We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just been back to stay for one night midweek”
Review of Globe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Globe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Since our last visit the rooms have been upgraded. Before we had no complaints at this time even better I'd certainly recommend to friends. It's in central Kings Lynn, very comfortable and staff are friendly. The parking is public and it's important to read the instructions on the pay and display. We will go again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe Hotel K, Hotel Team Leader at Globe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Erica B

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted you have returned and we are pleased to hear the refurbishment works completed last summer have been met with your approval. We are very proud of our refurbished hotel and our team work hard to deliver good comfortable accomodation and we hope you were able to make use of the free Wifi we have had installed throughout the hotel.

Parking is available in the council run car parks, and our hotel team will be more than happy to offer advice with the car parking arrangements to guests if required.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Louise
Hotel Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

655 - 661 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is the second time I've stayed at the Globe hotel and will certainly stay again. The rooms are very comfortable and both the hotel and the bar staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is great value too

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanstewart09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe Hotel K, Hotel Team Leader at Globe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear alanstewart09

We are thrilled you have stayed with us on more than one occasion and we really appreciate you sparing the time to post your review.
The adjoining bar has a wide range of food and drink to offer, with our kitchen open daily from 7am until 11pm which is a real benefit for our hotel residents.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Louise
Hotel Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for 1 night over the bank holiday last weekend. We bookend a room on the first floor. We asked for a parking, because on sunday was something like a run around the kings Lyn. She recommended us a parking which wasnt too far.She print a map. She was really nice, But next day, when we try to leave kings lynn everything around our parking space was closed. There were some policemen as well. Whole city was closed. We need to wait next 3 and half our to spend in kings lynn. I was really annoyed. Our check in take about 20 min, because the woman on reception has got some issues with the printer.
Only thing, which i really like on this hotel was the room. It was cleaned, really nice design.. everything was perfect.
Anyway. i was really surprised, when we did our check in the woman ask me if we will be charging something? i answered yes. we need to charge our phones. I was absolutely shocked when she need to do pre-authorisation to my bank card. i never ever met with system like this.
we didnt charge anything in our room. we need to use charger in our car. The worst night in hotel in my life

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuzana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe Hotel K, Hotel Team Leader at Globe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Zuzana

Thank you for taking the time to post your review; we do appreciate all feedback so we can strive to improve our service.
Our reception team are very disappointed to note you were unhappy with the service you received from them during your one night stay. I can confirm the printer was not working which did slow down our speed of service with printing guest registration cards and invoices, which I can appreciate is not good customer service from our part.

Unfortunately the annual 10k Grand East Anglia Run took place on Sunday 4th May which coincided with your stay. We did inform all of our guests before their day of arrival the race was taking place and the roads surrounding the hotel would be closed for this reason. Our reception team also informed all our guests during their check in process the best place to park and vehicles and I am pleased to note our receptionist gave you a map of the town showing you the car parks which were not affected by the race and the road closures. The map we gave to our hotel residents was taken from both the council and the race’s websites. I apologise profusely if this information was misleading, meaning your vehicle was blocked in the car park for longer than you anticipated.
Our reception team ask our guests at check in if they would like to be able to charge food and drink to their hotel rooms, which enables guests to have food and drink in the adjoining bar to their room. This means guests can pay for everything at once during check out. To do this, we have to take a pre-authorisation from a debit or credit card to set up a ‘tab ‘. I hope you can appreciate we have to do this to cover any potential food and drink costs any guest may have. The pre-authorisation slip taken from the credit / debit card when guests want to charge to their rooms is given to the customer during the check in process, which is then amended to the correct invoice amount on the day of check. I would like to assure you we don’t charge our guests for any power used to charge phones or any other electrical equipment.

Our housekeeping team are delighted you found you room to be well equipped and clean, this is a point of pride for us. I hope you were able to make use of the free wifi the hotel has to offer along with our wide choice of food and drink served in the bar.

I do hope our response has put your mind at ease with regards to the car parking facility the local council offers and the unsatisfactory delay during your check in process with us and we would be delighted if you decided to stay with us again in the future.
If you would like to discuss your review or our response and further, please do not hesitate to contact a duty manger on 01553 668000


Kind Regards
Louise
Hotel Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stopped here on Saturday with my partner and parents, and we all absolutely loved it! In fact, we loved it that much, we were straight down to reception on Sunday morning to book another night.

The rooms are gorgeous, with luxurious dark greens and blacks seeming to be the theme. I used to work at a prestigious country hotel in East Yorkshire, with the cheapest rooms going for around £150 a night. The rooms at the Globe Hotel make those look like Travelodge, and at a third of that price, are a must-visit!

The hotel is situated in the centre of King's Lynn, above the Wetherspoon's bar, where good food and drink are served in a friendly and up-beat atmosphere. Beautiful beer garden and outdoor seating, looking onto the estuary. Perfect for an evening drink in the sun!

Would highly recommend Room 203, as it is extremely spacious, with a view looking onto Tuesday Market Square. My parents stopped in Room 210, just as beautiful, but a little bit on the small side! (Only glitch!)

Room Tip: Room 203 is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe Hotel K, Hotel Team Leader at Globe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Amy S

We are thrilled you took the time to post such a super review.
We are very proud of our refurbished hotel and are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. The entire team at The Globe Hotel work hard to deliver good value food , drink and accomodation in a comfortable and friendly atmosphere and we are delighted to note our efforts have not gone unnoticed.
The Globe Hotel, situated on the historic Tuesday Market Place is centrally located in the town, with both the bus and train station a short walking distance away. From the train station, Cambridge is only a 45 minute train journey away with direct links to London’s Kings Cross station.
I hope you were able to visit some of the many historical points of interest Kings Lynn and the surrounding areas has to offer. Sandringham and Hunstation is one of my favourite places to visit, at any time of year.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we really do apprecaite all feedback and would be delighted to welcome you back to the Globe Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Louise
Hotel Team Leader.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Excellent staff, lovely room, they did warn us in advance of the noise from the in-house music so we requested-and were given-one of the quieter rooms. Great location near to shops, bus and rail station. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe Hotel K, Hotel Team Leader at Globe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Stephen A

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and liked our refurbished rooms.
We do have a dj playing in the adjoining bar three nights of the week, and I am pleased we were able to accommodate your request for a quieter room.
The Hanseatic town of Kings Lynn has lots of historical interest to explore, along with many events throughout the year such as the Hansa Weekend in May, Festival Too in July (this is one of the largest free music festivals in Europe) and Amiens Street Performances with a continental market.
For more information any of the events planned for this year, please contact Kings Lynn Tourist Information Office.
Once again thank you for taking the time to post your review, and we would be delighted if you chose to stay with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Louise
Hotel Team Leader.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was 1st time I have stayed in this hotel.The staff were great very helpful I couldn't fault them in any way.I would go back there to stay anytime. Hotel couldn't have been closer to where we were going for night out with friends to a show

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marymac L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe Hotel K, Hotel Team Leader at Globe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Marymac L

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay at The Globe Hotel. We were delighted you decided to stay with us during your birthday weekend celebrations and are so pleased you enjoyed your time in Kings Lynn.
I have passed on your comments to out hotel team, who work hard to deliver comfortable accommodation and a friendly atmosphere.
Once again thank you for you review, and we would love to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Louise
Hotel Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is our first stay at a Wetherspoons Hotel and I must say we were very impressed with the booking in and reception staff. Parking restrictions were explained as there is a large pay and display carpark (£1 overnight fee) or normal road parking from 6pm to 8am. We were also told about the bar/restaurant opening and closing times. Our room was on the second floor and was accessible by lift or stairs. The room was a standard fitted room, keyless entry/light activation card used here. The bed was comfortable, lighting good, tea making facilities and bottled water (still and sparkling) Hair drier, large wall mounted television, spare towels in wardrobe. Because it was an old building the floors were sloping and you had to go uphill to get into the bathroom. Maybe not suitable for those with mobility issues.
After we had freshened up we went down to have a meal in the restaurant at about 9pm, the place was filling up with people using the pub but there was plenty of tables free by the entrance away from the bar/music area. We both ordered the same meal which was the Gourmet Burger with a side order of Half Rack of Ribs. The food came at a reasonable time but once we started to eat we soon found out why. The chips were barely warm and the ribs weren't that far behind in the warmth race. No condiments were on the table and werent brought when the food was served and we had to ask for them. When we had the standard 'How is your meal' question we explained why we were not happy. Giving the cold chip to the member of staff they said they would get some more chips for us. By the time we had nearly finished our burgers a bowl of hot chips arrived, so hot they couldn't be eaten straight away. Shame that didn't happen when we had our food initially!
When we finished eating we went back to our room and as we went past the receptionist she asked how was the meal. When we told her she said she would contact the duty manager and later on we received a letter offering free complimentary breakfasts for both of us.
I cannot praise the receptionist highly enough she represented Wetherspoons superbly and she had only been working there for 7 weeks!
As we had both been working all day we went to bed around midnight but with the ever increasing volume of noise from outside sleep was not possible until 2am! Resulting in a poor nights sleep which was not a good preparation for the next days work.
On handing over the complimentary breakfast letter we were told this did not include drinks and we would have to pay for this which as we both had coffee £2.30 seemed a fair price to pay for 2 coffee's. When we did get breakfast it was the standard Wetherspoons breakfast except this time the toast was cold and the small packs of butter were a hard to spread cold lump! Again when we were asked if everything was ok she actually got a negative answer and she was told about the toast. Her reply was that she thought the that the butter was hard thats why it was difficult to spread not the fact the the toast was cold! Nothing was done to resolve this so we finished breakfast, returned to our room, packed, left vowing never to use the hotel again or recommend to anyone!
As a seasoned Wetherspoons diner in many places in the UK this is the worst place to date. It seems they are happy to run the bar but food is an afterthought or even an inconvenience to the day to day running of this establishment.
A letter has been sent to Wetherspoons but based on other peoples attempts to get a response from Head Office it will probably be a futile attempt to gain their attention.

Room Tip: If you are staying on a Friday or Saturday then ask for a room not overlooking the entrance to the B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teejayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobeHotel1, Hotel Team Leader at Globe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Teejayh

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate all feedback, both good and bad so we can strive to improve our service.
I am delighted to hear you found our reception team very informative, friendly and helpful, this is a point of pride for us.
The Globe Hotel is a grade two listed building and was first recorded in 1650, which I hope you can appreciate, does mean some of the floors around the hotel have a slight slope to them. We have some rooms available where the floors don’t slope, along with a wheelchair access room with a wet room very close to our lift, to offer to guests with mobility issues.
We are very disappointed to hear the food you received was not up to our usual standard. Both the hotel and pub team always strive to give the best possible service and the team work hard to deliver good food, comfortable accommodation and a friendly atmosphere and we are disappointed to note on this occasion we fell slightly below our usual high standard.
I apologise that this has caused your stay to be less than pleasurable and would like to assure you I have passed on your comments to the management team, who are looking in to your review further with the kitchen and bar team.
JD Wetherspoon contacts all customers who leave feedback either online, by post or by telephone. Once we have received notification of your complaint from our head office, a duty manager will be in contact with you.

If you wish to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel on 01553 668000 to speak to a duty manager.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review, and we do hope this matter will not cause you to put us out of mind on your next visit to Kings Lynn.

Kind Regards
Louise
Hotel Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these King's Lynn hotels
0.1 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,098 reviews
2.2 mi away
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
#3 of 15 in King's Lynn
946 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#10 of 15 in King's Lynn
304 reviews
6.1 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
858 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globe Hotel

Address: King Street | Tuesday Market Place, King's Lynn PE30 1EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
#4 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
#4 Business Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range: £38 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Globe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Globe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Globe Hotel King`s Lynn
Globe Hotel Kings Lynn
Globe Kings Lynn
Globe Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing