We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Long What”

Farmers Arms Restaurant
Ranked #128 of 187 Restaurants in King's Lynn
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dunstable, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Long Long What”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked a table for 7.00. When we arrived we were shown to a table which was not suitable for our party as we had a disabled person that could not climb steeps. The table was sticky and could do with a good clean. The waitress took our drinks order and then came back for the food order. We then had to wait one and half hours for our starter then half an hour for the main. We did not bother anything else. The food was poor would never go again. This was the second time thought we were unlucky first time round but this was not the case

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sally k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    9
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Where are the staff!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We called into book a table on our way back from the Sandringham Flower Show and asked for an early time. They were very helpful in offering us a 5.30 slot although they didn't usually open till 6. On arrival a young man showed us to our table & took our drinks order & then returned for our meal order & brought our meals to us. After that he disappeared! No staff! Eventually a young girl came out & she was showing people to their tables, taking & serving orders? From then on the service was terrible, we felt so sorry for Lucy as she was doing everything. We complained as did others & we were compensated but that was not the point we had booked early as we still had a long journey to do. We eventually came out at 7.50!
I must say that we had no complaints with the food it was very good. They just need to sort out the amount of staff they have on on busy days.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Titch891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strassen, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Much worse than in formative years”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I grew up around this area, so was very disappointed to eat here recently and see how much the standards had slipped. Took the Rooster Burger, which years ago was a sumptuous 2 breast burger with mayonnaise and seasoning. Now its one tasteless plastic re-constituted fillet. The waiter and Manager insisted it was real it looks and tastes like reformed meat. The waiter was reasonably helpful with the complaint if insincere. The pathetic Manager wouldn't even look me in the eye, and acted like a kid who picks up the ball and goes home. He also told me the Rooster Burger has always been like that. I did at least get a refund for the meal, after refusing another. Sad to see such poor management and people skills, even if it is King's Lynn.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WillP793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
422 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Good food and staff.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Had our first meal here after arriving at the hotel. Did not have a reservation but they managed to fit us in. Pleasant staff. Food good. Was a little slow coming but it was fine. It adjoins the inn/bar side, so if you cant get in at the restaurant, you can grab a table in the other part. It is the same food, but you have a little more space and quietness in the restaurant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ok food, mediocre service”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We dined here two nights in a row while staying in the hotel. The food was ok (better on the Sunday than the Monday) - what you would expect for a pub but quite expensive given the variability. The staff were friendly and helpful but service was a bit slow on the second night. Would eat here again if staying at the hotel again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Farmers Arms Restaurant also viewed

 
King's Lynn, Norfolk
 
King's Lynn, Norfolk
 

Been to Farmers Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing