We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A loveky weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dukes Head Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I stayed here with my husband, my two daughters and their husbands and my grand daughter. We had a lovely time. The staff could not have been more helpful and knowledgeable of the area. The food was excellent with a good choice of menu, the children's menu was good but rather large portions.
We up graded our room so overlooked the square at the front of the hotel, it was a large room with tea/coffee making facilities
I think there were two downsides for this hotel-the car park was very small so if you did not get a space you had to pay for over night parking at a public car park, there was no discount for hotel users. Secondly breakfast was abit of a squeeze there was not enough tables or staff. As we were a group of seven, we had to have abit of a wait for a table.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teresa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Dear Teresa s

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read that you and your family u had enjoyed your stay with us even though there was a delay at breakfast.

As a previous reviewer has noted, our car park is on a first come first serve basis, however there are a few council car parks around us at reasonable prices.

I hope that you will stay with us again the next time you visit Kings Lynn.

Kind regards

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,086)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

606 - 612 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

We visited here with friends on a voucher deal which included cream tea. This was fine but one of the party is an insulin dependent diabetic and ordered a sandwich at the sametime that we ordered our tea. 45 minutes later we had eaten and the sandwich had not arrived but which time her need for food was desperate. We constantly chased this order up and in the end they gave her bisuits until it arrived and then it was delivered by a very rude waitress. Again later in the afternoon we ordered drinks plus a coffee and had to wait over 25 minutes for the coffee which only appeared when chased up yet again. At dinner both the food and service were excellent but then again in the morning we had to wait nearly an hour for a table even though we had said we would sit separately. Such a shame that this happened as everything else was excellent. Think they must have sold too many deals and not employed the extra staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RelaxerEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Dear RelaxEressex

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read that on the whole you had enjoyed your stay with us, but please accept my sincerest apologies that service was not of our usual high standard in the lounge and that you had to wait a long time for a table at breakfast.

As you say, we have been inundated by our Travelzoo and Groupon offers, and have on some days been overwhelmed by the sheer number of guests, but have in the main managed the numbers well, I can only apologise if this affected your visit.

I sincerely hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again in the not too distant future where I am sure you will experience the hotel in a completely different light.


Kind regards

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We had an excellent value deal for this hotel, the staff food and service were all first class,
so much so we booked again taking our 3 year old grandson. We had just as good a time the second time around, the staff were very good with said 3 year old making sure his food was just how he liked it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karmel03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Dear Karmel03

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read that you had chosen to stay with us again for a second time and this time with your 3 year old grandson, and that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you also for your kind comments regarding my staff who will also be delighted to receive them.

I hope to welcome you back for a third time in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We purchased the Travel Zoo deal and had a really lovely stay for 2 nights in Kings Lynn, which is a town filled with history and lots of fascinating places to explore.

The hotel is very old, sitting in a town square, opposite the Corn Exchange, both of which were floodlight at night. They looked very grand and imposing.

The hotel has retained its original character, despite a recent refurb. It feels elegant and spacious downstairs with comfortable sitting areas in the lounge and bar, with that feeling of luxury and comfort. Lots of comfortable chairs and deep chesterfield settees with huge portraits adorning the walls. The perfect setting for the sumptious cream tea and welcome Bucks Fizz.

The bedrooms were not that big, but were comfortable, newly furnished and spotless, cleaned every day. Very comfortable beds, lovely bathroom with shower and it was nice and quiet.

The food in the restaurant was first class, the house wine was lovely, the steak cooked to perfection and the staff could not have been nicer or more helpful, they really are a credit to the hotel. The breakfast was also very good with a wide choice, including a cooked full english breakfast. Everything was piping hot and plenty of staff were around to look after your every need.

I felt very relaxed there and well looked after. The staff were so friendly and helpful. It was a very unexpected pleasure and I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Only downside was the very tiny car park for a hotel that size and the long walk down a lane to the front of the hotel with the cases. Once you were there however, it was worth it.

Room Tip: If you want a bit more space it would be worth upgrading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Dear Lesley N

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read that you had made use of our Travelzoo offer and that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

Your comments regarding the food and staff are very welcome indeed and I will be sure to pass these on to them who will be delighted to receive them.

I hope that you will stay with us again the next time you visit Kings Lynn.

Kind regards

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

yes what can one say about this hotel it's all ready been said by previous reviews good location for visiting other areas /towns close to Kings Lynn town centre if you like shopping
good food brilliant staff who went out of their way to ensure that your stay at this hotel was enjoyable even down to having your morning bacon well done (cheers for that) so what more can be said to add to other reviews keep up the standards because l will be returning good hotel

Room Tip: not sure really but we up graded our room and its was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony1976130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Dear tony1976130

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found the food and the staff to be brilliant.

I also hope that you will stay with us again the next time you visit Kings Lynn.

Kind regards

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Had a great time here on a two day groupon bed breakfast and evening meal,
The hotel is situated right in the town center so is great for shopping, the room was clean and tidy with a great comfy king size bed.
The hotel is fronted by the original building with a newer built 4 storey connected building at the rear.
We had a 3 course meal included with our purchase and I must say the food and the service was excellent,
Breakfast was buffet style with all the usual food items and was very good.
I would recommend this hotel very highly

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GWEDGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Dear GWEDGE

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read that you had made use of our Groupon offer and that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you also for your kind comments regarding the food and my staff, and I will be sure to pass these on to them.

I hope that you will stay with us again the next time you visit Kings Lynn where I am sure you will have an equally enjoyable time.

Kind regards

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We bought a voucher for this hotel as we wanted to go to Norfolk we had afternoon tea with Buck's Fizz and tea or coffee. The scones were homemade and delicious . We then had an evening meal in the restaurant which was very tasty, well presented and plenty of choice. We then had drinks in the bar. The room was spacious and clean. The breakfast was unbelievable so much choice and freshly cooked. You could have as much as you wanted. The hotel is in the market square in the middle of the town so handy for a walk around the shops. Kings Lynn is central for North Norfolk and plenty places to visit - sanderingham Norfolk lavender and the best was wells next to sea. I will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: All rooms good but market square ones are better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at The Dukes Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Dear Patricia C

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read that you had made use of our Travelzoo offer and that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

I was especially pleased to read your comments regarding your evening meal and breakfast and as you say all freshly cooked and plenty of it.

I also hope that you will stay with us again the next time you visit Kings Lynn.

Kind regards

David Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near King's Lynn
2.2 mi away
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
#3 of 15 in King's Lynn
930 reviews
0.1 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
769 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#10 of 15 in King's Lynn
300 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
127 reviews
12.1 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Head Hotel

Address: 5-6 Tuesday Market Place, King's Lynn PE30 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
#7 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range: £54 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dukes Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of King's Lynn old town and overlooking the historic market place, the Duke's Head is perfect for discovering what Norfolk has to offer to the business and leisure traveller. Since Georgian times, this impressive classical building has welcomed visitors including Princess Victoria and Sir Robert Walpole (generally considered to be the first Prime Minister of Great Britain) in considerable comfort and style.Its location overlooking the ancient market place in the centre of King's Lynn would have denoted its importance in a town peppered with fine historic buildings. The Duke's Head is located walking distance away from King's Lynn station, nightlife, restaurants, bars and leisure club. Kings Lynn is serviced by regular trains to London and serves as an ideal location for discovering Norfolk. North Norfolk is an ideal tourist destination. Whether you enjoy the lively atmosphere and entertainment offered by traditional seaside resorts, the tranquility of the small fishing villages, which spring to life at high tide, you can't help but be impressed by the beautiful coastline and the fascinating history of its towns. The Hotel has recently benefited from a 3 million pound refurbishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dukes Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Dukes Head Hotel
Dukes Head Kings Lynn
The Dukes Head Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing