We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful beach and dunes in north Norfolk UK”

Holkham National Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Windswept tidelines, a maze of creeks and saltings, miles of dunes and sandspits, shady pinewoods, green pastures and grazing marshes, the mix of habitats and the blend of wildlife confirm Holkham National Nature Reserve as a unique place.
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This is a truly spectacular piece of Britain....after parking up and taking our provisions with us (picnic blankets a must, + picnics, buckets & spades, shoes for walking on wet sand, drinks and if you're feeling brave, swimsuits and/or wetsuits) my son and I enjoyed a wonderful walk through a pine forest on constructed pathway, then along the sand to reach the sand dunes lining the beach for miles. The beach at Holkham seems to stretch for miles and the sand dunes are fantastic for picnicking on or as my 8 year old son did, performing multiple stunt rolls down the hills. A must for visitors to north Norfolk. Just be prepared to go to the toilet au natural as there are no loos to be found anywhere near Holkham Beach.

1  Thank Mealneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurane H, Public Relations Manager at Holkham National Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

This sounds as if you had the perfect visit to our beach and thank you for posting your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"car park"
in 63 reviews
"sand dunes"
in 33 reviews
"bird watchers"
in 11 reviews
"unspoilt beach"
in 9 reviews
"long walk"
in 19 reviews
"vast beach"
in 6 reviews
"dog walking"
in 8 reviews
"great walk"
in 10 reviews
"kite flying"
in 5 reviews
"north norfolk"
in 15 reviews
"pay to park"
in 5 reviews
"pine trees"
in 10 reviews
"low tide"
in 12 reviews
"lovely place"
in 11 reviews
"miles and miles"
in 7 reviews
"vast expanse"
in 5 reviews
"dogs are allowed"
in 5 reviews
Filter

342 - 346 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

excellent walk around the lake well posted great information around the trail good facilities on site

1  Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurane H, Public Relations Manager at Holkham National Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your walk around the lake in Holkham Park and thank you for the great comments about the nature trail panels.
Did you take on the challenge to do the nature trail quiz too?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We love the walk through the pines down to the sea. My only quibble is the expensive car park fee which applies 24/7 so our hour-long walk cost £2. I think this is excessive, specially as there are no facilities (loos etc)

Thank Dozival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurane H, Public Relations Manager at Holkham National Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor about our beautiful coastline and nature reserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

The nature reserve is beautiful, the beach is unfortunately stone/shingle, which my poor old dog struggles to walk on, so she had sit this one out.

Marshes, dunes, beach and wooded areas, what more could you really ask for, totally unspolit.

You have to pay for parking, which is expected, but its not overly expensive.

A little further down the road is Well next to the sea, a super cute little town, its main street has about 20 shops that cover pretty much everything that you would need, including the essential crab line!!!

A very pretty place to spend a few hours, just wandering, beware the sea breeze though, boy did it burn my face!

1  Thank Ezzy2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurane H, Public Relations Manager at Holkham National Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Many thanks for posting your review on our beautiful coastline. It's a great place any time of the year as you discovered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Car parking £2 for the hour, so you need to pay more if you intend to go off for several hours. Great walk into Wells next Sea for a bite to eat and a drink before returning to the reserve.

2  Thank Rickers70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurane H, Public Relations Manager at Holkham National Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

It sounds like you had the perfect day - Thank you for your comments and review of our beautiful coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holkham National Nature Reserve also viewed

Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 

Been to Holkham National Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing