We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased with this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Thomas Paine Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Thetford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Really liked this hotel. Big, quiet room with comfy bed and huge bathroom. High ceilings meant it was a touch on the chilly side, but the adjustable rads soon warmed it up. Free wifi was a bonus too - so many hotels overcharge for this, so nice to see it included. Only downside was old style Yale lock and key didn't feel very secure and there was no safe in the room. Also, I can imagine it could be a bit noisy in summer as some of the other reviews said, but that is a compromise due to its location which is only 5mins walk from the train station and right in the town centre near shops, restaurants, pubs etc. Breakfast was good with order taken for cooked items rather than buffet so you can get your eggs freshly cooked which is great. Only small issue was the service - two members of staff had a public 'difference of opinion' while I was there - not very professional. They were otherwise friendly and helpful though. Would definitely stay there again as room was really nice.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are perhaps quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for your excellent feedback we treasure everyones great moments with us. We have taken note of all your comments, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed overnight at the Thomas Paine so that we could break our journey to the Suffolk coast the following day.

Very helpful staff on check in. Very comfortable beds and nice sized room.

Problem with our evening meal was quickly rectified. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

What a lovely time it was looking after you, for you to have an issue and then you gave us the opportunity to put it right was so fantastic, we wish we had lots more customers like you. Lately majority of all our guests have all left so happily. It was a pleasure looking after you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed at The Thomas Paine hotel in early September on a Sunday, prior to visiting the nearby Center Parcs complex (Elveden Forest), with family. I wanted to lodge nearby to avoid a long drive on Monday morning, so found this establishment via booking.com

Arrived at about 1PM and parked easily in the large car park (which is free to guests). Although check-in isn't available until 2PM, I enquired as to whether I could leave my suitcase and belongings in the room. The staff were very accommodating and said it would be no problem at all, even though it was halfway through being cleaned.

So with the rest of the day decided to have a look around Thetford, it's a lovely place with plenty of character. Being into real ale, popped into some of the towns pubs, The Bell, The Red Lion (Wetherspoons), Kings Head & The Railway to pass the time. By all accounts, The Bell is definitely the best in my opinion, only being a 5 minute walk down the road from the hotel too.

Returned later on in the evening to find the room had been cleaned spotlessly and settled in for the night. Even though my room looked out onto the main road, I heard minimal traffic noise during my stay.

Woke up early next morning and had a shower, although it was large, the pressure didn't seem very good. I also noticed the toilet flush was precarious and sometimes wouldn't activate, unless it was pressed very hard.

Needless to say though even with these minor niggles, I would not hesitate to book again if I was ever in the Thetford area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonB125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Wonderfull to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our new concept is proving fantastic so please do try it next time you are with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Three of us booked at short notice, just for one night, but we were made to feel like kings. From the moment we pulled on the carpark with race trailers and tow vehicles we were welcomed and accomodated in every way. The rooms are spectacular as is the food. Woold i stay here again? I can't wait till next year!

Room Tip: we had rooms one and three, both fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

We enjoyed your company as much as you enjoyed ours, we thank you for such great comments about what we are trying to achieve. Rome wasn't built in a day and to have such great people giving us the time to get it right is great. Look forward to your return and the bubbly will be on me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed in room 2, which was the larger room for a 2 night stay. It was very spacious and clean. Very comfortable and we experienced no noise at all. Bed very comfortable. Big walk in shower with lots of very hot water. All in all a very pleasant stay,. Did not sample the food as we eat out,. The little market town of Thetford is just a two minute stroll away, so a good location. A handful of eating places to choose from, fairly quite. The staff seemed very pleasant and made you feel very welcome. Would definately stay again and would definately request the same room.

Room Tip: The larger room is well worth the extra. Room 2 was very good. Very spacious and bright and very cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helgaLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, our new bedrooms and bathrooms are some of the best in the area and it shows with great feedback such as yours. Please do enjoy our cuisine next time you are here. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

From our Friday afternoon arrival to the next day the welcome and service were exemplary. Our bedroom, one of the largest I have stayed in in England was light and well appointed. An equally spacious bathroom (although the shower head was positioned to suit the diminutive owner) was as spotless as the rest of the Hotel. A very wide ranging menu, sensibly priced. My crab mousse starter at under £7 was freshly made and plentiful. My wife chose the Dover Sole (following recomendations on t/adv.) and it was presented perfectly, off the bone as requested. My burger was made from the finest minced beef and again, plentiful. With no room for pudding the choice of cheeses was imaginary. Accompanied by an excellent Beaujolis. The chefs fry-up at breakfast again fresh and filling. A wonderful nights stay and great value for money. However, now for Thetford. Hosting much of historical and cultural interest. The Ancient House Museum, Dads Army Museum and the superb Charles Burrell Steam Engine Trust, staffed by the most enthusiastic volunteers. So much to enjoy, and above all the Thomas Paine Statue and connection. So whatever must the American and French visitors who visit the birthplace of the founder of their revolutions think? A meander through the streets makes the Youtube Walmart site look like Harrods. With those wonderful museums and the authorities plans to regenerate the town it will all come to naught less the populace change! However, visit, there is much to see and this Hotel deserves so much to succeed. Thetford needs it!

Room Tip: Room 3 was superb, and even the local attempting to murder his comfortably proportioned wife under o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Excellent to hear you had such a great time with us, our cuisine is making us feel proud of our new product and we thank you for your feedback. Thetford has so much to offer which we feel that we can encourage more tourists into the town. After your wonderful comments I am sure it will enhance Thetford. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed here for one night on the way to a family gathering, obviously money has been spent on this property and the decor is tasteful, the staff are pleasant. Can not comment on the food as we did not eat there. We stayed in room number 5 which is a good sized room with quality furniture and bed with a nice firm mattress, the bathroom is also a good size with a good shower.
I have to say the room was very hot as it was a hot day we opened the sash windows (single glazed) sadly the room is close to the Norwich Road which is very noisey all day and evening and there is a pedestrian crossing so you suffer with the almost constant beep beep beep until quite late on. There is a need for air con in the room and double glazing.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet stay avoid room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for your kind comments it is always a pleasure to welcome such lovely people to our hotel. With regards to the heat as everyone knows it has been an unexpectedly warm summer and have taken note of your comments for next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thetford
7.4 mi away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#7 of 7 in Thetford
650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Thetford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
173 reviews
0 mi away
Wereham House Hotel
Wereham House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Thetford
134 reviews
10.8 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thomas Paine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thomas Paine Hotel

Address: 33 White Hart Street, Thetford IP24 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thetford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Thetford
Price Range: £69 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Thomas Paine Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE WIFI SUPERSPEED FIBRE downloads of upto 76 mb throughout the hotel in all of our totally refurbished bedrooms. Extremely popular being a pet friendly property so you don't have to leave your best friends at home, if you want excellent local produce and seafood then you should visit this ambient restaurant and boutique hotel, our fantastic local cuisine with efficient and friendly service, good local ale and fabulous surroundings you’ll experience this hotel. Recently totally refurbished and under new management, The Thomas Paine Hotel offers a new level of comfort and service. Situated within walking distance of many of the town's attractions, it makes an ideal base for exploring the area or for the businessman needing a good night's sleep. Steeped in history having been the birthplace of Thomas Paine who wrote the Rights of a man, come visit history in its making. Only 30 minutes from Cambridge and 20 minutes from Newmarket excellent for the races. Plenty of free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Thomas Paine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historical Thomas Paine Thetford
The Thomas Paine Hotel Thetford, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing