We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to find and very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Thomas Paine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Thomas Paine Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Thetford
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Easy to find and very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

My wife and I had to find a place for a business meeting with a book publisher. He had stated that he wanted somewhere around Thetford. We live in Norwich so had little or no knowledge of hotels there. But thank goodness for tripadvisor!! We found the Thomas Paine Hotel. We had the room to ourselves for a couple of hours, drank lots of tea and coffee, and had very good meeting. Great setting, easy to find, and superb staff. Thanks to staff and Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estelle1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
So happy to see your great review, we have worked out a good strategy and that it is to provide good food and service and its working. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    68
    39
    12
    15
See reviews for
90
132
13
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

The best thing about our stay wasn't the fantastic breakfast, the very comfortable bed, the large room with high ceilings, the high standard of cleanliness but it was the staff.
They make you feel special.
We were only there one night but our stay would be hard to beat.
I've heard that there is a change if ownership, all I will say is look after your wonderful staff as they are your greatest asset.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank django2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
So happy that you have been looked after by our wonderfully trained staff, we hope to carry on the trend and keep the standards up. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel after a recommendation from a friend. It was excellent!
My stay was for two nights. On arrival staff were friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about the hotel history and the attractions and places to visit locally.
My room was very clean, well stocked, and nice and bright. The shower was fantastic. Plenty of room to move about! The bed was very comfy!
Wi-Fi was free and fast, and they had a simple password, unlike a lot of places I have been.

Breakfast was very good, plentiful and hot with a good freshly cooked choice.
They have a free car park.
I had a couple of the beers from the bar that were well kept and rather good.

The hotel is very well situated for the 'Dads Army' walk and all the towns attractions.

I must mention that during my stay, they had a rather unfortunate incident where a vehicle collided with the building. After the obvious initial safety issues, ALL of the staff made sure that the customers were well looked after, well informed, and that all needs were catered for.
Considering the pressure they were all under, they did a marvellous job to look after all of the guests, belongings, and needs. WELL DONE ALL.
Due to this, I was moved into another room at short notice. It was just as good as the first, and just as comfy.

Thank you,

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StevenSantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thanks so much for your review, we appreciate your comments so much with such a difficult situation. We hope to see you again soon and this time the bubbly is on me, see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thetford
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Thetford Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#7 of 7 in Thetford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wereham House Hotel
Wereham House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Thetford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
5.8 mi away
Brandon House
Brandon House
#1 of 1 in Brandon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thomas Paine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thomas Paine Hotel

Property: The Thomas Paine Hotel
Address: 33 White Hart Street, Thetford IP24 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thetford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Thetford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thomas Paine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE WIFI througout the hotel in all of our totally refurbished bedrooms.If you want excellent local meats and seafood then you should visit this ambient restaurant and boutique hotel,our new sizzling dishes tantalite all taste buds, whether you want indian,Chinese or Mediterranean its all here,efficient and friendly service, good local ale and fabulous surroundings you’ll experience this hotel. Recently totally refurbished and under new management, The Thomas Paine Hotel offers a new level of comfort and service. Situated within walking distance of many of the town's attractions, it makes an ideal base for exploring the area or for the businessman needing a good night's sleep. Steeped in history having been the birthplace of Thomas Paine who wrote the Rights of a man, come visit history in its making. Only 30 minutes from Cambridge and 20 minutes from Newmarket excellent for the races. Plenty of free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Thomas Paine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historical Thomas Paine Thetford
The Thomas Paine Hotel Thetford, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing