We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”
Review of The Warrener

The Warrener
Ranked #12 of 66 Restaurants in Thetford
Price range: US$24 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Eaten here a few times and it always good 'pub' grub and excellent value. The customer service is always good and must be part of company policy. There is a premier Inn next door which could be useful.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mart4922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    162
    90
    55
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breakfast, and a hell of one!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a breakfast as we were up early!

The all you can eat for £8.75 seemed a safe bet, and it was!

The continental side was as expected warm croissants plenty of choice on cereal and drinks.

The cooked breakfast was great to, and you really can eat all you want! I heard some people going all in!

Only downside the toaster takes an age! And if busy there can be a little delay on that huge breakfast you order!

For £8.75 you can't go wrong!!!

Helpful?
Thank RJ2825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vegans not welcome”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We are going for a meal here tomorrow to say farewell to a colleague. As a vegan the only choice is bread, chips and green salad. They are not able or willing to produce anything bespoke like a simple tomato pasta, vege curry or chilli (the sort of thing that would take me 15 at home) because they are a chain apparently. So that clearly means that all the food is precooked off site, shipped in and then warmed up onsite. This is pathetic. It's the 21st century.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Not for us at all. No 'craft ales or beers' at all, just the dull standard lagers and ciders.
Smoking is allowed outside BUT its right next to the non smoking and its awful to have a smoker right next to you. we moved round the corne where it was windy and not so nice !
The car park isn't great either to get in and out of.
Definitely wont be coming here again in a hurry !

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kangela73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing food but keen to please.”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We have used this restaurant a number of times and watched its expansion as we have driven passed. On our most recent visit we were impressed with the decor and layout, and as always the staff were welcoming and efficient.

Unfortunately the food was rather disappointing however, the steak served with my wife's salad was nothing short of inedible gristle. Why this was served by the chef I fail to understand as the steak had been cooked whole and then sliced for the dish. It would have been obvious that this was not suitable for service. In addition, the salad was almost completely lettuce with just a couple of quarters of tomato. The dish as replaced and this time the steak was good and the salad had much more variety, in fact the dish was good.

The waiting staff were excellent and seemed genuinely concerned at the poor quality meal. The cost was also refunded so there is genuine concern at service quality.

My own meal was ok, the chicken burger was nicely moist and flavoursome, the French fries served with it were very poor though, they appeared to be reheats of some vintage. I didn't have the heart to complain about them!!

I have to say that other food coming out of the kitchen looked ok and other diners did appear to be enjoying their meals so perhaps we were just unlucky in choice.

To sum up, lovely staff...come on kitchen why not get it right first time!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Warrener also viewed

Thetford, Norfolk
Thetford, Norfolk
 
Elveden, Suffolk
Thetford, Norfolk
 

Been to The Warrener? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing