We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Family Weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dukes Head Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Family Weekend away”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We spent the weekend in the penthouse suite at this gorgeous hotel which was clean, tidy, well presented and a brilliant relaxing time for us as a family.
The hotel food was lovely and the staff were friendly, helpful, professional and welcoming.
The hotel is located right in the heart of Kings Lynn Town but this does not affect your stay.
There are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby too if you wanted to eat out although the food in the hotel is yummy.

Room Tip: Choose the penthouse if you prefer a bit more space for you and your family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traci W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Traci W

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor, I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the penthouse accommodation.

thank you also for your kind comments regarding our food and our team, and I will ensure that they are passed on to them who I am sure will be equally delighted to receive them.

I hope that it wont be too long before you come and stay with us again where I am sure you will have an equally enjoyable time.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    386
    160
    48
    46
See reviews for
125
581
28
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We purchased a 2 night stay through Travel Zoo, it was an amazing deal and we were not disappointed,the hotel was lovely having been refurbished to a high standard,we got off to a good start with a welcome Buck's Fizz and a cream tea on arrival,what a lovely gesture it meant so much.
The hotel is central and there is no need to use your car if you don,t want to,the local bus station is a short walk and the service is excellent where you can use your freedom bus pass to get to Sandringham and anywhere along the coast.
Compliments to the chef and staff for the amazing food we were served during our stay we enjoyed it all and it was beautifully presented,WELL DONE.
The whole staff were delightful,they all worked together as a team and were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble,and always with a smile ,it was so welcoming,they all deserve full marks for doing such a grand job.
It was a lovely break and one we would highly recommend it's a really lovely hotel,do try it you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 205,it was at the back,a standard room but very quiet,the room was small but adequ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Doreen T

Thank you for posting such a glowing review of your stay with us on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to see that you had made use of our Travelzoo offer and that you found it to be an amazing deal.

Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our food and our staff, as it is they who make a real difference to our guests, and I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to them too.

I hope that you will keep an eye open for future deals and come and visit us again soon.

My very best wishes

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We've never stayed with a legacy hotel before and weren't disappointed. We booked a "Great British Break Off" and the hotel, room and restaurant were fabulous. We stayed in a feature room and it was an impressive size and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was a little bit small but beautifully finished.
The food was amazing 3 courses included both nights and the bar area was nice and
relaxing.
The only quibble would be our prosecco wasn't in the room when we arrived and despite us asking for it to be put in the room on the second evening it wasn't. However the restaurant were happy to substitute it for any bottle of wine we wanted at dinner.
On the whole an extremely enjoyable stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7788serena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear 7788serena

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor, I was delighted to read that you had made use of our Great British Break Off offer, and that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Apologies for not having the Prosecco in your room on arrival, but pleased we sorted it out on the night.

I hope that you will visit us again soon for another great stay.

Best wishes

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We spent 2 nights at the hotel and enjoyed our break very much. Having purchased a Travelzoo deal we upgraded to a classic room. Travelling with my husband and little boy, we checked in and went to our room (3) which was a very large room with a huge bathroom. It was lovely and bright due to the big sash widows. Good quality toiletries were provided as were tea/coffee facilities. We did ask to move rooms the next morning and reception were very helpful. Whilst it wasn't especially noisy, the room was above the lounge bar and as we had gone to bed quite early (having a 2 year old) we could hear voices into the night. We then moved to room 21, another nice room, and we had an excellent night's sleep. I have read some of the other reviews who complain about noise, of course some rooms are quieter than others but you need to balance the convenience of being right in the town centre. If you want silence maybe you should try one the tiny B&B's in the bird reserve at Snettisham!

All the food we had was very good. We had dinner on the first night, which was delicious. I was concerned taking my little boy into the restaurant which was quite intimate, however the waiting staff made a big fuss of him. The menu has some tasty dishes which seems as if it changes daily, the only improvement I would make is that being vegetarian I would like to see another option rather than just the one main course. Breakfast was also very good and nice selection of hot and cold food, I ordered veggie sausages which arrived in a couple of minutes. We had breakfast about 8.30 both days, and were seated straight away, we did notice however from 9-9.30 it gets quite busy and you may have to wait for table. In our package was included a cream tea, again it was nice. The bar was quite busy in the afternoon so we did have to wait a little while. 23MB Wi-Fi was welcome.

There is a small car park, which if you arrive by early afternoon you should be ok, but just consider how you park i.e reverse into a space if necessary to make it easier to get out the next day as people double park. We left our car and went to explore Kings Lynn, there is a large pedestrianised shopping area which has a good selection of shops in under a minute from the hotel. There are plenty of pubs, cafes and restaurants to choose from with Wetherspoons being well represented in the town with 2 pubs. The Lattice House being the nicer. On our second night we went out for dinner and whilst it was a bit of a walk we went to Marmaris Turkish restaurant, not much to look at but very tasty food. We visited Snettisham Beach and Hunstanton both of which were under half and hour's drive.

I would recommend the Dukes Head and Kings Lynn itself as a great location to explore the area or just enjoy an evening in the town. We went because of seeing the deal on Travelzoo but we would have equally been as happy paying full price.

Room Tip: Room 30 would be good to avoid as it's over the noisy extractors from the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear MarieJ_11

It was lovely to read your review on Trip Advisor and thank you for posting one, I was delighted to read that you and your family had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you found all aspects of the hotel to be very good.

I was sorry to hear that you had been disturbed on your first night but was pleased to read that we were able to offer you an alternative room which was much quieter for you especially with a little one.

Come and visit us again soon where I am sure you will have another great stay.

My very best wishes

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to King's Lynn and the Legacy Duke's Head Hotel. We had booked our stay via a Travel Zoo deal and have to say it was incredible value for money. The service, the room and the food that we has during our stay was very good. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and we would definitely consider staying there again. The only negative piece of feedback we have was the late night revellers and noise coming from the pub next door, bearing in mind this was a Sunday night. The noise went on until midnight which made sleeping difficult. However, we cannot fault the hotel. We look forward to returning in the future.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Alex I

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor, I was glad to read that you had made use of our Travelzoo offer, and that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay and found the offer to be great value for money.

I hope that you will come and stay with us again in the not too distant future.

Best regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here after finding it at short notice on trip advisor and we had to be in the area to pick up a vehicle the following day. It was so much more than we were expecting. Fantastic room with comfy bed and excellent shower. The bar and restaurant were superb and the food was excellent. We both said we would definitely go back for a longer stay next time as there is so much to see and do around Kings Lynn and overall it is very reasonably priced, so a great find.

Room Tip: some rooms are noisier than others so you should ask not to be on the side which has the pub outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear susan t

Thank you for posting a lovely review of your stay with us on Trip Advisor, I was glad to read that you had stumbled across us and that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

I hope that you will come back soon now that you found us.

Kind regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross on Wye, United Kingdom.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was a chance booking for one night - and a very competitive rate.
An ancient and most historic hotel set in the town square. It is most beautifully presented. Receptionist was helpful, friendly and efficient. Room was excellent in all ways. Clearly the whole hotel had been the subject of an extensive upgrade and refurbishment. Very quiet and comfortable.
Lovely breakfast, efficiently served by the hard-working staff. Free wi-fi in every room and private free parking were a really nice bonus. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel and we will definitely return, hopefully for a longer stay, when in Kings Lynn again.

Room Tip: Room 314 was comfortable, clean and quiet. I can entirely recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear John H

Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review of our lovely hotel on Trip Advisor, I was delighted to read that you had stumbled on us by chance, and that you were delighted with the outcome.

We are very proud of our hotel, and as you say we look after it and ensure that we deliver great food and service as well, and thank you once again for highlighting this.

I hope, that now you have found us you will come and stay with us again, and perhaps stay a little longer next time.

Kindest regards

David Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these King's Lynn hotels
0.1 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
735 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#10 of 15 in King's Lynn
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
268 reviews
6.0 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
805 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Head Hotel

Property: The Dukes Head Hotel
Address: 5-6 Tuesday Market Place, King's Lynn PE30 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
#7 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dukes Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of King's Lynn old town and overlooking the historic market place, the Duke's Head is perfect for discovering what Norfolk has to offer to the business and leisure traveller. Since Georgian times, this impressive classical building has welcomed visitors including Princess Victoria and Sir Robert Walpole (generally considered to be the first Prime Minister of Great Britain) in considerable comfort and style.Its location overlooking the ancient market place in the centre of King's Lynn would have denoted its importance in a town peppered with fine historic buildings. The Duke's Head is located walking distance away from King's Lynn station, nightlife, restaurants, bars and leisure club. Kings Lynn is serviced by regular trains to London and serves as an ideal location for discovering Norfolk. North Norfolk is an ideal tourist destination. Whether you enjoy the lively atmosphere and entertainment offered by traditional seaside resorts, the tranquility of the small fishing villages, which spring to life at high tide, you can't help but be impressed by the beautiful coastline and the fascinating history of its towns. The Hotel has recently benefited from a 3 million pound refurbishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dukes Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Dukes Head Hotel
Dukes Head Kings Lynn
The Dukes Head Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing