We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary”
Review of Stuart House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stuart House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed two nights. Modern room and comfortable beds. Everything was very clean. Breakfast (full English) OK. In short there is nothing that raises Stuart House above the basic standard any guest might reasonably expect of such an establishment at the price nor did I encounter any problems that would cause me not to recommend. Members of staff (apart from one Germanic or Eastern European waitress at breakfast on Sunday) were unfailingly pleasant and helpful. Location is quiet and town centre a fifteen minute walk away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eclectic6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Nice & friendly, great food! Nice & quiet. Great value on a groupon deal. Nice walk through the nearby park, also close enough to walk to Kings Lynn center. The hotel have good selection of wines, spirits, cider & real ales.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave7w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed for two nights on a deal which included a free meal for one of the two nights.

The hotel is a little hidden but that brings rewards in quietness. However be aware the parking is a little cramped. The place itself is a splendid old Victorian edifice. We asked for a ground floor twin and were given a good room with large beds. It was spotlessly clean.

Once settled we found the TV needed a degree in IT to operate it. It took 24 hours to find BBC1 and we never did get to BBC2. The beds (No23) were soft at the edges but comfortable enough in use.

The first evening we went to the bar. The real ale was, well not off, just it was not very good. We chose the roast sirloin and went through to the restaurant when called. When the meal came through the meat was tender and fine. However there were very few vegetables. Which is odd. Surely they are the cheap bit ? It was a shame for us because we had turned away from a much better carvery in town at less than half the price. Then the afters was the fag ends of the cheese board and an Eton Mess sans meringue. I left the table hungry.

Never mind there is always the bar except there never seemed to be anybody serving. Only half of four visits resulted in me buying some drinks. Breakfast was not as good as we have had in the nearby Fairlight Lodge, not in quality or quantity.

The second evening for our "free" meal my burger was so full of onion that I received a refund for our wine and again left hungry.

Having said all that the staff we met were excellent. They were helpful, friendly and to be perfectly honest the main redeeming feature of the Hotel.

I don't have a clue why they are in the beer guide. I have been a CAMRA member since the 1970's and I can tell you that their beer (On these occasions) was not good. Perhaps it was lack of sales that effected quality and instead of having three ales on they should only have had one.

I feel for the staff but we wont be going back mainly because of our disappointment with the food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Booked to stay here for 2 nights on 18/19 May in a superior double bedroom. My wife had recently had a triple heart bypass so this hotel was chosen as it was meant to be a relaxing, peaceful retreat, we are in our 60’s. We had very loud neighbours with a child who persisted in having the TV on full blast, the walls were paper thin and we could clearly here every word they spoke. I complained to reception and they offered us a room on the top floor of an annex some 200m down the road, my wife struggled to reach the top floor because of her condition so we had to decline the offer and it would have defeated the object of having a superior double room. All went quiet until 12.30am when our neighbours returned, they turned the TV on full blast, the child was screaming and the parents shouting in loud voices. As we had already noted that there was not 24 hours reception I banged on the wall in hopes they would acknowledge the noise they were making was disturbing other residents. Within seconds someone was trying to kick in our room door, shouting and swearing and threatening to rip our throats out. We called the police who arrived quite quickly to calm the situation. The neighbours were moved to the annex building but returned in the morning to collect their belongings, meanwhile we were prisoners in our own room, my wife was too nervous to leave the room until the neighbours had checked out and left. We dare not go to the breakfast room and even though we were offered breakfast in our room we declined it as we had not the stomach to eat it. The owner rang our room to let us know the neigbours had left, we felt that we could not stay the second night, my wife just wanted to get home. The owner was very unrepentant and unconcerned, it was if he did not believe our story of the events even though they were confirmed by other residents, he was unconcerned didn't want to listen and just insisted that we pay for the one night and if we didn't he would call the police. We were appalled with his attitude.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 196AlanB196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Stayed in June on a Groupon break and left with mixed feelings. The hotel itself is well situated a short walk from the town centre through a pleasant park dotted with historical architeture.Some areas were a little faded,the armchairs in our room were comfortable but worn and stained and a dining chair had to be changed because of a threatening stain.I didnt upgrade as I usually do but room 26 was larger than a normal"superior"room round the Groupon circuit with a good clean bathroom with a terrific shower. There was no double glazing and we thought the very audible voices and crunchings from the gravel drive below would be a problem later but all was quiet.
Food was ok in a best pub meals style with extra main courses on a board but starters were unimaginative and the wine list was very short but reasonably priced. The bar had three real ales on tap so brownie points there.
Your bill should be checked with care as ours had some items added and some missed so worked out about right! An "optional" 10% was added to the restaurant bill but was already part of the final account so wasnt very optional.
Service was good and all staff were very helpfull and we would use The Stuart if in the area again

Room Tip: If visiting in cold weather,choose one with double glazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rod r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I took my father for his 80th birthday to Norfolk to see an exhibition at Houghton Hall. We were so grateful that we found Stuart House Hotel. Tracy, I believe co-owner or certainly manager, was just fantastic. As soon as I booked online, I got a call from her saying that due to a wedding, she was going to put us in the lodge at the end of the drive so we didn't get disturbed on the Saturday night. The rooms were lovely, the beds very comfortable. All in all, my father had a wonderful 80th birthday weekend away and this was largely due to how great Tracey and her team were at the Stuart House.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank batriceaidin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Nice quiet Hotel near the town. A pleasant short walk through the park to the shops and quayside. We had a lovely room overlooking trees and roof tops, very pretty this time of year. We had room 4 which has a four poster bed and seemed to be recently done up .Unfortunately although the room was lovely the bed was too hard to get a good nights sleep. It also overpowered the room .We ate in both nights and found the food very nice with a reasonable choice. This was our second stay at this Hotel and if we are back in Kings Lynn next year we hope to stay at the Stuart House again.

Room Tip: Room 4 is lovely. Large with a good size bathroom and pleasant outlook. The only downside is the har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these King's Lynn hotels
0.7 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,096 reviews
2.3 mi away
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
#3 of 15 in King's Lynn
945 reviews
0.8 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
132 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#10 of 15 in King's Lynn
304 reviews
5.7 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stuart House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stuart House Hotel

Address: 35 Goodwins Road, King's Lynn PE30 5QX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in King's Lynn
#5 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
#7 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range: £83 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stuart House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run hotel situated in its own grounds and just a short walk from the centre of the historical town and port of King's Lynn. All the rooms are en-suite and well equipped with all modern amenities including free Wi-Fi internet access, direct dial phones, TV, radio, hairdryer, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. Fully licensed bar and restaurant. CAMRA listed bar with a real fire in the winter. Pretty private residents garden for relaxing in the summer. Private off street parking is available in the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stuart House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stuart Hotel Kings Lynn
Stuart House Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing