We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another great meal!”
Review of The Mulberry

The Mulberry
Ranked #1 of 67 Restaurants in Thetford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$32 - US$79
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yet another great meal!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have just got back from another top meal at the Mulberry. The fish was again beautifully cooked as was the sirloin dish. Standards are consistently high in this friendly restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank martin u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    45
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Molesey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch for 28 at the Mulberry, Thetford”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We arranged lunch at the Mulberry for 28 people to celebrate my aunt’s 90th birthday in July 2014. It was a really fabulous occasion.
A key to success was the flexibility of the proprietor, Karen, in planning the event. For example, we brought our own champagne for the toast, paying a very modest corkage, which gave us more money to put into other things. We agreed a choice of two starters and two main courses, plus a vegetarian option, for a reasonable fixed price, and the quality of the food was excellent throughout. For dessert, Karen arranged for a chocolate cake to be baked by another local business and it was brought in ceremoniously with lighted candles. A short speech while the champagne was being poured and the cake cut was followed by tea and coffee. Wine was from the house list and there were drinks on arrival charged for on an individual basis. It was my decision to ask guests for their choices of starter and main course when I sent out the invitations; keep a record of who chose what if you do that, as people sometimes forget!
The restauant opened specially for us that lunchtime and the meal was held in the delightful setting of the conservatory, which looked onto a green & leafy patio garden surrounded by old flint buildings. We were fortunate to have fine weather, which enabled the patio doors to stand open to a gentle breeze.
Service was efficient but at the same time relaxed and friendly, and that contributed greatly to the atmosphere of the occasion.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Positively the Best Fillet Ever”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We visited The Mulberry last month and was shocked that a resturant of this caliber would be in Thetford. From the cozy atmosphere to the staff being super friendly, this was the best meal I have ever had in England. The steak I had was the best I have ever had the pleasure to enjoy. I have traveled around the world and surely was taken by surprise in the quality, service, and taste of The Mulberry. Thank you for a great meal and you will see us again soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdour, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An outstanding experience”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have eaten in many Michelin star restaurants but this meal beats most of them.

The experience wasn't hurt by the excellent weather that allowed us to have our pre-dinner drinks outside but even if the weather had been awful the experience would still have been very special. The decor is very tasteful.

The service was friendly without being disrespectful; it was effiicient without being intrusive.

But a restaurant like this lives and dies by the food. It was top rate and very reasonably priced.

I have never written a restaurant review before but this was so good I just had to.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, good value wines”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Three of us, no booking. Very efficient and welcoming service. Very tasty food, good size portions, interesting choices. Wine list was very good value .

Helpful?
1 Thank mikoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mulberry also viewed

 
Elveden, Suffolk
Thetford, Norfolk
 

Been to The Mulberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing