We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value and central to the town”
Review of Globe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Globe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

As with all Weatherspoons, you get value for money. The rooms are fairly modern and the position of the hotel is very central.

Car parking is close by, you have to watch for the timings and not park in the wrong place on market days. The receptionist was very helpful and told us that we could pay for longer than the car park machine seemed to allow and that it would issue a longer term ticket. This worked, which meant we did not have to move the car first thing in the morning.

Breakfast service was very slow, as there were not enough staff behind the bar for the number of customers. But the food was (as you expect in this chain) fairly good.

The only other down side to this hotel is that this is the night club of choice for most of the youngsters locally at the weekend, so it can be very noisy. However, we were given rooms on the second floor as far away from the noise as possible and this was fine, couldn't hear the DJ from there!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe Hotel K, Hotel Team Leader at Globe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Felthorpe

We really appreciate you taking the time to post your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, especially on a night when the dj was playing and found our reception team to be helpful.
We do inform all our guests we have a dj in the adjoining bar on Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Bank Holiday Sundays and some of our first rooms can be noisy. We try our hardest to accommodate requests for one of the 12 rooms on the second floor which we allocate on a first to book basis.

I apologise for the slow service you received in the morning at breakfast. The management team will look to increase the staffing levels following on from your comments.

Once again thank you for your review, and we would like to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Louise
Hotel Team Leader.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (761)
There are newer reviews for Globe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

633 - 639 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

This is an amazing place to stay, lovely welcoming staff, rooms were beautifully decorated, very clean, quiet, we wanted a doubble but they didn't have any so they have us a family room at the price of a doubble wich was very helpful. Very spacious, tidy overall a delight to stay and more than happy to pay for a fabulous room! The receptionist on the night ( 14/05/2014 ) was brilliant. She was very polite, helpful and friendly. She helped make our stay wonderful. I would recommend to friends and family and deffinently stay again! *****

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobTomLawton812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe Hotel K, Hotel Team Leader at Globe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear RobTomLawton812

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our reception team very helpful and the room spacious, clean and tidy.

The entire team work hard to deliver clean comfortable accommodation along with the wide choice of food and drink the pub has to offer, all in a friendly and welcoming atmosphere and it is pleasing to note their efforts have not gone unnoticed.
I hope the weather was warm and enjoyable enough for you to sit in our wonderful beer garden overlooking The Great River Ouse.
Kings Lynn itself has a lot to offer visitors to the area, including with one of Europe’s biggest free live music festivals in July.
We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Louise
Hotel Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just back from a stay at The Globe, Kings Lynn, could not fault it. Room was very clean, comfortable and decorated to a high standard. The staff where polite and helpful, all in all a most enjoyable experience.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jellis58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe Hotel K, Hotel Team Leader at Globe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Jellis58

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate all feedback and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room to be clean and comfortable.
I hope you found the wide range of food and drink choices the adjoining pub has to offer good value too. Our Sunday Carvery is very popular along with our large beer garden that overlooks the River Ouse.
We are proud of our refurbished hotel and we would be thrilled to welcome you to the hotel again soon


Kind Regards
Louise
Hotel Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Rooms decorated to a very high standard, reasonably priced and handy for the centre of town. The staff were very friendly and helpful, inexpensive parking walking distance from the hotel, a most enjoyable stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank derek s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe Hotel K, Hotel Team Leader at Globe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear derek s

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay at The Globe Hotel . We are pleased to note you enjoyed your stay and found our staff very helpful and friendly. This is a point of pride for us.

Please come back again soon where I am sure you will have an equally enjoyable time.

Kind Regards
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Booked 3 rooms,1 double and 2 singles all on the top floor. All very good clean tidy, staff smart and polite could not be more help-full when asked a question. Would gladly recommend a stop over here. Unlike some hotels that we have stayed at they are not banging on your door to get you out in the morning, so you could have a lie-in and take in breakfast at your leisure. Well worth a stay if your in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe Hotel K, Hotel Team Leader at Globe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Paul565

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we are all delighted you would recommend us to others.
Our team always strives to give the best possible service to our customers and we are delighted to hear the staff are doing just that.
As you are aware from your stay with us our check in times are from 2pm with check out by 11am on your day of departure. We believe we have a generous cancellation policy ( by Midday on day of arrival you can cancel with no charge ) with breakfast served daily from 7am until Midday, which enables our guests to relax and enjoy their stay.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you again to The Globe Hotel should you venture back to Kings Lynn.


Kind Regards
Louise
Hotel Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just read through one of the reviews for the globe I have stayed here a few times and also had the pleasure of working for the company until 3 years ago.

The weekend in question a Charity type mini marathon was taking place and the towns roads were closed as other towns and cities are across the world one weekend a year could that not be seen by the guest as the starting point is outside the hotel.

Second point was the charging of a credit card unless the globe now charge extra for electric it is the same as any other hotel the receptionist would ask if you wanted to charge food and beverages to your room and pay for your room on departure.

Silly comments like these can give a bad impression to a business I live over a mile away from the hotel and I couldn't take my car out for a few hours on Sunday morning instead we walked to the quay and watched the runners whilst having a cup of coffee and spent a enjoyable Sunday morning the 'town' was far from closed . The review made the town sound like a ghost town

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesali1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe Hotel K, Hotel Team Leader at Globe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi Lesali1962

We are pleased to note you still feel passionately about the hotel even though you no longer work alongside us. The team are very proud of our refurbished hotel and we appreciate all feedback, good and bad so we can strive to improve our service.
Our entire team were pleased to welcome both professional, casual competitors and spectators to the hotel and restaurant for refreshments during the annual Grand East Anglian Run. I understand from the event organisers, entries to this years GEAR Run, now in its 9th year, has been hailed as the most successful yet, with entries surpassing all previous years meaning the town was very busy throughout the day.

Thank you for posting your comments and hope to see you soon.


Kind Regards
Louise
Hotel Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel has been refurbished to a very good standard so is a nice place to stay . it is in a good position being on the main square in the town, with easy access to all the shops, bars etc.

The staff are helpful and polite. We had a good breakfast for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: we were in room 126 which was quiet and of a good size and well equipped.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danny123424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe Hotel K, Hotel Team Leader at Globe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear danny123424
We really do appreciate all feedback from our hotel guests so we can strive to improve our service. Our team are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and liked the décor and layout of your room.
I will pass on your comments regarding your breakfast to the kitchen team who serve breakfast daily from 7am until Midday.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Louise
Hotel Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these King's Lynn hotels
0.1 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,075 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#9 of 15 in King's Lynn
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
277 reviews
6.1 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
835 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globe Hotel

Address: King Street | Tuesday Market Place, King's Lynn PE30 1EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
#4 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
#4 Business Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range: £37 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Globe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Globe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Globe Hotel King`s Lynn
Globe Hotel Kings Lynn
Globe Kings Lynn
Globe Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing