We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Globe Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Stuart House Hotel(King's Lynn)(Great Value!)
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dukes Head Hotel(King's Lynn)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa(King's Lynn)(Great Value!)
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ffolkes Hotel(King's Lynn)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Kings Lynn(King's Lynn)(Great Value!)
US$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Kings Lynn hotel(King's Lynn)(Great Value!)
US$74
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (802)
Filter reviews
802 results
Traveller rating
368
314
77
27
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
314
77
27
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubdyson fanweather spoonssaturday nightcorn exchangebottled waterlady on receptionmarket squareexcellent valuebar downstairsfirst floorcar parktuesday market placetown centrenice roomcentre of kings lynndisabled room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
670 - 675 of 802 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Globe, the first time was 3 years ago. This time the rooms had been re-vamped and modernised. The corridors are a bit of a maze but when we got to our room it was really lovely, it was a really hot day and we got a Dyson fan in the room which was excellent and soon cooled us down. It was a bank holiday and there was a disco going on downstairs but we didn't hear anything from our room. It is the perfect location to spend time in Kings Lynn town as it is only a few minutes walk to the shops but beware!!!!! We parked on the market square after six o'clock and after reading the price tariff for the car-park we understood it to be free until 8am so we parked and set our alarm for 7.45 in the morning to put a parking ticket on the car only to find a £50 parking ticket stuck on our windscreen! Apparently if you read the tiny small print on the car-park sign it says it costs £1 to park over night up until 8am. It would have been nice if the hotel reception staff had asked where we had parked when we checked in so as to avoid this parking fee, but we enjoyed our stay in The Globe anyway!

Room Tip: Ask to not be over the bar on disco nights
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samnjack0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe Hotel K, Hotel Team Leader at Globe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Samnjack0

Thank you for sparing the time to write your review. We do appreciate all feedback, good and bad so we can strive to improve our service.
We are delighted you have chosen to stay with us again and found the newer upgraded hotel to your liking. We are proud of our hotel and the entire team work hard to deliver comfortable, clean and affordable accommodation in a friendly atmosphere. The hotel underwent an £800k upgrade to all the hotel rooms, bathrooms, corridors, reception and the bar. We now have free Wifi throughout the hotel and the kitchen is now open from 7am until 11pm every day.

There is free parking overnight in the designated bays along King Street, in the designated bays from 5.30pm every evening until 8.30am the following morning and all day on Sunday. The long term car park, situated behind the Corn Exchange is currently £2.90 from 10am until 8am the following day, with the short term outside the front of the hotel at an hourly rate and then £1 overnight from 6pm. We do advise guests to check the meters because they belong to the council. We have tried on many occasions to purchase car parking permits from the council for our hotel residents to use, but unfortunately this was met to no avail. We appreciate this isn’t great for you as a hotel guest. I apologise you found the information on the car park boards and meters misleading resulting in you receiving a car park fine from the traffic warden.

Following your feedback, I have re-iterated the parking arrangements with all members of the reception team for them to ensure our hotel guests are aware of the best place to park and any charges that apply their vehicles during the check in process.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope the car parking in Kings Lynn doesn’t put us out of mind should you choose to visit Kings Lynn again as we would love to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Louise
Hotel Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've stayed in this hotel a few times each year for over the last ten years as I visit family in Lynn. It was getting a bit tired, but appears to have had some refurbishment. Check in is always simple and the reception staff are incredibly helpful. We stayed in room 122 this time which is a family room, although its in the "noisy" part we preferred it as we don't usually go to bed until the DJ has finished and it was blissfully quiet in the mornings. We often stay in one of the quiet rooms on the 2nd floor which are fine, but not all are suitable for sleeping past 7am. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the hotel is in the centre of town. The beds are comfy with extra pillows available, there's also a hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. We did eat breakfast one day, my porridge and juice was perfectly fine, but my partner wasn't impressed with the bacon roll.

Room Tip: If you are a night owl the 1st floor is fine, if you are a morning person then go for the 2nd floor
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hipk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe Hotel K, Hotel Team Leader at Globe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Hipk0

We are thrilled you have stayed with us one more than one occasion over the last decade. I hope you found a huge improvement to the hotel and the rooms following the refurbishment works last summer. All our rooms now have free WIFI powered by the Cloud, which we believe is a ‘must ‘for residents.
I am disappointed to note your partner was not happy with his bacon roll at breakfast. Please could you contact the hotel on 01553 668000 so we can have some more information so we can look into this further for you with our kitchen team.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future should you decide to book with us again.
Kind Regards
Louise
Hotel Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

As with all Weatherspoons, you get value for money. The rooms are fairly modern and the position of the hotel is very central.

Car parking is close by, you have to watch for the timings and not park in the wrong place on market days. The receptionist was very helpful and told us that we could pay for longer than the car park machine seemed to allow and that it would issue a longer term ticket. This worked, which meant we did not have to move the car first thing in the morning.

Breakfast service was very slow, as there were not enough staff behind the bar for the number of customers. But the food was (as you expect in this chain) fairly good.

The only other down side to this hotel is that this is the night club of choice for most of the youngsters locally at the weekend, so it can be very noisy. However, we were given rooms on the second floor as far away from the noise as possible and this was fine, couldn't hear the DJ from there!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe Hotel K, Hotel Team Leader at Globe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Felthorpe

We really appreciate you taking the time to post your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, especially on a night when the dj was playing and found our reception team to be helpful.
We do inform all our guests we have a dj in the adjoining bar on Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Bank Holiday Sundays and some of our first rooms can be noisy. We try our hardest to accommodate requests for one of the 12 rooms on the second floor which we allocate on a first to book basis.

I apologise for the slow service you received in the morning at breakfast. The management team will look to increase the staffing levels following on from your comments.

Once again thank you for your review, and we would like to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Louise
Hotel Team Leader.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

This is an amazing place to stay, lovely welcoming staff, rooms were beautifully decorated, very clean, quiet, we wanted a doubble but they didn't have any so they have us a family room at the price of a doubble wich was very helpful. Very spacious, tidy overall a delight to stay and more than happy to pay for a fabulous room! The receptionist on the night ( 14/05/2014 ) was brilliant. She was very polite, helpful and friendly. She helped make our stay wonderful. I would recommend to friends and family and deffinently stay again! *****

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobTomLawton812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe Hotel K, Hotel Team Leader at Globe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear RobTomLawton812

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our reception team very helpful and the room spacious, clean and tidy.

The entire team work hard to deliver clean comfortable accommodation along with the wide choice of food and drink the pub has to offer, all in a friendly and welcoming atmosphere and it is pleasing to note their efforts have not gone unnoticed.
I hope the weather was warm and enjoyable enough for you to sit in our wonderful beer garden overlooking The Great River Ouse.
Kings Lynn itself has a lot to offer visitors to the area, including with one of Europe’s biggest free live music festivals in July.
We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Louise
Hotel Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just back from a stay at The Globe, Kings Lynn, could not fault it. Room was very clean, comfortable and decorated to a high standard. The staff where polite and helpful, all in all a most enjoyable experience.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jellis58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe Hotel K, Hotel Team Leader at Globe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Jellis58

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate all feedback and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room to be clean and comfortable.
I hope you found the wide range of food and drink choices the adjoining pub has to offer good value too. Our Sunday Carvery is very popular along with our large beer garden that overlooks the River Ouse.
We are proud of our refurbished hotel and we would be thrilled to welcome you to the hotel again soon


Kind Regards
Louise
Hotel Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews