clean and tidy, good selection of extras and very good meal, let down by parking as there seemed a number system but unable to park at the hotel so had to park in a pay and display down the road, annoyed at getting a parking ticket as didn't get down to the car quick enough in the morning

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Martin T

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor, I was glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found the room and food to be good.

I was, however, sorry to hear that you had received a parking ticket, as our car park was full.

I hope this wont deter you from staying with us again in the future where I am sure you will have an equally enjoyable time.

Kind regards

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed one night here on 9th August 14 on a Groupon offer. Very central being right in the town centre and close to the river front also - with its various bars etc. The staff were very friendly and helpful particularly in the Restaurant where the maitre'de was first class, as was the food and service. Our thanks to them, a very enjoyable evening. The rooms are spacious and bathroom is of a good size also - shower (no bath). The only issue is that if you do manage to get a parking space in the hotel car park at the rear of the hotel there is no pedestrian access, there is a 50 yard dash down an alley (in the rain in our case) to get to your car, they really need to see about this. Unfortunately when we were there there was a wedding reception in full swing late into the night, so a lot of noise and drunk guests roaming the halls at night - but there was nothing we could do about that. Would recommend the restaurant without a doubt, and will probably eat there again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jandgEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear jcdEssex

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor, I was delighted to read that you found the hotel to be of a very good quality and that the staff, food and service was first class.

I was also pleased to hear that you had made use of our Groupon offer which has proved to be very popular indeed. We are constantly creating new offers all the time, so keep an eye out for the next one.

Again thank you for your review.

Kind regards

David Williams
general Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Can highly recommend the food in this hotel.
Given the special rate we were on I was very impressed with quality of meals taken.
We had an inclusive deal that gave us a three course dinner with bottle house wine.
It was excellent and the staff looking after us were fabulous.Callum,River and Natasha were very attentive.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Cathy H

I was so pleased to read your review on Trip Advisor, and thank you for taking the time to post one. I was very happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you found my restaurant team to be excellent, I will be sure to pass these comments on to them.

I hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

My very best wishes

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these King's Lynn hotels
0.1 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
790 reviews
2.2 mi away
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
#3 of 15 in King's Lynn
972 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#10 of 15 in King's Lynn
318 reviews
7 mi away
The Ffolkes Hotel
The Ffolkes Hotel
#11 of 15 in King's Lynn
64 reviews
6 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Head Hotel

Address: The Duke's Head 5-6 Tuesday Market Place, King's Lynn PE30 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range: £51 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dukes Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of King's Lynn old town and overlooking the historic market place, the Duke's Head is perfect for discovering what Norfolk has to offer to the business and leisure traveller. Since Georgian times, this impressive classical building has welcomed visitors including Princess Victoria and Sir Robert Walpole (generally considered to be the first Prime Minister of Great Britain) in considerable comfort and style.Its location overlooking the ancient market place in the centre of King's Lynn would have denoted its importance in a town peppered with fine historic buildings. The Duke's Head is located walking distance away from King's Lynn station, nightlife, restaurants, bars and leisure club. Kings Lynn is serviced by regular trains to London and serves as an ideal location for discovering Norfolk. North Norfolk is an ideal tourist destination. Whether you enjoy the lively atmosphere and entertainment offered by traditional seaside resorts, the tranquility of the small fishing villages, which spring to life at high tide, you can't help but be impressed by the beautiful coastline and the fascinating history of its towns. The Hotel has recently benefited from a 3 million pound refurbishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dukes Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Dukes Head Hotel
Dukes Head Kings Lynn
The Dukes Head Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing