We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four poster bed and balcony - YAY!!”
Review of Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bell Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Thetford
Grantham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Four poster bed and balcony - YAY!!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

What a room! Number 42 - fourposter bed, large room, balcony, comfortable two seater settee, coffee table, chair. Very nicely decorated and lovely bathroom including a bidet. Downside was the shower was not particularly powerful...wondered whether to invite a couple of sparrows in to spit on me to speed it up but that was a minor detail and not a complaint, just an observation. Very much a Dad's Army themed hotel with pictures and the rooms named after characters and places in the series. Close to town centre and library.

Food - very good menu and very nicely cooked. However, what stops me from giving it an excellent is that there was a large party of 14 in the restaurant so my friend and I definitely took second place to them being served. Although the staff were lovely and kept apologising obviously the kitchen was overstretched - this was also a Monday so perhaps they didn't have as many staff as they would have at a weekend. The same thing happened at breakfast

Despite this, and because I'm sure this was a one off, I would definitely go again as the room was lovely and very comfortable. Please don't be put off by my comments as they are observations not complaints and are to explain why I can't give an 'excellent'. But thank you to all the staff who were excellent.

Room Tip: No 42 - four poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline Vict... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you found the hotel good value. You have my apologies about the service from the restaurant. It is only with feedback like yours that we are able to improve our offering to future guests. It’s good to hear that you enjoyed the najority of your stay with us. Rest assured I will pass on your feedback to the whole team in particular the waiting team. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    189
    129
    91
    88
See reviews for
85
288
19
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Was staying at the Bell for a family function and we had a wonderful stay. Great character to the old part of the building. It's great to see old pictures of the dad's army guys, really gives the place great character! Thankfully no signs of any ghosts!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DeeDee1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you found the hotel good value. We work hard in all areas of the hotel to provide fantastic value for money. It’s good to hear that you had a positive experience. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

We have just got back after spending two lovely days at The Bell hotel.It was our second visit at this hotel, we stayed here last year. We found the hotel very friendly, nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
We had one meal in the hotel, which was very nice we went for the three course, £9.95 very good value with a nice bottle of wine.
It is a little dated but then it is an old hotel, that is the charm of the place,they had a lovely log fire in the sitting room.
We had clean towels, the bed was very comfortable, we had a kettle and a supply of coffee tea and hot chocolate with biscuits.
The town had some lovely little shops, but I did find that there seemed to be a lot of people that were foreign, I felt as though I was abroad.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sidami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you find the hotel good value. We work hard in all areas of the hotel to provide fantastic value for money. It’s good to hear that you had a positive experience. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The Bell is a wonderful hotel for anyone with a sense of history. Ask for one of the old rooms and you may find a mediaeval wall painting by your bed. There are supposed to be ghosts too, though I'm afraid I didn't see any! Rooms are clean and comfortable and have all recently been refurbished. The food is good and the Bell Ghost Ale highly recommended. The staff are very helpful and friendly too. I look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old part of the hotel if you like history and are hoping to meet one of the gh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozymandias72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you find the hotel good value. We work hard in all areas of the hotel to provide fantastic value for money. It’s good to hear that you had a positive experience. All the team at The Bell hotel look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Bell Inn for 2 nights on a weekend promotion. The hotel is lovely, plenty of parking space, dog friendly and great service. Located right in a town centre. We felt really welcomed and staff were very friendly. We would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ezusinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you find the hotel good value. We work hard in all areas of the hotel to provide fantastic value for money. It’s good to hear that you had a positive experience. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We don't live that far away from the Bell Hotel but have never been. We booked and met two other couples for an evening meal. The deco is warm and old fashioned style that is so fitting as the building is full of real character. We found the food really tasty and not too fancy, can't be doing with all that four morsels on a plate... The night went by so quickly, and before we knew it we were drinking coffee and paying an incredibly cheap bill. Have to say the value for money is all here and we will be doing it more often.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you found the hotel good value. We work hard in all areas of the hotel to provide fantastic value for money. It’s good to hear that you had a positive experience. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to book into a hotel in Thetford at 10pm. When we called the Bell they were very welcoming and I liked the ample parking on arrival. The hotel is interesting and quirky and the bedroom was large, clean and warm.

The heavy curtains keep out any light from outside so guarentees a good nights sleep!

The price was extremely competitive at £60 with a lovely breakfast included. Although we didn't have time to partake in the cooked breakfast in the morning, the breakfast bar was fully stocked with cereal, muffins, fruit etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you find the hotel good value. We work hard in all areas of the hotel to provide fantastic value for money. It’s good to hear that you had a positive experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thetford
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Thetford Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Thomas Paine Hotel
The Thomas Paine Hotel
#2 of 7 in Thetford
430 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Wereham House Hotel
Wereham House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Thetford
122 reviews
5.8 mi away
Brandon House
Brandon House
#1 of 1 in Brandon
286 reviews
10.7 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Hotel

Property: Bell Hotel
Address: King Street, Thetford IP24 2AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thetford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Thetford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Thetford, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing