We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Thetford accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Thomas Paine Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Thetford
Certificate of Excellence
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Central Thetford accomodation”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very polite staff, lovely large well appointed room. Was attending a function elsewhere so didn't eat there but the restaurant was large and airy. The only slight draw back was that as it was a warm night the staff had left the double glazed windows open which reminded you how close the back of the hotel was to the main road behind it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Windyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    69
    40
    12
    16
See reviews for
93
138
14
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Been Here at this Hotel Multiple times in the past year or so, once again had a relaxing stay,no problems no issues, had a nice meal in the restaurant which still has a good value for money on most of its items,a few bevies and off for a good night sleep.
Bed is still comfy as ever!
In the Morning followed by a great full english breakfast ,simple but good selection all around,
Thank You for the good job again from the staff at this little place!

Room Tip: 1. and 3. are still the Best, 2. is also very stylish
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TPeter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel after friends highly recommended a weekend break here. I found the standards very high, the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. I ate in the hotel on one evening and the food was fantastic. I'd also like to mention the helpful, friendly and attentive staff who were always on hand to offer help and advice during my stay. Overall a very pleasant stay in a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were given a surprise weekend by our Daughters by being booked into the Thomas Paine Hotel in Thetford, we arrived on the Friday evening & were greeted by the very friendly & helpful staff, our room was very large & comfortable with a king size sleigh bed,leather sofa & all the usual tea,coffee,t.v etc, the bathroom was huge with a very large shower, separate bath ect. The food in the restaurant was excellent & the cream teas need to be tackled with a very healthy appetite. All together a very pleasant experience with a very relaxed feel to the whole place & a Manager who couldn't be more helpful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear of the hotel face a a main road so some traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Thank you everyone at Thomas Paine hotel, we had family visiting from Australia and needed somewhere nice an local for them to stay. From the moment they arrived they were made to feel welcome, the hotel was clean and staff friendly .We dined with them on two occasions the food & service was first class. Thank you again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dusty8279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

we needed a short break not far from home,a very warm welcome even a glass off iced water on arrival on a hot day.The Manager was very helpful and gave us some great information on thetford and \thomas paine.Our room was huge and had everything we needed.\the salmon special was delicious and the restaurant service freindly.
Overall a perfect stay and we will be returning highly reccomend

Room Tip: room1 is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The room was very impressive with very high ceilings and a double aspect view to the south and east. Although it is in the centre of town we were not bothered with any noise and found it very quiet. The sash windows were also handy in this hot weather compared with the sealed windows on modern hotels.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thetford
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Thetford Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#7 of 7 in Thetford
603 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
250 reviews
5.8 mi away
Brandon House
Brandon House
#1 of 1 in Brandon
282 reviews
11.7 mi away
Wereham House Hotel
Wereham House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Thetford
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thomas Paine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thomas Paine Hotel

Property: The Thomas Paine Hotel
Address: 33 White Hart Street, Thetford IP24 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thetford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Thetford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Thomas Paine Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE WIFI througout the hotel in all of our totally refurbished bedrooms.If you want excellent local meats and seafood then you should visit this ambient restaurant and boutique hotel,our new sizzling dishes tantalite all taste buds, whether you want indian,Chinese or Mediterranean its all here,efficient and friendly service, good local ale and fabulous surroundings you’ll experience this hotel. Recently totally refurbished and under new management, The Thomas Paine Hotel offers a new level of comfort and service. Situated within walking distance of many of the town's attractions, it makes an ideal base for exploring the area or for the businessman needing a good night's sleep. Steeped in history having been the birthplace of Thomas Paine who wrote the Rights of a man, come visit history in its making. Only 30 minutes from Cambridge and 20 minutes from Newmarket excellent for the races. Plenty of free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Thomas Paine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historical Thomas Paine Thetford
The Thomas Paine Hotel Thetford, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing