We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FEELING WELL IN WELLS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Wells-next-the-sea
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“FEELING WELL IN WELLS”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Ok, let's get the very few negatives out of the way first. I stayed in this youth hostel for the whole of last week and my one major gripe is that it doesn't offer free wifi. This might not have been such an issue had it not been so hard to catch a signal indoors. I found that all over The North Norfolk Coast a signal was intermittent, and that was with two different networks. The good news is that along with all the other amenities, the public library, which offers wifi even if you are a non-resident, is within about ten minutes walk from the hostel. You may want to take your earplugs as the bedroom doors are noisy on opening and closing. On the plus side, first of all the hostel is well managed by a very pleasant and amenable manager. His assistant is also very polite and helpful. The hostel is clean and fresh looking inside. There are good power showers, though it does get very hot and steamy inside the cubicles. I never went into the lounge with the television, as I preferred to sit and read in the Quiet Room, which is great if you require some personal space. The front exterior of the building is very attractive, sporting a rounded Dutch gable. It is easy to get around the coast without a car on the Coasthopper, a bus that runs up and down it daily. The small town itself is very attractive and feels quite gentrified. There aren't a lot of places to eat out but we cooked in the hostel virtually every night, so that was not an issue for us. There were no groups staying while we were there - I would imagine the kitchen could get very crowded if there were. If flexible with your dates, you might want to find out in advance how busy the hostel is expected to be.

Room Tip: The rooms are all close to lavatories and showers. Whatever your particular requirements, I would em...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    13
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
18
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stamford
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Restful atmosphere and a sparkling clean hostel on a characterful street makes this one of my favourite UK hostels. Cheery staff, above average facilities for this price range, and a secure place for the cycle. For a short seaside break in Norfolk, this is the place.

Room Tip: They all seem good, don't worry, just get booked in otherwise it'll be full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Many thanks to Mark for making my stay so wonderful.

I've trained Customer Service in some pretty high profile organisations, so I know a desire for Excellence when I see it!

From Daniel's enthusiastic greeting on my first night, his help and advice on places to eat and places to see, to my spotless room and equally spotless facilities to Mark's humour and friendliness on my last morning....everything was perfection.

I would/will most certainly return and will be telling all my "travel buddies" about YHA Wells Next The Sea.

Well done Mark and Daniel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Mollygirlfriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Wow!! What a wonderful youth hostel! Extremely clean. Bedroom was lovely and the beds were very comfy. Showers were great. Mark the manager couldn't have been more helpful. Wells is a gorgeous little place! Crabbing with our little boys was a big hit! Will definitely return!!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank CLMcP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Thought I would get my motorbike out. Rather than A to B then back again I thought a longer ride and then stay over, don't know why I chose wells but really glad I did. This place is a credit to both the Yha and Peter/Piotr who runs the place. Showers all work, are spotless and really hot and powerfull ,beds are clean and comfy,rooms very clean,kitchen clean and well equipped and lots of space to chill in (or watch t v). I think what stands out at this hostel is the effort that has gone into creating a very warm and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

With a group of friends, we have been using the YHA Escape To idea of renting a youth hostel for several years now. We hire a hostel for New Year every other year.This year we hired Wells next the sea hostel and it proved to be a great choice.

The accomodation is excellent. Nice size bedrooms, great showers and a good range of other rooms to relax in.

The current manager - Piotr - was extremely helpful and friendly.

Wells is a lovely little town with great facilities.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BennyDiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sainte-Hermine, France
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Ok I don't stay in that many Youth Hostels but this one was excellent. Fitted out fairly recently I would guess. The bunk beds were long enough for me 6'4". Some rooms with double beds. Facilities very good and 5 minutes walk from centre of village and some excellent hostelries. Visited with group of 24 and had the place to ourselves.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells-next-the-Sea
5.4 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,326 reviews
9.8 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
812 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Quay B&B
The Quay B&B
#11 of 25 in Wells-next-the-Sea
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#8 of 25 in Wells-next-the-Sea
369 reviews
7.9 mi away
The George Hotel Cley
The George Hotel Cley
#3 of 6 in Cley Next the Sea
460 reviews
7.1 mi away
Deepdale Backpackers & Camping
Deepdale Backpackers & Camping
#1 of 1 in Burnham Deepdale
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Wells-next-the-sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wells-next-the-sea

Property: YHA Wells-next-the-sea
Address: Church Plain, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Wells-next-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Wells-next-the-sea 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wells Youth Hostel, situated on the outskirts of thisfriendly Norfolk fishing village, is set within easy strikingdistance of the North Norfolk Coastal Path, a boat ride tovisit the local seal colony, and Salt Marshes teamingwith bird life.The hostel building, formerly the St Nicholas ChurchHall, was converted during 2002, making this one of themore recent additions to our network. It currentlycomprises 31 beds (including 3 doubles) on two floors,with comfortable 2, 3, & 4 bedrooms, on Church Plain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your YHA Wells-next-the-sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Wells-Next-The-Sea Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing