We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant hotel in a lovely quiet position”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stuart House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stuart House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
378 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Very pleasant hotel in a lovely quiet position”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Very pleasant hotel tucked away in a quiet area, the room was spacious with a decent en-suite and was reasonably equipped. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was excellent. We only stayed one night but would certainly stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Staffsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    89
    32
    10
    2
See reviews for
39
123
3
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed two nights at the hotel. The staff were extremely helpful, the room clean and well equipped and the food lovely. We ate dinner both nights and the staff ensured my gluten free diet was catered for. The hotel had a family feel and the bar had a cosy atmosphere. Some areas could do with a bit of updating but would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Here
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed in The Lodge belonging to the main hotel which was very pleasant. Would stay again as it was attractively appointed and the breakfast in the main hotel was good. Friendly and helpful staff and a pretty part of King's Lynn. Slept like a log too!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strandedstarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Stuart House.

It was exceptionally clean, the breakfast was tasty and plentiful, and the staff were just great. It had that family-run feel to it where nothing was too much effort. From putting my ice packs in the freezer (poorly knee), to serving drinks late at night, to arranging a very late check out free of charge; nothing was any bother and was organised with a smile.

The location is a good 15 minute walk from central Kings Lynn so ok if you are fit and like a walk, but I'd choose somewhere else if you want to be in the town centre or struggle waking. That said, a taxi back would only be £4-5.

My only slight gripe was the price. I found £92/night a bit pricey for the location. Saying that, we did book late so therefore accept that prices go up nearer the time. However the rack prices were even more expensive than that, which seems very steep. I would certainly recommend the hotel if you can get a deal though!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JenGNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale of Glamorgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at the Stuart House Hotel last weekend. The bar area was lovely, as were the staff - faultless in fact - very helpful and cheerful. And if you are looking for somewhere to dine, their dinner menu looks amazing.

We chose this hotel because the pictures of the bedrooms on the internet look lovely and spacious. Our room (No 11) was beautifully decorated, however, it was very small - there was only 2 foot around the bed - and when I got up to use the bathroom, I bumped into my hubby's feet - waking him up - because there was no room to manoeuvre.

Sitting on the bed to watch TV was eye boggling, with the large screen only two feet from my face. And it was so hot, that we were melting. I can honestly say that it was the worst nights sleep ever - I slept from 11pm to 1.50am, then I was awake and that was that.

Hot, claustrophobic, and a bit noisy from outside, as we had to keep the window open or we would have melted.

Breakfast was disappointing. I can only assume the chef also works in the local chip shop. Everything was running in fat, and the sausage was deep fried! As soon as I had cut into it, I knew it was a no no.

We will be visiting Kings Lynn quite often over the next few years so are looking for one place we can get familiar with as after a long journey its nice to stay somewhere you know - unfortunately its not this one.

Room Tip: Get there early so that you can change rooms if need be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel turned out to be a real find. Couldn't have asked for more. The room was perfect. The chef stayed late to do our dinner even though we turned up at closing time. Definitely recommend to friends and family.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank FergTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haguenau, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed two nights at the Stuart House. The staff provided a warm welcome and was very efficient for both check-in and check-out.
My room (#11) was a bit small and would need refreshment, but overall was clean.
The bed was very comfortable, and windows were opening on a small garden, so to get fresh air.
There is a need for better soundproofing between rooms (people speaking loud, banging doors) but part of the complaints are on the customers not willing to respect others…
Breakfast (ordering type and small buffet) was fine, tasty but a bit slow (about 15 to 20 mn to get served)
The evening meal was good, wine list a bit limited (but being French…) price a bit high (so was the size of dishes.. too much food…)
Very convenient for a small business trip; the main quality is the atmosphere and the kindness of the owner and staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric_Martine2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these King's Lynn hotels
0.8 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
5.8 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn
Premier Inn
#4 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stuart House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stuart House Hotel

Property: Stuart House Hotel
Address: 35 Goodwins Road, King's Lynn PE30 5QX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in King's Lynn
#5 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
#7 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stuart House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run hotel situated in its own grounds and just a short walk from the centre of the historical town and port of King's Lynn. All the rooms are en-suite and well equipped with all modern amenities including free Wi-Fi internet access, direct dial phones, TV, radio, hairdryer, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. Fully licensed bar and restaurant. CAMRA listed bar with a real fire in the winter. Pretty private residents garden for relaxing in the summer. Private off street parking is available in the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stuart House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stuart Hotel Kings Lynn
Stuart House Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing