We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Thomas Paine Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Thetford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My business partner and I stayed there for a night a few weeks ago and had a lovely time. The manager who we had a meeting with next day regards a project we are working with was very helpful and accommodating to our requests and we are working with him at the end of the month.

We can not comment on the food as we did not have time to eat there - but the room and staff were great.

Room Tip: There is one twin apparently so do book for that asap if that is what you are after.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazzabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Excellent to see that you enjoyed our company, our manager always try's his best to look after all , and it's so nice to see our guests noticing his and our teams joint effort to go further. We will always be learning but to have you onboard makes it a little easier and nice that our efforts are nearing the goal set. Looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

I have visited this excellent hotel now on a number of occasions and especially to attend some great functions.
The owner is always on hand to entertain and get involved with his guests and nothing is too much trouble for the the staff who looked after us. Courteous, polite and professional in all areas of the hotel.
The hotel has been revitalised under its new ownership and the food was great value and excellent.
Well done one and all.. A great experience and one which will be repeated.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

So happy to see you on e again, it's always nice for the staff to see such great comments a real boost to them all, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is the second time that I have used this hotel now and I have been most impressed on both occasions. The staff are polite and attentive, the food great and the rooms large and comfortable. Great accommodation, great value, great location. Need I say more?

Room Tip: Go for a superior double, they're only about £5 dearer than standard and you got lots of room fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bert345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

We are privileged to have you back for the second time and look forward to your third visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

'Celebrated 60th birthday at The Thomas Paine Hotel in March 2014. Everything was 5 star - Accommodation, Staff and Food. Biggest room ever and such a warm welcome from Chris and Shane. We met the owner and his wonderful family, nothing was too much trouble and he made sure that all our needs and requirements were met. I would recommend this Hotel, a lot of money has been spent in refurbishing and bringing it up to 5 star standard and quality.'

Room Tip: Room 2 - corner room, very ,large and light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbrown287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

We certainly enjoyed your company, our motto is ARRIVE AS GUESTS AND LEAVE AS FRIENDS and you certainly did that. We await your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We arrived at the hotel and were expecting to be greeted a little more pleasantly , the man behind desk who I guess was the manager ( if he wasn't then he sure thought he was ) seemed rude and arrogant , as tho it was him doing us the favour of staying there , he was there all of our first evening and was quite unpleasant all evening ....
The tv in our room only had half the Channels and our room was situated above the kitchen which was extremely noisy untill about 11:30 am !
Other than that was ok , all other staff seemed nice and pleasant :)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for your comments and gals you thought all our staff were nice that's what we are here for as you can see by our other reviews. The manager is special isn't he.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

From the moment we were greeted by the enthusiastic and chatty young barman, and saw the quality decor of the bar area, we felt sure the were going to enjoy our afternoon tea. When the cake stand was brought in from the kitchen, our high expectations were entirely met by the array of sandwiches, scones with cream and jam, and considerable variety of cakes and pastries set before us. Needless to say, we tucked in with great relish and enjoyed every mouthful until with some reluctance we had to admit that we would have to leave some items uneaten! If you're in the area and feeling peckish around tea time It's a must,

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JennyinLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

This hotel has been thriving to provide this so much loved British tradition, to have a relaxing afternoon tea is a must amongst our clientle. We are so happy that you enjoyed our delights and when it is done well with our scones, clotted cream and cakes with sandwiches what more would you want to chill in the afternoon, as we anticipated are bookings are going great for this. We look forward to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed here in February for 3 nights with my colleagues. The staff was fantastic and extremely accommodating. They also have this beautiful fire place that they have running during the colder months. This is with real fire wood as well and it is quite tantalizing. At night they set up the living room to have the chairs facing the fire; a perfect atmosphere for after-dinner cognacs, whiskies and other drinks. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Thetford. The owner, Gez, is also quite a funny gentleman and is a veteran of the hotel and hospitality industry. His experience is showcased in the comforts provided in this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikko p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

It was such a pleasure to look after you and your colleagues, we enjoyed your stay as much as you did. So happy that you enjoyed the food and ambience we look forward to enjoying your company again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thetford
7.4 mi away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
293 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#7 of 7 in Thetford
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Thetford Hotel
0 mi away
Wereham House Hotel
Wereham House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Thetford
133 reviews
25 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thomas Paine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thomas Paine Hotel

Address: 33 White Hart Street, Thetford IP24 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thetford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Thetford
Price Range: £71 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Thomas Paine Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE WIFI througout the hotel in all of our totally refurbished bedrooms. Extremely popular being a pet friendly property so you don't have to leave your best friends at home, if you want excellent local produce and seafood then you should visit this ambient restaurant and boutique hotel, our fantastic local cuisine with efficient and friendly service, good local ale and fabulous surroundings you’ll experience this hotel. Recently totally refurbished and under new management, The Thomas Paine Hotel offers a new level of comfort and service. Situated within walking distance of many of the town's attractions, it makes an ideal base for exploring the area or for the businessman needing a good night's sleep. Steeped in history having been the birthplace of Thomas Paine who wrote the Rights of a man, come visit history in its making. Only 30 minutes from Cambridge and 20 minutes from Newmarket excellent for the races. Plenty of free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Thomas Paine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historical Thomas Paine Thetford
The Thomas Paine Hotel Thetford, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing