We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Youth Hostel I've stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Wells-next-the-sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Ok I don't stay in that many Youth Hostels but this one was excellent. Fitted out fairly recently I would guess. The bunk beds were long enough for me 6'4". Some rooms with double beds. Facilities very good and 5 minutes walk from centre of village and some excellent hostelries. Visited with group of 24 and had the place to ourselves.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

we booked this hostel as a base while walking the norfolk coastal path .wells to cromer section. what a little gem this place is. we arrived and were greeted by peter who was very polite and friendly . the hostel has had a total modernization with fantastic power showers and very clean facilities. well stocked kitchen and comfy tv room. a perfect base with great coasthopper bus service for the coast walk.

Room Tip: all rooms of high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stefan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I booked Wells YHA out for a 2-night school group visit at the start of July. Having lead many school trips at various YHA sites this was the best I have experienced. It was well set up for a school group with space to have classroom sessions along with space for the students to relax and watch TV. The kitchen was well equipped and we were able to cook breakfast for 26 people. The rooms were comfortable and the bunk beds were modern and easy to climb to the top, much better than the older bunks in some hostels. Overall it was a very good trip and I would hope to use this Youth Hostel for future visits, both with school and as an individual. The location is also very good, with just a short walk to the seafront at Wells, which is a lovely place. Hunstanton and Sheringham are quite accessible along the coast in either direction.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank MLambert51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The YHA hostel at Wells-next-the-sea is a great place to stay for families. The family rooms are clean and comfortable, the showers warm and the kitchen well-equipped. Wells beach is just down the road, and there is no better place to spend a day with kids.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Char9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

The YHA at Wells-next-the-sea is a return to a traditional YHA. however that is not all. It is spotlessly clean, well maintained with lots of modern comforts and really fantastic showers. We bprebooked the disabled facilities and the fact that this YHA has them, makes it a must for anyone wanting the YHA experience but with a disability. A great welcome from the Warden Piotr who has lots of local knowledge and interst in the YHA. Will be back again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

stayed here one night as didn't fancy camping,the hostel is in fantastic condition,clean and perfect,i was so pleased I joined the yha,the fella that booked me in was great,
will try and return again when there is room,,

Room Tip: had a room to myself,fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank russell1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We spent a long weekend in Norfolk and very much enjoyed this hostel. It was immaculate all through with a very modern decor and efficiently laid out spotless kitchen. The beds were very comfortable and it was a delight to go to sleep under the stars seen through the skylight window.
There were a couple ok comfortable lounges with a range of books and games to borrow.
Wells is close to beaches for walks and good shops and restaurants.
I can thoroughly recommend this place and will return soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells-next-the-Sea
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
715 reviews
19.3 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
776 reviews
15.1 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Stiffkey Red Lion
Stiffkey Red Lion
#1 of 1 in Stiffkey
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Quay B&B
The Quay B&B
#10 of 24 in Wells-next-the-Sea
53 reviews
7.1 mi away
Deepdale Backpackers & Camping
Deepdale Backpackers & Camping
#1 of 1 in Burnham Deepdale
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Wells-next-the-sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wells-next-the-sea

Address: Church Plain, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Wells-next-the-Sea
Price Range: £16 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Wells-next-the-sea 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wells Youth Hostel, situated on the outskirts of thisfriendly Norfolk fishing village, is set within easy strikingdistance of the North Norfolk Coastal Path, a boat ride tovisit the local seal colony, and Salt Marshes teamingwith bird life.The hostel building, formerly the St Nicholas ChurchHall, was converted during 2002, making this one of themore recent additions to our network. It currentlycomprises 31 beds (including 3 doubles) on two floors,with comfortable 2, 3, & 4 bedrooms, on Church Plain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your YHA Wells-next-the-sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Wells-Next-The-Sea Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing