We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly and comfortable hotel handy for Thetford Forest”

Wereham House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wereham House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Thetford
Certificate of Excellence
UK
2 reviews
“A friendly and comfortable hotel handy for Thetford Forest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

I stayed at the Wereham House Hotel for one night in July 2009 to attend a concert in Thetford Forest.

I found it to be very conveniently located - a 5 minute walk from Thetford train station and a few minutes from the centre of Thetford (where, for those with an interest in history, I would especially recommend visiting the priory and the castle earthworks).

I had an ensuite double room on the first floor and, although the bedroom was quite small, it was clean and comfortable. I particularly appreciated the free wireless network which was available in the room.

This is a small, family-run hotel and I found the owners to be very friendly and helpful. Caroline, for example, very kindly phoned around to find me a taxi to the concert (£24 return) at the last minute (I arrived only a few hours before thinking that I could walk to it but in practice the road close to the forest is busy and has no pavement) and breakfast was extended by 30 minutes the next morning to allow concert-goers a bit of a lie-in.

If I were to be in the area, I would easily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelodyLeeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    36
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
40
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, CO
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Wereham last summer while visiting Thetford and other parts of Norfolk. Aside from the fact that Andy was incredibly accomodating and friendly (talked football in his bar and let us play with the dog) it was the best B&B we stayed in our entire trip. Recommendation------get a pizza from down the street and eat in the garden behind the hotel.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank FMFBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2006

My wife and I wanted to go to Thetford so we called around the hotels in the area. There was a concert on in the forest so all the rooms in the area were taken except for a single room at the Wereham.
The Wereham said they could put another bed in the room so that we could use it as a double. we said yes. But they did not mention that it was a camp bed! The camp bed was tucked under a shelf and blocked off the toilet door.
The decor was old and tired, but the bedding was all clean and real bed comfortable.
For £60 I thought it was a pretty high price.
The street was full of drunks till the small hours which kept me awake. Thats not the hotels fault just a sad reflection of modern Britain.
The owners were friendly and the breakfast was much better than the usual standard of hotel breakfast.
Thetford itself seemed quite rough!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank hobo-john2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwneratWerehamHouse, Owner at Wereham House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2007
The guest was desperate for a bedroom as he had failed to take into account the high demand for rooms caused by the concert. At the time of booking he was advised that it was a single room and there would be an extra bed for the second guest. I think he got an earful from his partner, and this prompted him to forget that he knew full well about the camp bed. Book earlier!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2006

We stayed in Thetford as our father passed away there and I must say what friendly and professional people we found Andy and Caroline Blyth to be.
They were very helpful and accomodating in their approach to us.
We wish them all the best and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Thetford given the choice.
Greetings from Amsterdam

  • Stayed January 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thetford
11.7 mi away
The Thomas Paine Hotel
The Thomas Paine Hotel
#2 of 7 in Thetford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
11.4 mi away
Premier Inn Thetford Hotel
11.7 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#7 of 7 in Thetford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
15.9 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wereham House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wereham House Hotel

Property: Wereham House Hotel
Address: 24 White Hart Street, Thetford IP24 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thetford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Thetford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wereham House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wereham House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wereham Hotel Thetford
Wereham House Hotel Thetford, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing