We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thetford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Rectory B&B
Ranked #3 of 8 Thetford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I spent a few days at The Old Rectory in Thetford last week and I had a lovely stay. The place has recently been refurbished resulting in a very comfortable, clean and tastefully decorated building. James and Joanne are friendly, helpful and accommodating but not in your face, just how I like it. They went out of their way to make my stay as comfortable as possible. I stayed in a double room with en suite overlooking the front of the building which had a large and beautiful sash window that lets in all the light. It was very quiet and I slept well. The breakfast was varied and nicely presented in a cosy dining room. It is quiet yet close to everything and literally a few minutes leisurely walk from the high street where there are pubs, shops, restaurants, museums etc and all you would need. Would definitely stay here again and if it was ‘Four in a bed’ I would pay double!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann O O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

I stayed here last night as we went to a concert in thetford, it is situated in a lovely area with local pubs, the place was very welcoming and had a very pleasant touch. Very clean. Our room was lovely with an ensuite, and was a very nice sized bedroom, James made sure we had everything we needed and gave us very good service for breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble, will 100% be using this B&b again when we next go to thetford, great value for money, would highly recommend to all my friends and family. Thank you again :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeighG88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed here in their reopening day, the B&B is well situated close to the town centre and local amenities and just a few yards from Dad's Army museum. The refursbishment of the building has been made to a very high standard and to a simpathetic history of this building,with everything available in our room that was need it. We stayed in a double room with en-suite everything was spotless in and out of our room! clean confortable and the owners could'nt be more helpful as finding our where abouts and local information. We had a very peaceful night sleep and a lovely full English in the morning. We highly recommend it and we hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariamedina73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

My Brother,his partner and daughter came to visit over the summer and stayed at here.
They stayed in a room with a double bed and single as well as en suite,so all managed to stay in the same room.
Parking was not a problem as there is a parking lot on site. The b&b is situated in the town center with some great walks close by.
The host was very welcoming and helpful. My brother did not stop talking about the breakfasts saying the bacon was out of this world LOL.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We have just spent a weekend at the Old Rectory and WHAT A STAR- nothing was too much trouble for Jeanette- the hostess with the mostest- friendly welcome, nice clean tidy room and wonderful English Breakfast- all at a bargain price.

Some family and friends stayed at OTHER B&Bs in the area and had nothing but complaints about accomodation so will be staying at The Old Rectory next time.

Well done Jeanette- keep it up

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandradew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Stayed for one night in July. Good size room with ensuite facilities. Excellent breakfast.
Very friendly and helpful proprietor. Would recommend.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
Thank coolaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I booked a weekend stay at the Old Rectory in Thetford as I was visiting friends who recently moved near there. Easy to find and free parking on site. Jeanette made us feel so welcome she was so nice and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The room we had was large with an en suite which was immaculate ! Comfy beds and a quiet room in fact the whole place was welcoming and location wise ideal. We took our little boy along the river to feed the ducks which is a two minute walk away and also the shops are minutes away. Full English breakfast provided - which was great,and my boy had his favourite cereal! Will definitely be staying again and I'll have to put photos up too of our visit.

Room Tip: Book early as it's a popular b and b.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thetford hotels
0.3 mi away
The Thomas Paine Hotel
The Thomas Paine Hotel
#2 of 7 in Thetford
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Thetford Hotel
7.7 mi away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White Horses Bed & Breakfast
1 mi away
Premier Inn Thetford Hotel
8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory B&B

Address: 30 Raymond Street, Thetford IP24 2EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thetford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Thetford
Price Range: £30 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory is a grade 2 listed Georgian house built in the early to middle of the 18th century. The house retains many of the original classic Georgian features including large sash windows, high ceilings and several fireplaces. The house has an interesting history being part of a brewery and then a rectory to its present incarnation as a bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory B&B Thetford, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing