We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable & friendly”

Wereham House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wereham House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Thetford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed at Wereham House for two nights in Room 4, which was clean, comfortable and cosy. The room was nicely decorated and we had everything we needed for our short stay. The house was lovely and the breakfast room very welcoming. Very accommodating hosts, who were friendly and helpful but not in your face. The breakfast was delicious and Caroline even provided us with a breakfast tray the night before when we had to leave early on our final morning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreyKays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwneratWerehamHouse, Owner at Wereham House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here in Thetford.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed here overnight when attending one of the Thetford Forest concerts. We therefore only had time to arrive to drop off bags and then return at 11pm.

Our room was fine, perhaps a little dated but it is an older building with rooms of different sizes and styles. We had a room at the front and were disturbed once or twice by voices in the street, perhaps people coming from the Thomas Paine opposite. It wasn't a warm evening and we were able to close the windows.

Unusually, this is the 4th B&B stop I have had this year and, choosing to go for top rated smaller businesses rather than Travel inns is my preference and has been rewarding. We enjoyed our short stay and was able to leave the car in the ample car park and walk into the town centre before setting off home. We visited the small market and then the Dad's Army and Charles Burrell museums.

My only comment would be that of the 4 B&Bs I have stayed at recently, this was the dearest by some £10. That said, a Friday night at the Travel inn plus breakfast for two would probably be a similar price and certainly the food and service at breakfast would not be as good as here.

We enjoyed the concert and, if we attend another one next year, would be happy to return to Wereham House.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingatestonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Clean room, nice towels and good breakfast. Warm welcome from Caroline who was friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Bed was well made up. Two singles pushed together to make a Kingsize bed, but done so well that the join couldn't be felt! Only downside was the shower room which was very small and there was nowhere to put wash bags except for the top of the toilet cistern. Good location in central Thetford.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the back of the hotel as there is quite a lot of noise from the street on a Saturd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1C2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwneratWerehamHouse, Owner at Wereham House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your recent stay with us and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We arrived slightly early, but this was no problem for Andy, and we were shown to our room straight away. We had a twin room as I was traveling with my son and stayed for one night.

I could not fault the room, the beds very comfy, and the bathroom very clean with fluffy towels. Throughout our stay although short, we were treated with excellent hospitality and will return if we are in the area.

We traveled to Thetford forest from the hotel, which was an easy 15 minute taxi ride.

I can highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwneratWerehamHouse, Owner at Wereham House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Many thanks for your review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay a couple of weeks ago. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are visiting your son.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed here in July of 2012 while visiting our son at RAF Lakenheath. Everything was wonderful and we could not have asked for better service, breakfast, and location. Andrew and Caroline were very friendly and accomodating.They made us feel like family. The room was very nice and the beds were very comforable. ,If we were ever back in the area we would definately stay here again!

Room Tip: If you have a preference, please let Andrew and Caroline know! They will accomodate if at all possib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MHTRichlandsNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

On the positive side the breakfast was delicious. On the negative, when asked what I thought of the place by the landlord, he became quite aggressive verbally when I told him the room was small for a double, walls very thin so we could hear someone snoring and tiny TV on the wall.
The wall on staircase was covered in damp although there was a sign apologising ''awaiting builders' - bed was uncomfortable and cheap.

You had to go round the back to gain entry. Landlady was very pleasant though, but her husband couldn't resist the last word as we checked out. Very ignorant attitude.

I chose the place as it scored highest but it doesn't deserve that rating especially with a landlord who can't take criticism

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jwgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwneratWerehamHouse, Owner at Wereham House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for your recent review, and we are glad that you enjoyed your breakfast.

We believe that Tripadvisor users would always prefer to have a full and rounded view of a property, and to this end l offer the following responses.

1) Regarding your specific comments about the bedroom, Wereham House is a Georgian/Victorian building and our rooms are not uniform in size. The fittings and furnishings are chosen to reflect each room.
2) You made your reservation 24 hours prior to arrival and the room allocated was the last one available. Notwithstanding this, had we been made aware, after check-in, that the room, bed and TV were not large enough for you, then we may have been able to switch your room for a larger one.
3) At about 23:00 l heard the back door shut and attended as a few minutes earlier you and your wife had experienced difficulty in accessing the back door using the key issued to you on arrival. I asked you if everything was alright and was, quite frankly, shocked by your response, In a tone l found both demeaning and non-conciliatory, you listed your grievances at me. The volume of your voice was sufficient to wake our young son who, the following morning asked my wife "who was that angry man shouting at dad last night?". At that time of night l realised there was nothing further l would be able to do to resolve your dissatisfaction. In light of your evident anger and discontent my wife and l agreed that, for the first time in almost 10 years, we would waive the accommodation element of your bill. For a small business in tough economic times, this was not a decision taken lightly.
4) With over 50 years joint Hospitality management between us we learnt a long time ago to value criticism which is constructive, helps us to improve, and is presented appropriately.
Your comments failed on all three fronts.
5) We must have spoken for no more than a few moments, yet in that short time you have concluded that l am "aggressive" and "very ignorant", and have chosen to share your opinions through the internet. That is your right to do so.
6) First impressions last, as the saying goes, and you certainly made an impression on me. However l would never want to be regarded as churlish and unprofessional enough to feel the need to share my views of you in a public forum.
7) Should you feel the need to use the word again - "Over-rated" has no hyphen. Overrated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Stayed here on business for a week, and on the basis of this have booked in to stay for week nights for the duration of my time working in Thetford. Very friendly and welcoming, rooms warm and comfortable and nicely decorated and maintained. Excellent breakfasts, with reasonable choice. Located close to town centre so plenty of local pubs and eating places for evening meals, handy for shops. Week time clientele at this time of year seem mainly to be people on business or contractors, who don't make any noise at night and a good night's sleep can be relied upon. Very good value.
Important if travelling here using satnav - use the postcode or make sure you put in address as Whitehart Street (no spacing) - putting in White Hart Street with spacing, the satnav will try to take you to a village about 10 miles away !

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryandLeslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thetford
0 mi away
The Thomas Paine Hotel
The Thomas Paine Hotel
#2 of 7 in Thetford
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Thetford Hotel
7.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#7 of 7 in Thetford
649 reviews
5.8 mi away
Brandon House
Brandon House
#1 of 1 in Brandon
304 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wereham House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wereham House Hotel

Address: 24 White Hart Street, Thetford IP24 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thetford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Thetford
Price Range: £48 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wereham House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wereham House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wereham Hotel Thetford
Wereham House Hotel Thetford, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing