We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bedrooms not as big as the pics!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Stuart House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stuart House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Certificate of Excellence
Vale of Glamorgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Bedrooms not as big as the pics!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at the Stuart House Hotel last weekend. The bar area was lovely, as were the staff - faultless in fact - very helpful and cheerful. And if you are looking for somewhere to dine, their dinner menu looks amazing.

We chose this hotel because the pictures of the bedrooms on the internet look lovely and spacious. Our room (No 11) was beautifully decorated, however, it was very small - there was only 2 foot around the bed - and when I got up to use the bathroom, I bumped into my hubby's feet - waking him up - because there was no room to manoeuvre.

Sitting on the bed to watch TV was eye boggling, with the large screen only two feet from my face. And it was so hot, that we were melting. I can honestly say that it was the worst nights sleep ever - I slept from 11pm to 1.50am, then I was awake and that was that.

Hot, claustrophobic, and a bit noisy from outside, as we had to keep the window open or we would have melted.

Breakfast was disappointing. I can only assume the chef also works in the local chip shop. Everything was running in fat, and the sausage was deep fried! As soon as I had cut into it, I knew it was a no no.

We will be visiting Kings Lynn quite often over the next few years so are looking for one place we can get familiar with as after a long journey its nice to stay somewhere you know - unfortunately its not this one.

Room Tip: Get there early so that you can change rooms if need be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    89
    32
    10
    2
See reviews for
39
123
3
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel turned out to be a real find. Couldn't have asked for more. The room was perfect. The chef stayed late to do our dinner even though we turned up at closing time. Definitely recommend to friends and family.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank FergTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haguenau, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed two nights at the Stuart House. The staff provided a warm welcome and was very efficient for both check-in and check-out.
My room (#11) was a bit small and would need refreshment, but overall was clean.
The bed was very comfortable, and windows were opening on a small garden, so to get fresh air.
There is a need for better soundproofing between rooms (people speaking loud, banging doors) but part of the complaints are on the customers not willing to respect others…
Breakfast (ordering type and small buffet) was fine, tasty but a bit slow (about 15 to 20 mn to get served)
The evening meal was good, wine list a bit limited (but being French…) price a bit high (so was the size of dishes.. too much food…)
Very convenient for a small business trip; the main quality is the atmosphere and the kindness of the owner and staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric_Martine2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

A lovely hotel only a 10 min walk to town centre, room was clean and tidy and breakfast was excellent, we ate in their bar (a rotary club dinner meant the restaurant was full) the food was very good and reasonable. The staff were very friendly and helpful, we would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Lovely, quiet hotel with beautiful food served nightly. This is by far the nicest and friendliest place I have been to in this part of the country. Nothing is too much to ask for. The rooms are freshly decorated but still with that Victorian feel throughout the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Also, they have great music nights. Live bands that will defo have your feet tapping. I have heard they do great murder mystery nights also, so I may have to book in for one of those in the future. Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful stay in King's Lynn. x

Room Tip: It is hard to find, but once you hit King's Lynn just give the hotel a ring like we did and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here recently for one night in a twin room with a work mate. Very comfortable room, bathroom was great, nice bath and separate corner shower very roomy, big tv and free wifi also. Had a nice view of the back garden, which i enjoyed reading the paper in. We didn't try the bar or restaurant as had plans elsewhere, but it looked very inviting. Has that old fashioned charm, but is clean and fresh and tastefully done. Would recommend it and happily stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in number 7 which is a twin room with a great bathroom and views of the back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Kind of tricky to find, which means it's quiet. Lovely rooms, great staff. Would go back in an instant. We weren't there when there was music in the bar, so we can't attest to the noise levels at that point. Overlooking the back garden and loved the pub!

Room Tip: There are some excellent rooms and some smaller rooms. If they're not busy, ask if you could ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these King's Lynn hotels
0.8 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
5.8 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn
Premier Inn
#4 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stuart House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stuart House Hotel

Property: Stuart House Hotel
Address: 35 Goodwins Road, King's Lynn PE30 5QX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in King's Lynn
#5 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
#7 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stuart House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run hotel situated in its own grounds and just a short walk from the centre of the historical town and port of King's Lynn. All the rooms are en-suite and well equipped with all modern amenities including free Wi-Fi internet access, direct dial phones, TV, radio, hairdryer, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. Fully licensed bar and restaurant. CAMRA listed bar with a real fire in the winter. Pretty private residents garden for relaxing in the summer. Private off street parking is available in the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stuart House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stuart Hotel Kings Lynn
Stuart House Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing