We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Thomas Paine Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Thetford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is a smart hotel with a great atmosphere. The room was decorated tastefully with all the comforts needed for a very relaxing overnight stay in Thetford. Enjoy dinner in the restaurant with a nice glass of wine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinny559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stay here for a week and had a fantastict time was greeted by friendly staff the room was very accomadating and every thing you would want in your room, out standing food would be coming back again and would like to thank the manger and staff for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgecoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My Wife and I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and it was lovely, The Staff couldn't help us enough, we were waited on hand and foot. The breakfast was lovely and the Afternoon Tea was a delight. You get a real sense of family friendliness around this hotel. The Owner greater us like we were old friends and were really made to feel at home. In all our years travelling i can honestly say this was the best welcome and best ambiance we had received in a very long time, cannot wait to go back, Thankyou

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3, this was very big and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Piers B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

How wonderful to see that you enjoyed our experience, we have tried everything in a year by trial and error and now can say that it is very much getting there, our traditional afternoon teas have of course been so popular because the great British treat has been brought to Thetford which it so much deserves. All our cuisine is carefully cooked to order to produce mouth watering dishes to make your taste buds party on down all night. We some much enjoyed your stay with us as much as you enjoyed our company, we are happy that our motto COME AS GUESTS LEAVE FRIENDS has some much been followed again. Looking forward to your trip back to us already.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed one night on a Groupon Offer that included Afternoon Tea and Continental Breakfast. This was excellent value for money, afternoon tea was lovely and taken in a comfortable bar area. Ate in the Restaurant in the evening, food was excellent and on the 2 for 1 offer was excellent value. Service was excellent & very friendly. The Hotel is well located for accessing the River walk and town and parking was no problem, there is quite a busy road on one side, where our room (4) was located, it wouldn't have been a problem if the secondary double glazing had worked and allowed the window to shut, hence the lower sleep quality rating. Room was spacious with a large comfortable bed, no bath but good roomy shower. WiFi worked well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Excellent to see that your stay with us was so good, our rooms are now at a fantastic standard which is hard to beat within the area, our great british afternoon teas have become fantastically popular and its such a pleasure to hear we got it so right with this. We have taken note of your comments with regards to the window and as this is a grade 2 listed building sometimes it is beyond our control of how long it takes to do this. Thank you so much and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was my fourth visit to the UK and I "again" stayed at the Thomas Paine Hotel. I must say I had a wonderful stay. The staff was most polite and they made me feel at home with a nice personnel touch. Everything was clean, rooms smell fresh and are the best, above all they have "Free" Wifi service!

Without any hesitation, I would recommend this hotel to everyone in and around Thetford.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deepankar_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you so much for your comments we are so happy that our hard work is paying off, and all our customers enjoy our new facilities including our FREE WIFI throughout the hotel, we run our hotel as a family business and we are so proud that you think of us like your own. we await your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have been travel round to a lot of different top hotel, I couldn't expected more from Thomas Paine Hotel, Great atmosphere, very warm like a family style, great staff and food. I could't wait for my second visit. Keep it up, I would like more surprise when I stay you guys again.
Great job.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felix C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

We thank you so much for being a wonderful guest, it's great for all when finesse identified finesse, and you did just that for us. It was so enjoyable to show around our wonderful town which as you saw is extremely rich with history, we already have your next trip planed out as we can show in Thetford that you have missed so far. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

First of all let me say that the hotel was spotlessly clean, well decorated and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The food both in the restaurant and for breakfast was superb and again the service excellent. My only complaint was the size of the room. I booked a luxury double room for myself and my husband (room 6) but it was very small and although very clean and well decorated, the furniture appeared new, it was not luxurious. There were no chairs, nor room for any and very little space for two people move around at once. It was too hot on the first night but on the second when we opened a window we had the noise from a fairly busy road adjacent to the hotel. Had I have booked a standard room I would have expected this but was disappointed. This was however the only down point to my stay.

Room Tip: Not room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K5624LYJamesM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you so much with your fantastic feedback, we appriciate the room was a little small for you, so next time we will make sure you get one of our superior rooms, which are big enough to have a party of four in. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thetford
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Thetford Hotel
0.2 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#7 of 7 in Thetford
637 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wereham House Hotel
Wereham House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Thetford
128 reviews
25.0 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thomas Paine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thomas Paine Hotel

Address: 33 White Hart Street, Thetford IP24 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thetford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Thetford
Price Range: £71 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Thomas Paine Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE WIFI througout the hotel in all of our totally refurbished bedrooms. Extremely popular being a pet friendly property so you don't have to leave your best friends at home, if you want excellent local produce and seafood then you should visit this ambient restaurant and boutique hotel, our fantastic local cuisine with efficient and friendly service, good local ale and fabulous surroundings you’ll experience this hotel. Recently totally refurbished and under new management, The Thomas Paine Hotel offers a new level of comfort and service. Situated within walking distance of many of the town's attractions, it makes an ideal base for exploring the area or for the businessman needing a good night's sleep. Steeped in history having been the birthplace of Thomas Paine who wrote the Rights of a man, come visit history in its making. Only 30 minutes from Cambridge and 20 minutes from Newmarket excellent for the races. Plenty of free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Thomas Paine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historical Thomas Paine Thetford
The Thomas Paine Hotel Thetford, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing