We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best YHA hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of YHA Wells-next-the-sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
YHA Wells-next-the-sea
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best YHA hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

I've stayed in many YHA's large and small across the country and this is easily the best I've visited. As everyone else has commented, the hostel is spotlessly clean and very well equipped with great common area that you actually want to use. First and foremost, however, the Manager was incredibly helpful throughout our stay. In addition to adjusting the heating and supplying extra bedding, he went out of his way to recommend a restaurant for breakfast the next morning. His friendly, cheerful and helpful manner made our stay. The only negative was our room was in between two shower cubicles, which made for an early and noisy wake up call.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meander2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
16
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

A group of us (26) stayed at the hostel and had a great weekend. The manager was extremely helpful and the whole place was very well run. It was clean and well resourced. The location was great for pubs/restaurants too

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3bar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Right from the start the YHA in Wells made a very good impression.We were phoned beforehand and expectations explained. Although we unfortunately arrived late we were greeted warmly and shown around. It must be one of the best hostels in The YHA. Clean,spacious,well equipped and ideal for us as a private party but also, I should imagine, as individuals or small groups as there's plenty to do and plenty of space. Good car parking facilities, it faces a church whose bells pealed out the times and call to worship on Sunday morning which was lovely. We did have an issue with security which was remedied, and which Peter, the manager was very helpful about,but perhaps policies on door codes could be reviewed. There are decent sized rooms, with sinks and sky light windows. The showers are very efficient, clean and bright. We, ages ranging from 4 to 80,would thoroughly recommend it and look forward to returning some time.

Room Tip: Apart from the ensuite disabled access room downstairs all rooms are upstairs and are all lovely. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank strictmum99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

I stayed at Wells-next-the-Sea Yha just before Christmas. I had never been to North Norfolk before and before I had stayed for my second night, I had booked to go back. The area is fabulous and there are so many things to do. The birdwatching is fabulous (especially at Holkham Nature Reserve, Cley-next-the-Sea nature reserve and RSPB Titchwell and Snettisham) as is the food available and there are some fantastic restaurants too. For shopping, it's a great area- I found Holt was a lovely place to spend a few hours wondering in and out of local independent shops. The Yha was lovely, very very clean (and I've stayed in quite a few now!), nicely decorated, comfortable bunk beds, nice shower facilities as well the best equipped Yha kitchen I've ever used (and so clean too). The manager was very friendly and welcoming too, which always helps, as well as able to help on things to do in the area.
One of the best Yha's I have stayed in and I can't wait to go back again in May.

Room Tip: An upstairs room is better, espcially if the hostel is busy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lincolnlass28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

We spent New Year at Wells YHA which is the cleanest and best equipped of the half a dozen hostels stayed at. Peter the manager called prior to our visit to make us feel welcome and was flexible on us getting their slightly early which was great as the 8 families were travelling some distance and were not sure of arrival time. The hostel has some great rooms, lounge with great selection of Every Disney video for the kids, a DVD player and loads of books for the kids. There was also a quiet room which was perfect for our new born babies to be fed in piece. The added bonus was the games room with giant Jenga, Connect 4, air hockey, table tennis (both table top but still good), plus loads of other games. This was the saviour room with 9 2-4 year olds running around. Well equipped kitchen and good size dining also made meal times easy. It's a great location close to town, beach, playground and walks. Great pubs surround the hostel and I can say we all had a great time. Peter the manager was supposed to be on holiday but was always available when we had a question. Highly recommend staying here for the great surrounding beaches, walks and lovely villages.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

I have stayed in many U.K hostels. This is one of the best. It is very clean, beautifully decorated and has everything you could need. Very good for kids, walkers and couples. Lots of rooms to relax in. Very well run by friendly managers. Wells is beautiful. A fantastic sandy beach is a lovely mile walk away.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellshostelmanager, Manager at YHA Wells-next-the-sea, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments. Im very pleased that you were happy with the facilities and you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

A good, clean hostel in an excellent location within easy walking distance of the quayside and local pubs and restaurants. Facilities were very good, bathrooms were clean with good showers. Ample parking - even in carnival weekend. Only drawback was the nearby church bells ringing loudly throughout the night, but would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 606gerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellshostelmanager, Manager at YHA Wells-next-the-sea, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Dear Guest
I really do appreciate all of your kind words and comments .Church bells can be a little annoying so I know where you coming from but fortunately bells exercises occur on Sundays and Tuesdays evenings only. Thank you for taking the time to review YHA Well's and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells-next-the-Sea
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walsingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
6.8 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lifeboat Inn
The Lifeboat Inn
#16 of 26 in Wells-next-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Wells-next-the-sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wells-next-the-sea

Property: YHA Wells-next-the-sea
Address: Church Plain, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Wells-next-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Wells-next-the-sea 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wells Youth Hostel, situated on the outskirts of thisfriendly Norfolk fishing village, is set within easy strikingdistance of the North Norfolk Coastal Path, a boat ride tovisit the local seal colony, and Salt Marshes teamingwith bird life.The hostel building, formerly the St Nicholas ChurchHall, was converted during 2002, making this one of themore recent additions to our network. It currentlycomprises 31 beds (including 3 doubles) on two floors,with comfortable 2, 3, & 4 bedrooms, on Church Plain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA Wells-next-the-sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Wells-Next-The-Sea Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing