We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wereham House- A big Thankyou!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wereham House Hotel

Wereham House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wereham House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Thetford
Certificate of Excellence
Naivasha, Kenya
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wereham House- A big Thankyou!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We arrived slightly early, but this was no problem for Andy, and we were shown to our room straight away. We had a twin room as I was traveling with my son and stayed for one night.

I could not fault the room, the beds very comfy, and the bathroom very clean with fluffy towels. Throughout our stay although short, we were treated with excellent hospitality and will return if we are in the area.

We traveled to Thetford forest from the hotel, which was an easy 15 minute taxi ride.

I can highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwneratWerehamHouse, Owner at Wereham House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Many thanks for your review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay a couple of weeks ago. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are visiting your son.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    36
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
40
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richlands NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed here in July of 2012 while visiting our son at RAF Lakenheath. Everything was wonderful and we could not have asked for better service, breakfast, and location. Andrew and Caroline were very friendly and accomodating.They made us feel like family. The room was very nice and the beds were very comforable. ,If we were ever back in the area we would definately stay here again!

Room Tip: If you have a preference, please let Andrew and Caroline know! They will accomodate if at all possib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHTRichlandsNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

On the positive side the breakfast was delicious. On the negative, when asked what I thought of the place by the landlord, he became quite aggressive verbally when I told him the room was small for a double, walls very thin so we could hear someone snoring and tiny TV on the wall.
The wall on staircase was covered in damp although there was a sign apologising ''awaiting builders' - bed was uncomfortable and cheap.

You had to go round the back to gain entry. Landlady was very pleasant though, but her husband couldn't resist the last word as we checked out. Very ignorant attitude.

I chose the place as it scored highest but it doesn't deserve that rating especially with a landlord who can't take criticism

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jwgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwneratWerehamHouse, Owner at Wereham House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for your recent review, and we are glad that you enjoyed your breakfast.

We believe that Tripadvisor users would always prefer to have a full and rounded view of a property, and to this end l offer the following responses.

1) Regarding your specific comments about the bedroom, Wereham House is a Georgian/Victorian building and our rooms are not uniform in size. The fittings and furnishings are chosen to reflect each room.
2) You made your reservation 24 hours prior to arrival and the room allocated was the last one available. Notwithstanding this, had we been made aware, after check-in, that the room, bed and TV were not large enough for you, then we may have been able to switch your room for a larger one.
3) At about 23:00 l heard the back door shut and attended as a few minutes earlier you and your wife had experienced difficulty in accessing the back door using the key issued to you on arrival. I asked you if everything was alright and was, quite frankly, shocked by your response, In a tone l found both demeaning and non-conciliatory, you listed your grievances at me. The volume of your voice was sufficient to wake our young son who, the following morning asked my wife "who was that angry man shouting at dad last night?". At that time of night l realised there was nothing further l would be able to do to resolve your dissatisfaction. In light of your evident anger and discontent my wife and l agreed that, for the first time in almost 10 years, we would waive the accommodation element of your bill. For a small business in tough economic times, this was not a decision taken lightly.
4) With over 50 years joint Hospitality management between us we learnt a long time ago to value criticism which is constructive, helps us to improve, and is presented appropriately.
Your comments failed on all three fronts.
5) We must have spoken for no more than a few moments, yet in that short time you have concluded that l am "aggressive" and "very ignorant", and have chosen to share your opinions through the internet. That is your right to do so.
6) First impressions last, as the saying goes, and you certainly made an impression on me. However l would never want to be regarded as churlish and unprofessional enough to feel the need to share my views of you in a public forum.
7) Should you feel the need to use the word again - "Over-rated" has no hyphen. Overrated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

Stayed here on business for a week, and on the basis of this have booked in to stay for week nights for the duration of my time working in Thetford. Very friendly and welcoming, rooms warm and comfortable and nicely decorated and maintained. Excellent breakfasts, with reasonable choice. Located close to town centre so plenty of local pubs and eating places for evening meals, handy for shops. Week time clientele at this time of year seem mainly to be people on business or contractors, who don't make any noise at night and a good night's sleep can be relied upon. Very good value.
Important if travelling here using satnav - use the postcode or make sure you put in address as Whitehart Street (no spacing) - putting in White Hart Street with spacing, the satnav will try to take you to a village about 10 miles away !

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryandLeslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in December 2012 and also had our wedding reception there. Wereham House made our day fantastic, with brilliant food and a wonderfully decorated christmas dining room The breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woollyjumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwneratWerehamHouse, Owner at Wereham House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments. It was a pleasure for us both to host your special day. With all best wishes for the future.
Caroline & Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hue
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

A really nice house and pleasantly decorated. Fantastic location in town with a good car park. Couple were very hospitable and made it a nice stay for my week. Really tasy breakfast and a shame they don't put on evening food! Recommended place to stay for business and pleasure.

Room Tip: My room was small but suited my needs, maybe ask if you need a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattrose87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

We're cyclist and this hotel is centrally located to everything..the owner is very accommodating to safely lock our expensive bikes in there hotel..the rooms are well decorated and clean..the breakfast was substantial especially when ur cycling or walking around..

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ged868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thetford
0.0 mi away
The Thomas Paine Hotel
The Thomas Paine Hotel
#2 of 7 in Thetford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Thetford Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#7 of 7 in Thetford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
5.8 mi away
Brandon House
Brandon House
#1 of 1 in Brandon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wereham House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wereham House Hotel

Property: Wereham House Hotel
Address: 24 White Hart Street, Thetford IP24 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thetford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Thetford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wereham House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wereham House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wereham Hotel Thetford
Wereham House Hotel Thetford, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing