We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Thomas Paine Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Thetford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We started off at the Premier Inn but were forced to check out as the rooms were all 30 degrees even at 10pm. We found this hotel online in desperation for some cool air. On arrival the manager was very helpful and gave us a lovely large room with big windows which actually open fully unlike those at the Premier Inn! We will certainly be choosing the Thomas Paine Hotel for any future visits to Thetford.

Room Tip: Have only seen room 5 which is spacious and well decorated in a clean modern style in keeping with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Following a two night stay at the Thomas Paine 'Boutique' Hotel in Thetford, I felt compelled to write a review.

Firstly it is not a'Boutique' hotel and anyone expecting this will be disappointed.

Upon booking we requested a cot in the room as we have a 10 month old. When we arrived we were informed that a cot was unavailable, despite specifically requesting this. No further explanation/assistance was offered.

The following morning we again requested a cot, at which point the manager was extremely rude and said it's not going to happen. He also changed his story from 'no cot available' to 'the cot was broken'. I asked if he was able to source a travel cot from somewhere else for the second evening, as it was far from ideal for a 10 month old to be sleeping in a bed. The manager's response was 'what do you expect me to do, go to Bury St. Edmunds and get one?'

I feel the the manager was completely unaccommodating, unnecessarily rude and could have easily located a travel cot for our use. Had we known in advance we could possibly brought one with us.

In addition to the poor reception we received, the rooms were extremely hot, which I can understand in July, but nothing was offered to help this eg a fan. Also the shower in room 4 and room 7 had one temperature setting - scaldingly hot.

The noise levels outside the hotel during the night/early hours of the morning was excessive due to a number of people congregating on the road outside.

Overall the hotel was an adequate place to stay marred by the unwelcoming nature and rudeness of the manger, who was unkempt - I was especially disgusted at the state of his nails whilst serving breakfast on Sunday morning.

We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
50  Thank Vickitoria35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is an excellent hotel, which I can't recommend highly enough. The service was superb, very friendly and happy to help. The room was lovely, a good size and very tasteful. The food was delicious. I've been a fan of Thomas Paine for a long time so when I realised we'd be staying in Thetford I had to try this hotel; I'm happy to say I would be very happy to visit again whatever the name!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sjb482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Thomas Paine has fast become our favourite place to dine. The food is freshly prepared rather than boiled in a bag which means you can enjoy a comfortable, relaxing drink in the bar area before being seated at your table. The staff are courteous, friendly, attentive and professional. We are always greeted with a warm welcome and quickly advised of when we will be seated at our table. During our many visits we have sampled almost everything on the menu and I can say that it has all been delicious, well presented and extremely reasonably priced. The hotel itself is well presented and the current owner has decorated in a tasteful style in keeping with the property giving the place a wonder ambience. The restaurant also runs a loyalty scheme and last Friday night we received a free bottle of wine of our choice so we came home not only with full stomachs but also with a nice bottle of rose! I can't recommend the Thomas Paine highly enough. Keep up the good work Thomas Paine!,

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank skn0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice privately owned hotel with clean rooms and good service. The food is very good value for the quality you get with ample portions to boot. Hotel staff are accommodating and friendly. Would stay here again when the next opportunity arises.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is faultless. Beautifully decorated. Wonderful food!
Stayed here on the 19th July. Room was a good size with all the amenities and appliances needed.
The location is fantastic and very easy to find.
Afternoon tea was excellent.
Customer service was best thing about our stay. Manager was very warm and welcoming and other staff members were very polite and helpful. Made us both feel right at home.
Excellent value for money. Have absolutely no negatives.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lwa06ay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here whilst on business in the area, was recommended by colleagues who have stayed here before, clean and spacious rooms, restaurant was the main feature which has an excellent specials and a la carte menu. All food was recommended by the manager which I could not fault. Free Wi-Fi also a bonus as stayed at the premier inn before who charged for this. Hotel has great character and is walking distance in the centre of town. Well recommended

Room Tip: room 3 excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zed i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thetford
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Thetford Hotel
0.2 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#7 of 7 in Thetford
637 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wereham House Hotel
Wereham House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Thetford
129 reviews
25.0 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thomas Paine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thomas Paine Hotel

Address: 33 White Hart Street, Thetford IP24 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thetford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Thetford
Price Range: £71 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Thomas Paine Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE WIFI througout the hotel in all of our totally refurbished bedrooms. Extremely popular being a pet friendly property so you don't have to leave your best friends at home, if you want excellent local produce and seafood then you should visit this ambient restaurant and boutique hotel, our fantastic local cuisine with efficient and friendly service, good local ale and fabulous surroundings you’ll experience this hotel. Recently totally refurbished and under new management, The Thomas Paine Hotel offers a new level of comfort and service. Situated within walking distance of many of the town's attractions, it makes an ideal base for exploring the area or for the businessman needing a good night's sleep. Steeped in history having been the birthplace of Thomas Paine who wrote the Rights of a man, come visit history in its making. Only 30 minutes from Cambridge and 20 minutes from Newmarket excellent for the races. Plenty of free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Thomas Paine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historical Thomas Paine Thetford
The Thomas Paine Hotel Thetford, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing