We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice little cheap tariff break”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice little cheap tariff break”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Had a very nice stay at the Crown on a Sunday night at its special rate for winter, room lovely , great power shower - staff very helpful and kind, the ground floor of the hotel has been decorated beautifully, lots of stairs if staying on top floor , the only problem we had was the meal in the evening took quite a long time to get to us , but I think it was because there did not seem enough staff and there were quite a few guests eating in the restaurant , but they were very apologetic , great breakfast with a good choice of things to eat including smoked salmon and scrambled egg, good place to base yourself, as the surrounding area is wonderful , would recommend The Crown.

Room Tip: If a problem with stairs , ask for first floor rooms, also steps inside bedrooms which may be diffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bredek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly E, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed our Sunday Rate Special but am disappointed by your comments about the meal. You can be assured that I will investigate
Thank you for taking the time to review us and we look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    187
    43
    30
    12
See reviews for
128
400
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from two nights spent at this well run and welcoming hotel in Norfolk. We stayed on a dinner,bed and breakfast break with our elderly terrier. We were made to feel most welcome by the young lady Manager, who greeted us. We were in room 5, which overlooks the Buttlands and is tastefully decorated with a large, comfortable bed. Our dog had her own towel complete with large Bonio!
Food here is very tasty, we had the steak for two one night - which I would really recommend. Nothing is too much trouble here, with my husband having his part of the shared platter cooked exactly as he likes it, with me the same. At Breakfast, there is a good selection from the buffet and also a very good quality "full English"! Again, the young lady came with a sausage for our dog, wrapped up in foil.....
The whole ambience of the hotel and it's young staff can be throughly recommended for a short break in winter. Ps the individual shops in the town are well worth a look too!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cruglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly E, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review - it was an absolute pleasure to look after yourselves and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed for a week in this well run ,slightly quirky ,and comfortable hotel. Happy atmosphere ,good food, well trained staff. ,The Manager of this hotel is a genius, knows how a hotel should really be run.
.
Book a break here you wont regret it.

[ No lift so be prepared to climb stairs].

Room Tip: next time we will book 1st floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRSCHECKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly E, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. It was a great pleasure looking after you and we look forward to welcoming you back next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Had an excellent family dinner here in October 2013 to celebrate our sons birthday. There were 7 of us so we had a great opportunity to sample a range of the menu. The food was lovely and the service attentive and friendly. We will definitely return and will be recomending the Crown to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly E, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your great feedback - my team take great passion in delivery high standards and I am very pleased to hear your celebrations were a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay and can't wait to go back.

We live by the sea side but this has a lovely relaxed feel to it. I loved the hotel room, tastefully decorated and comfortable.

The staff were friendly and professional.

The breakfast included some of the best bacon I have ever eaten. Lovely!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly E, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review - it is always great to here positive feedback and that my team our continuing to provide an excellent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton keynes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Sarah and I stayed here for a couple of nights for a much needed break with our dog Mr Badger. We had a really relaxing stay thanks to all the staff. Our room (5) was large and extremely comfortable and overlooked the Butlands - a peaceful square. The service was fabulous and all the food was fresh, plentiful and totally delicious... I can really recommend the scallop and black pudding starter( divine). It seemed that nothing was too much trouble for the very friendly staff. Mr Badger thoroughly enjoyed his stay and says he was surprised but delighted to be able to eat with his parents downstairs in the bar and was even given a snack or two as well! All in all a rather fantastic gem of a hotel... and a great team of dedicated staff. Thank you for making our stay so relaxing and enjoyable. We already have plans to return .......

Room Tip: Room 5 very large room at front of the hotel. Lovely large and VERY comfortable bed. Small but compa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet1Miltonkeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We haven't stayed at the Crown for a couple of years, but it always seems to maintain its charm in this idyllic of seaside towns. We were only staying for a couple of nights but were really looking forward to our mini break with the children, one, aged 3 and a half, the other, nine months. We were booked into the family room, which is two rooms, so the kids get their own space. Our eldest daughter thought having her own telly was excellent!

We were welcomed by the manager, Kelly. An enthusiastic, charming and incredibly energetic manager, who seems to have the answer to everything you could want to know about the food, the wine, Wells, you name it! Our eldest daughter put her in the same category as Mary Poppins, praise indeed! Kelly, and the rest of the staff, were friendly and wonderfully professional.

We had several meals there, I'm fit to burst, all were excellent. The children were well catered for too, with high tea served at 5.30.

It's great being parents, but you never totally relax when you have children, but being at the Crown we came pretty close!

We'll be back.

Room Tip: The Family room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Whiteley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells-next-the-Sea
5.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
9.7 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walsingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
15.0 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
14.5 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: The Buttlands, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wells-next-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel - the perfect place to retreat, relax and refresh in beautiful north Norfolk Big blue skies, sandy beaches stretching away into eternity, desolate salt marshes rich in wildlife, picturesque villages and quaint seaside resorts - north Norfolk is the undoubted jewel in East Anglia's glittering crown. And if you're looking to experience the natural wonders offered by the north coast of one of England's remotest counties, you need cast your eyes no further than The Crown Hotel. A former coaching inn, the hotel is tucked away on the edge of a tranquil tree-lined green in the fishing port of Wells-next-the-Sea. Recently refurbished to enhance its existing historic features, whilst still retaining a warm and welcoming ambience, The Crown has 12 luxury en-suite bedrooms. Each is equipped with a flat-screen TV and DVD player and uniquely and individually decorated to create a warm and welcoming home-from-home atmosphere. The hotel has two family suites with separate children's rooms and baby-monitoring facilities, and in some rooms you can even have your dog to stay. Downstairs, guests and diners can select from a sumptuous and varied menu which makes superb use of the finest and freshest seasonal produce, courtesy of the hotel's proprietor, New Zealand-born chef Chris Coubrough and his kitchen team. Whether you choose to eat in The Crown's front restaurant, the spacious orangery or one of our two lounge rooms, you're sure of a culinary experience that will linger long on the tongue, and even longer in the memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Wells-Next-The-Sea, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing