We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean hotel.pleasant owner, good stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Russet House

The Russet House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Russet House
Ranked #6 of 35 King's Lynn B&B and Inns
Ely
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean hotel.pleasant owner, good stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night as our son had his tae kwon do grading the next morning. Roger made us feel very welcome and was very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Room is spacious and clean. Not far from the centre. My son and partner had a cooked breakfast by roger (I woke up feeling poorly so didn't eat) great service and they enjoyed it. Would definitely stay again

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
16
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Had a two night stay with my sisters. What a beautiful hotel this will be when it is fully refurbished. The owner, Roger, couldn't do enough to make us feel comfortable, he even met us at the railway station on our arrival!! The hotel needs a lot of sympathetic TLC which will not be a cheap endeavour, but when finished it will surely be the place to stay at in King's Lynn.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Staffs
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed two nights. Host Roger was a delightful man - nothing was too much trouble. After 3 months ownership (and I suspect hefty investment) he is refurbishing this lovely, spacious Victorian hotel room by room. Our room was in need of a makeover but was adequate, reflected in the price. Ample parking, warm room, spotless bedlinen etc. and a generous, well cooked breakfast. A short walk from the riverfront via a lovely park (well lit at night). Really enjoyed our stay and will probably go back once the renovations are completed. Deserves to do well and fully expect to rate more highly on a return visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliveboy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this lovely hotel.[Nov 2013] The interior needs updating but it was very comfortable.The rooms had flat screen tv, tea, coffee etc and toiletries. Lovely clean bedding and towels. The bar was closed at the time of our visit although the alcohol license has been applied for. There is a comfortable lounge for guest use & the dining room is very nice. Lovely, freshly cooked breakfast at any time we chose. The owner, Roger, has only been there for a few months but couldn't be more helpful, suggesting restaurants etc. We will definitely return. Looking forward to seeing the refurbishment!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Traditional hotel with English breakfast - nothing fancy - all rooms en suite, about 15-20 minutes by foot from Kings Lynn Minster. The hotel has ample parking space. The hotel is a bit old fashion and needs refurbishing, but all the essentials are there, such as good heating, a good shower, tea/coffee facilities, and a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger S, Owner at The Russet House, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Many thanks for the feedback. Yes, the refurbishment is on the way. In the meantime we are working very hard on the service side to make sure people enjoy their stay. I have only owned the place since the beginning of August and I think we have improved in that time. Come back next Easter when some of the redecoration will be completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

stayed at the Russett House Hotel when visited Kings Lynn for family business . Arrived later than expected but nothing was too much trouble for mein host - heating on and was given a key should i want to stay out late - bedroom double and single bed - for single occupation - fluffy towels and toiletries on bed - everything spotless - tea, coffee, chocolate etc on hospitality tray - flat tv - but didnt stay in tho - breakfast was any time required - a bonus - freshly cooked - host Roger imparted he had a few people staying on night work so would get up extra early when needed to cook them breakfast - daily maid service - and should wish to lounge a while a comfortable room available - and teas coffees etc if required - and even offered to drive me to station at end of stay - cant praise it highly enough - apparently there are plans for refurbishment - it had only been taken over a couple of months - and when this has taken place a very high star value would be warranted .

Room Tip: all rooms are of equal quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heathermottram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these King's Lynn hotels
0.9 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Kings Lynn Hotel
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#9 of 15 in King's Lynn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russet House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russet House

Property: The Russet House
Address: 53 Goodwins Road, King's Lynn PE30 5PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in King's Lynn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide Bed & Breakfast accommodation and will serve evening meals by prior arrangement. The hotel is just 10-15 minutes walk from the centre of historic Kings Lynn. Ideal for business and for exploring north west Norfolk. We also host small dinners/parties for up to 20 guests seated or 30 for buffet style. NB the hotel is under new management since early August 2013. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Russet House UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing