We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Globe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Globe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

if you have children then do not eat in the restaurant as you will be asked to leave at 8pm as we did and didnt get a chance for dessert or coffee and they started to move tables and chairs while we was still eating, should have a reserved place for hotel guests apart from that the receptionist was brilliant

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickcrowle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe Hotel K, Hotel Team Leader at Globe Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear mickcrowle
We really do appreciate you taking the time to post your review and hope you enjoyed your stay with us. The friendliness of our hotel team is a point of pride us and our team work hard to deliver clean and comfortable accommodation.
Unfortunately due to strict licensing restrictions, the adjoining bar welcomes families with children until 8pm. We have a separate family area towards the back of the pub adjoining our very popular beer garden. Children love to run around and play in our huge garden and watch the river slide by. We are planning on opening our summer house enabling customers in the garden to buy drinks from there instead of returning to the bar. We have regular family fun days throughout the year with bouncy castles, colouring competitions, face painting, raffle and cake sales whilst raising money for our chosen charity, CLIC Sargent .
We do have a dj playing in the Lloyds No 1 bar from 8pm on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights and Bank Holiday Sundays resulting in us needing to move some tables and chairs to make space.
I am very sorry you were not informed of our 8pm children licence meaning you didn’t have the chance to enjoy a coffee or one of our desserts from our menu, leaving you very disappointed. Following your comments, our management team have re-iterated to all our staff the importance of informing our customers of our children policy and the 8pm ‘cut off’ time. We offer room service for a very small fee, enabling guests with children to make use of the kitchen being open until 11pm every night, without affecting the licence.
Once again thank you for taking the time to post your review, and would like to welcome you back in the future. If you would like to discuss your review any further, please do not hesitate to contact a duty manager on 01553 668000.

Kind Regards
Louise
Hotel Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    278
    63
    24
    15
See reviews for
111
344
47
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights at the Globe in May...used the bathroom in the evening only to find no toiletries at all went embarrassed to reception it was closed and was informed by staff you have to purchase soap etc but none was available until the next day. should be up front it`s not the extra price it is the inconvenience and being left uncomfortable until the following morning.

Was advised we had access to the bar up until 12pm ,I was refused entry by there doorman at 11:45pm who stated the reception staff where wrong it was 11:40 last entry.
The staff says he got it wrong????. mean while why they get there acts together the customer misses out!!!.

Slept through a constant drip drip drip from the leaking roof. BUT it was clean with good food .

Room Tip: Take a soap bag etc and get bar opening times in writing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Restorations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe Hotel K, Hotel Team Leader at Globe Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Restorations

We really appreciate you taking the time to post your review. We do value all feedback so we can strive to improve our service.
All of our baths and showers have complimentary Zen body & hair wash bottles attached to the tiles along with hand soap above the bathroom sink taps within easy reach. Our housekeeping team work hard to ensure all our rooms are comfortable, clean and fully stocked and I apologise both the soap bottles were empty during your stay. A member of staff should have re-stocked them for you on this occasion and I am sorry this didnt happen when you brought it to our attention. This has been looked into further with the team to ensure it doesn’t happen again.
We have Mulben & Fearne toiletries readily available at reception for £1.50: a shaving kit or a dental kit if a guest ever forgets to bring their own with them.
The adjoining pub is open every morning from 7am and closes at Midnight Sunday to Thursday and at 1am on Friday and Saturday nights.
Our hotel residents have access to the bar until the closing time every night. We do have a door team working on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights and I apologise our newly appointed doorman didn’t realise you were a hotel guest.
If you would like to discuss your review further, please do not hesitate to contact a duty manager on 01553 668000.
Once again thank you for your review, and I would like to assure you your comments have been taken seriously. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should you choose to stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards
Louise
Hotel Team Leader.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We arrived at the globe at 9am it is situated in the old town market square,we were on our way to the green house at Thorpe market for a holiday. We popped in for breakfast and had a pleasant surprise how lovely the breakfast was the staff were very pleasant too and made you very welcomed, the globe is a wetherspoons.

If your going in that direction in the near future do pop in and enjoy a good value breakfast.

Room Tip: There seems to be a problem with this website today as we did not stay at the globe but only ate bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woodleywag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe Hotel K, Hotel Team Leader at Globe Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Woodleywag

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your breakfast and found our team to be helpful and friendly. This is a point of pride for us.
We hope you had a wonderful holiday in Thorpe Market.
Kings Lynn itself has plenty of historical interests to explore, with many of our hotel guests returning to enjoy the beautiful West Norfolk Coastline with its mass of sand dunes and reed beds. Old Hunstanton and Holkham in particular have world-renowned beaches. The Royal Sandringham Estate is just 15 minute drive away.
We have 37 rooms in total, including three family rooms, a triple room and a wheelchair access room with a walk in wet room.
All our rooms are en-suite, with tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen tv and free WIFI. Our kitchen is open daily from 7am until 11pm every day with our very popular Sunday Carvery from 12 noon until 6pm every week.
We would love to welcome you to the hotel to stay should you choose to holiday in the local area.

Kind Regards
Louise
Hotel Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Globe, the first time was 3 years ago. This time the rooms had been re-vamped and modernised. The corridors are a bit of a maze but when we got to our room it was really lovely, it was a really hot day and we got a Dyson fan in the room which was excellent and soon cooled us down. It was a bank holiday and there was a disco going on downstairs but we didn't hear anything from our room. It is the perfect location to spend time in Kings Lynn town as it is only a few minutes walk to the shops but beware!!!!! We parked on the market square after six o'clock and after reading the price tariff for the car-park we understood it to be free until 8am so we parked and set our alarm for 7.45 in the morning to put a parking ticket on the car only to find a £50 parking ticket stuck on our windscreen! Apparently if you read the tiny small print on the car-park sign it says it costs £1 to park over night up until 8am. It would have been nice if the hotel reception staff had asked where we had parked when we checked in so as to avoid this parking fee, but we enjoyed our stay in The Globe anyway!

Room Tip: Ask to not be over the bar on disco nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samnjack0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe Hotel K, Hotel Team Leader at Globe Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Samnjack0

Thank you for sparing the time to write your review. We do appreciate all feedback, good and bad so we can strive to improve our service.
We are delighted you have chosen to stay with us again and found the newer upgraded hotel to your liking. We are proud of our hotel and the entire team work hard to deliver comfortable, clean and affordable accommodation in a friendly atmosphere. The hotel underwent an £800k upgrade to all the hotel rooms, bathrooms, corridors, reception and the bar. We now have free Wifi throughout the hotel and the kitchen is now open from 7am until 11pm every day.

There is free parking overnight in the designated bays along King Street, in the designated bays from 5.30pm every evening until 8.30am the following morning and all day on Sunday. The long term car park, situated behind the Corn Exchange is currently £2.90 from 10am until 8am the following day, with the short term outside the front of the hotel at an hourly rate and then £1 overnight from 6pm. We do advise guests to check the meters because they belong to the council. We have tried on many occasions to purchase car parking permits from the council for our hotel residents to use, but unfortunately this was met to no avail. We appreciate this isn’t great for you as a hotel guest. I apologise you found the information on the car park boards and meters misleading resulting in you receiving a car park fine from the traffic warden.

Following your feedback, I have re-iterated the parking arrangements with all members of the reception team for them to ensure our hotel guests are aware of the best place to park and any charges that apply their vehicles during the check in process.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope the car parking in Kings Lynn doesn’t put us out of mind should you choose to visit Kings Lynn again as we would love to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Louise
Hotel Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've stayed in this hotel a few times each year for over the last ten years as I visit family in Lynn. It was getting a bit tired, but appears to have had some refurbishment. Check in is always simple and the reception staff are incredibly helpful. We stayed in room 122 this time which is a family room, although its in the "noisy" part we preferred it as we don't usually go to bed until the DJ has finished and it was blissfully quiet in the mornings. We often stay in one of the quiet rooms on the 2nd floor which are fine, but not all are suitable for sleeping past 7am. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the hotel is in the centre of town. The beds are comfy with extra pillows available, there's also a hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. We did eat breakfast one day, my porridge and juice was perfectly fine, but my partner wasn't impressed with the bacon roll.

Room Tip: If you are a night owl the 1st floor is fine, if you are a morning person then go for the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hipk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe Hotel K, Hotel Team Leader at Globe Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Hipk0

We are thrilled you have stayed with us one more than one occasion over the last decade. I hope you found a huge improvement to the hotel and the rooms following the refurbishment works last summer. All our rooms now have free WIFI powered by the Cloud, which we believe is a ‘must ‘for residents.
I am disappointed to note your partner was not happy with his bacon roll at breakfast. Please could you contact the hotel on 01553 668000 so we can have some more information so we can look into this further for you with our kitchen team.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future should you decide to book with us again.
Kind Regards
Louise
Hotel Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

As with all Weatherspoons, you get value for money. The rooms are fairly modern and the position of the hotel is very central.

Car parking is close by, you have to watch for the timings and not park in the wrong place on market days. The receptionist was very helpful and told us that we could pay for longer than the car park machine seemed to allow and that it would issue a longer term ticket. This worked, which meant we did not have to move the car first thing in the morning.

Breakfast service was very slow, as there were not enough staff behind the bar for the number of customers. But the food was (as you expect in this chain) fairly good.

The only other down side to this hotel is that this is the night club of choice for most of the youngsters locally at the weekend, so it can be very noisy. However, we were given rooms on the second floor as far away from the noise as possible and this was fine, couldn't hear the DJ from there!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe Hotel K, Hotel Team Leader at Globe Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Felthorpe

We really appreciate you taking the time to post your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, especially on a night when the dj was playing and found our reception team to be helpful.
We do inform all our guests we have a dj in the adjoining bar on Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Bank Holiday Sundays and some of our first rooms can be noisy. We try our hardest to accommodate requests for one of the 12 rooms on the second floor which we allocate on a first to book basis.

I apologise for the slow service you received in the morning at breakfast. The management team will look to increase the staffing levels following on from your comments.

Once again thank you for your review, and we would like to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Louise
Hotel Team Leader.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings lynn
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

This is an amazing place to stay, lovely welcoming staff, rooms were beautifully decorated, very clean, quiet, we wanted a doubble but they didn't have any so they have us a family room at the price of a doubble wich was very helpful. Very spacious, tidy overall a delight to stay and more than happy to pay for a fabulous room! The receptionist on the night ( 14/05/2014 ) was brilliant. She was very polite, helpful and friendly. She helped make our stay wonderful. I would recommend to friends and family and deffinently stay again! *****

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobTomLawton812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe Hotel K, Hotel Team Leader at Globe Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear RobTomLawton812

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our reception team very helpful and the room spacious, clean and tidy.

The entire team work hard to deliver clean comfortable accommodation along with the wide choice of food and drink the pub has to offer, all in a friendly and welcoming atmosphere and it is pleasing to note their efforts have not gone unnoticed.
I hope the weather was warm and enjoyable enough for you to sit in our wonderful beer garden overlooking The Great River Ouse.
Kings Lynn itself has a lot to offer visitors to the area, including with one of Europe’s biggest free live music festivals in July.
We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Louise
Hotel Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these King's Lynn hotels
0.1 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Kings Lynn Hotel
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
6.1 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#9 of 15 in King's Lynn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globe Hotel

Property: Globe Hotel
Address: Tuesday Market Place, King Street, King's Lynn PE30 1EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
#4 Business Hotel in King's Lynn
#4 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Globe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Globe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Globe Hotel King`s Lynn
Globe Hotel Kings Lynn
Globe Kings Lynn
Globe Hotel UK/Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing