We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Pub with good food and real ale”
Review of Victory Inn

Victory Inn
Ranked #23 of 183 Restaurants in King's Lynn
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Romford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendly Pub with good food and real ale”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I found this pub on Trip Advisor and I thought we would try it. Some friends of ours joined us also having been recommended by a local taxi driver. On entering the Pub we were warmly welcomed by the Publican and shown to the table we had reserved in the small restaurant. The tables were all set out nicely. The Friday we went was their "fish night". 2 of us chose the cod and chip meal which was freshly prepared and very tasty. One person had scampi which again was fine. 2 of us had desserts which were nice. Overall we enjoyed the pleasant atmosphere of the Pub, the friendliness of the Publican, the food. For around £56 we had 4 meals,2 desserts, one bottle of wine, a glass of white wine and a pint of real ale! Good value for money. The menu whilst not being extensive offered a reasonable choice. Certainly worth considering fish dishes..
The pub is about 2 miles from the junction of A17 & A47 on the West Side of King's Lynn. Well worth a visit if you like something different from the chain food outlets. We will certainly call in there again if we are in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank TonyRomford77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    16
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Secret fish dishes”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Do you like fish? I have found the best fish restaurant in the Kings Lynn area. This is The Victory Inn in Clenchwarton. You will not see fish on the menu but the chef, who is an experienced fish chef loves to cook fish dishes to order. Among others I have had salmon fillet, beautifully cooked with asparagus, potato rosti and hollandaise sauce. Also sea bass with creamed leeks and potato rosti and sea bream on a bed of Mediterranean vegetables. He cooks tuna to absolute perfection. The dishes would make a top fish restaurant proud but the prices are more akin to a pub menu. I just pre-order fish and leave them to surprise me with something new. I am now taking friends along and amazing them with the quality of the food.
So if you want to take advantage of these fish dishes then contact Wayne, the landlord of the Victory Inn. You won't be disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank VivienneM469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great pub on the old A17”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We booked a meal with friends recently on a visit to see them, I personally had some reservations as I had been in this pub many years ago and was not impressed.
What a pleasant surprise we had. It had been nicely refurbished, all the staff were very welcoming, the real ales were very enjoyable (I tried 2 guest ales) and my three course meal was delicious. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great pub!”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

Great pub, friendly staff, clean, great beers and awesome beer garden!
Highly recommend it to all ages.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisn0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A great pub to have in the village”
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

We have been visiting the Victory often since it reopened last year and have always had a friendly welcome and great food. The Sunday lunch is a choice of roast meat with all the trimmings. The vegetables are served separate as is the gravy so the plate does not arrive overflowing with food. There is always a choice of mouth watering desserts but unfortunately I can rarely manage one.
The menu for the rest of the week has some excellent meals available. My favourites are lamb shank in a minted gravy and the steak which is always cooked just as I like it. The chips are fresh and not frozen and all the meals are home made from local suppliers. It certainly is worth a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank VivienneM469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Victory Inn also viewed

King's Lynn, Norfolk
King's Lynn, Norfolk
 
King's Lynn, Norfolk
 

Been to Victory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing