We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nightmare of a stay”
Review of Stuart House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stuart House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A nightmare of a stay”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Booked to stay here for 2 nights on 18/19 May in a superior double bedroom. My wife had recently had a triple heart bypass so this hotel was chosen as it was meant to be a relaxing, peaceful retreat, we are in our 60’s. We had very loud neighbours with a child who persisted in having the TV on full blast, the walls were paper thin and we could clearly here every word they spoke. I complained to reception and they offered us a room on the top floor of an annex some 200m down the road, my wife struggled to reach the top floor because of her condition so we had to decline the offer and it would have defeated the object of having a superior double room. All went quiet until 12.30am when our neighbours returned, they turned the TV on full blast, the child was screaming and the parents shouting in loud voices. As we had already noted that there was not 24 hours reception I banged on the wall in hopes they would acknowledge the noise they were making was disturbing other residents. Within seconds someone was trying to kick in our room door, shouting and swearing and threatening to rip our throats out. We called the police who arrived quite quickly to calm the situation. The neighbours were moved to the annex building but returned in the morning to collect their belongings, meanwhile we were prisoners in our own room, my wife was too nervous to leave the room until the neighbours had checked out and left. We dare not go to the breakfast room and even though we were offered breakfast in our room we declined it as we had not the stomach to eat it. The owner rang our room to let us know the neigbours had left, we felt that we could not stay the second night, my wife just wanted to get home. The owner was very unrepentant and unconcerned, it was if he did not believe our story of the events even though they were confirmed by other residents, he was unconcerned didn't want to listen and just insisted that we pay for the one night and if we didn't he would call the police. We were appalled with his attitude.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    93
    32
    10
    2
See reviews for
40
132
3
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Stayed in June on a Groupon break and left with mixed feelings. The hotel itself is well situated a short walk from the town centre through a pleasant park dotted with historical architeture.Some areas were a little faded,the armchairs in our room were comfortable but worn and stained and a dining chair had to be changed because of a threatening stain.I didnt upgrade as I usually do but room 26 was larger than a normal"superior"room round the Groupon circuit with a good clean bathroom with a terrific shower. There was no double glazing and we thought the very audible voices and crunchings from the gravel drive below would be a problem later but all was quiet.
Food was ok in a best pub meals style with extra main courses on a board but starters were unimaginative and the wine list was very short but reasonably priced. The bar had three real ales on tap so brownie points there.
Your bill should be checked with care as ours had some items added and some missed so worked out about right! An "optional" 10% was added to the restaurant bill but was already part of the final account so wasnt very optional.
Service was good and all staff were very helpfull and we would use The Stuart if in the area again

Room Tip: If visiting in cold weather,choose one with double glazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rod r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I took my father for his 80th birthday to Norfolk to see an exhibition at Houghton Hall. We were so grateful that we found Stuart House Hotel. Tracy, I believe co-owner or certainly manager, was just fantastic. As soon as I booked online, I got a call from her saying that due to a wedding, she was going to put us in the lodge at the end of the drive so we didn't get disturbed on the Saturday night. The rooms were lovely, the beds very comfortable. All in all, my father had a wonderful 80th birthday weekend away and this was largely due to how great Tracey and her team were at the Stuart House.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank batriceaidin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale of Glamorgan, South wales
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Nice quiet Hotel near the town. A pleasant short walk through the park to the shops and quayside. We had a lovely room overlooking trees and roof tops, very pretty this time of year. We had room 4 which has a four poster bed and seemed to be recently done up .Unfortunately although the room was lovely the bed was too hard to get a good nights sleep. It also overpowered the room .We ate in both nights and found the food very nice with a reasonable choice. This was our second stay at this Hotel and if we are back in Kings Lynn next year we hope to stay at the Stuart House again.

Room Tip: Room 4 is lovely. Large with a good size bathroom and pleasant outlook. The only downside is the har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Excellent all round, Staff very friendly and helpful.
The walk into town through the park is lovely.
Will tell all about our stay, an excellent place to stay for touring around the area.
Hunstanton and Boston are a must do.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Just returned from Kings lynn, quiet town! The Stuarts house hotel a very pleasant stay Staff very friendly and most helpful.Food excellent service very good. Rooms very clean and comfortable.Bar good quality of real ale homely and friendly feel. Will defiantly use again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

A business trip to Kings Lynn, single female and needed to stay in the centre. The Stuart House is a small and very welcoming hotel at the end of a quiet lane/cul de sac. Some of the bedroom corridor areas are going through a re-furbishment.
The room was compact but nicely furnished and immaculate, with free wifi in the room, flat screen TV. In the room you could hear the people in the next room run a bath, only a problem if you wanted to lie in! I was given a choice to eat in the restaurant or the bar, both had the same menu. I chose the restaurant, it was not very busy, but the food was very tasty. Breakfast was also served in the restaurant, there was not a large choice but more than adequate portions. The staff were very friendly and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near King's Lynn
0.7 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,057 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#10 of 15 in King's Lynn
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
814 reviews
12.4 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
874 reviews
14.7 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stuart House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stuart House Hotel

Property: Stuart House Hotel
Address: 35 Goodwins Road, King's Lynn PE30 5QX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in King's Lynn
#5 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
#7 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stuart House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run hotel situated in its own grounds and just a short walk from the centre of the historical town and port of King's Lynn. All the rooms are en-suite and well equipped with all modern amenities including free Wi-Fi internet access, direct dial phones, TV, radio, hairdryer, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. Fully licensed bar and restaurant. CAMRA listed bar with a real fire in the winter. Pretty private residents garden for relaxing in the summer. Private off street parking is available in the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stuart House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stuart Hotel Kings Lynn
Stuart House Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing