We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shabby”
Review of Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bell Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Thetford
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Shabby”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Room on the shabby side, bathroom dirty, mould on shower head and around taps.
Toilet roll on window sill as holder broken, stains on the floor where toilet brush once stood.

Unable to sit in the bar as its small with inadequate seating 1 hour wait at beakfast because they forgot about us others also complaining about lack of staff.

The only saving grace was the waiter, we think his name was Paul who did his best.
We had originall booked a table for 4 for Sunday lunch, but decided that as the service was so poor we went elsewhere

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for taking the time out of your day to share your thoughts about our hotel. We do recognise that there are certain issues that need addressing. We do take all feedback seriously whether good or bad, It is only with feedback like yours that enables us to improve our offering for future guests. However, it delights me to say a training plan and hotel improvement plan has since been rolled out for both the team and hotel in order for improvements to be made. Rest assured your thoughts will be shared with the whole team. The team and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future to witness for yourself the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    185
    123
    88
    83
See reviews for
83
280
18
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
stamford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My wife and I stayed for the weekend along with our golden retriever. No charge was made for the dog. Dogs were not allowed in the restaurant and frowned on in the bar but we could sit in the lounge with our dog and eat dinner there. I thought the breakfast and the food were fine and good value. It's not the Ritz but the service was very good. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone seeking to travel with their pet. Yogi the dog was really made to feel welcome and the other guests liked him as well. There are lots of public green spaces to walk a dog in just next to the hotel so that it's easy to get your pet to do his business before breakfast... We will definitely return. One thing the local dogs are quite aggressive....watch for the 'friendly' Jack Russell owned by a local which tried to bite Yogi's bottom for no reason at all....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katrine40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad both you Yogi were made too feel welcome and you both enjoyed your stay. We all look forward to welcoming both you and Yogi back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Easy parking, lovely room, huge bed! Breakfast was great and included in price. In centre if thetfords small town. Amazing customer service from Paul, nothing was too much trouble. Thank you Paul x will definitely visit here again and stay at thus hotel .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foxycoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you found the hotel good value and you feel that you could recommend us. We work hard in all areas of the hotel to provide fantastic value for money. It’s good to hear that you had a positive experience. Once again thanks for sharing your thoughts about our hotel. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The Bell occupies a prime position in the town and is ideally situated for exploring the attractions of Thetford. Our double room was very comfortable and we enjoyed the full English breakfast which was included in the price. No hesitation in recommending The Bell.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you found the hotel good value and you feel that you could recommend us. We work hard in all areas of the hotel to provide fantastic value for money. It’s good to hear that you had a positive experience. Once again thanks for sharing your thoughts about our hotel. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
162 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We used this hotel as a base; there isn't much to do in Thetford...!

Firstly the parking is good - no competition after that long drive, and the check-in was expedient. The rooms are comfortable and ours had a large bed. Noise from within the hotel was quiet but we overlooked the main street which became noisy after closing time - so would ask for a room overlooking the river if possible.

Breakfast was chaotic on both days; a lot seemed to be going on but we kept being forgotten about and others were getting the wrong things delivered... so it took twice as long as expected - just as well we were in no rush.

So all in all not bad and as usual reasonably priced

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - such as overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cran4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for taking the time out of your day to share your thoughts about our hotel. We do recognise that there are certain issues that need addressing. We do take all feedback seriously whether good or bad, It is only with feedback like yours that enables us to improve our offering for future guests. However, it delights me to say a training plan and hotel improvement plan has since been rolled out for both the team and hotel in order for improvements to be made. Rest assured your thoughts will be shared with the whole team. The team and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future to witness for yourself the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

It's a lottery as to what staff is available
Reception and front of house is v good
Bar service is ok and waiter/waitress service is fine on an evening
Breakfast is terrible, service slow and food is sometimes cold.
Food on an evening again is dependent on number of guests and staff
I've had excellent meals and horrendous meals.
Last 2 weeks had no terminal to pay by card even on reception
Visit at your peril

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesH2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time out our your busy day to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. Comments good or bad are always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Very friendly guy on reception when we arrived. Room typical old English inn, tired and shabby but comfortable bed and clean sheets . Shower head needed replacing as water sprouted everywhere . Food spillage on the stairs remained there over our 2 days and tables at breakfast were dirty. Buffet table was messy and waitresses weren't bothered about clearing tables. Thetford itself has a sense of despair about it and the hotel reflects this. A real shame.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThelmaLouiseKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for taking the time out of your day to share your thoughts about our hotel. We do recognise that there are certain issues that need addressing. We do take all feedback seriously whether good or bad, It is only with feedback like yours that enables us to improve our offering for future guests. However, it delights me to say a training plan and hotel improvement plan has since been rolled out for both the team and hotel in order for improvements to be made. Rest assured your thoughts will be shared with the whole team. The team and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future to witness for yourself the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thetford hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thetford
0.1 mi away
The Thomas Paine Hotel
The Thomas Paine Hotel
#2 of 7 in Thetford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Thetford Hotel
7.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
11.7 mi away
Wereham House Hotel
Wereham House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Thetford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
5.8 mi away
Brandon House
Brandon House
#1 of 1 in Brandon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Hotel

Property: Bell Hotel
Address: King Street, Thetford IP24 2AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thetford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Thetford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Thetford, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing