We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful lunch!”
Review of The Globe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Globe Inn
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

First trip since being refurbished , and all looks brilliant. Welcomed by very friendly staff we ordered the seafood platter for two which was to die for! .... Very impressed with the rest room and loved the touch of a glass panel to view the cellar pumps . Will be back soon .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lookseeengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGlobeatWells, General Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for your lovely review. Our seafood platter is proving particularly popular; featuring Wells crab from our very own Quay & plenty of delicious fresh fish, I'm pleased to hear it was a hit again.
Glad you enjoyed our new loos/cellar...we love them too! Proud of our 'new look' Globe, Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    94
    38
    27
    13
See reviews for
82
188
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Diss, Norfolk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My mum and I stayed at the Globe in the first week of April this year. It was a return visit for a 3 day break. We had enjoyed our stay previously so were more that happy to come back again. Same high quality tasty food and welcoming atmosphere as before. It really is a great location to stay in Wells with just a stroll down to the Quay and the shops, and with the Coast hopper bus stop just on the doorstep. The Globe was undergoing refurbishment whilst we were there and I'm sure once finished it will only enhance the place even more. The Manager is an ultra efficient but friendly lady who sorted out a problem with our bill at the end of our stay both quickly and without issue - great customer service. Will look forward to coming back to the Globe in the very near future.

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the Buttlands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thorny247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGlobeatWells, Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
We're so happy that you have returned and will be returning again to spend a great few days at The Globe. The refurbishment is complete and as you can see from the imagery at the top of this page, all is looking lovely, peaceful and comfortable. Thank you for your kind review, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thame, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Globe last week on a short break with our dog. Our dog-friendly room was beautifully furnished, with nice details such as bowls and treats for the dog. Great location on a quiet green close to the centre of Wells and the quay, with excellent food and tip-top ale. The Globe has just undergone what looks to be a major refurbishment, is great value for money and we could not have been more pleased with the whole experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark_carter65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGlobeatWells, Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thanks for this lovely review, we very much enjoyed your staying with us and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

It was my wedding anniversary... my wife and I both love the Norfolk coast, but want something more enticing than a B'n'B break, and having plenty of experience of Wells-next-to-the-Sea, we knew that the Globe would be somewhere we fancied staying.
The LOCATION is amazing, the views from our bedroom, looked out over the quaint village green , surrounded by mature trees and elegant buildings, frequented occasionally by happy looking families, enjoying quiet picnics and each others company. It is only 5 minutes stroll from the harbor, where there are a selection of interesting shops, a couple of lovely coffee shops and if you are a chip shop lover, they have the very best of those too!
The SERVICE made our stay, it is so nice to be treated so well, by people who love their job, and have passion for the place in which they work. Everyone we met seemed genuinely interested in making sure we were happy. They all knew about my wedding anniversary, even though it had been mentioned in passing, we even found a lovely anniversary card in our room upon arrival too, which was very welcoming!
The FOOD was amazing, I am well fed, and have an executive chef for a brother, so I am not easily impressed by poor fare! We decided to eat at the Globe every night of our stay, that is how good it is!
A summary my wife made was 'If you visit Wells, do not stay anywhere else, and if you can not afford the Globe, wait until you can, it is just wonderful, Everyone we met, made us feel welcome, there was not one down side to our stay'

Room Tip: Choose Room 1 , it is like a small and luxurious private flat, although we were fortunate to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vespa-couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGlobeatWells, Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Well, what a great review, thank you! We enjoyed having you to stay, the more so as it was your wedding anniversary. A very special time in any couple's life and an honour when you choose to entrust your special occasion with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed in March for a birthday celebration. The location of the hotel is good. Parking can be at a premium depending on what time you arrive but as there is parking all around the green it should not be too problematic to find a space somewhere very close. The staff were welcoming and we didn’t find it a problem to work around the renovations that were ongoing when we were there. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and decorated to a high standard. Watch out for the water it is extremely hot and in the Holkholm suite, also watch out for the shower head, when my husband adjusted the height it fell out of the holder hitting him in the face.
Although it didn’t bother us we could hear the music being played in the bar coming through the floorboards; it did however bother our friends who were staying in a different room at the other end of the hotel. It could be something to do with the speakers being placed high in the bar area but if you don’t like sound transmission book a room either at the back or middle or the hotel.
As mentioned, work was still ongoing whilst we were there and it may be that more soft furnishings are now in place but we all found the ‘church pew’ seating quite hard and the sounds didn’t get absorbed in the bar areas so it was quite noisy. We had stayed before and did actually miss the ‘snug’ atmosphere of having a couch and low tables for alternative seating as the bay seating areas are now taken solely with large tables so if you are not in a big group it could be a little ‘intimidating’. At busy times you could also end up sitting / eating with strangers which personally we don’t particularly like [& no, we are not antisocial!].
The food was to a high standard and we all enjoyed the evening meal and the breakfast. There was a good choice for both and the service was faultless. However, as a group of four we were shown to quite a small table in the dining room and whilst not initially a problem it was when the food came as we ended up putting wine bottle/ tea pot and condiments on the floor! So perhaps the large tables might be better in the dining room as we could only see one large table in there and at breakfast this was what was used to put cereals / accompaniments on. Interestingly I popped back through the dining room after breakfast and our table was set for two which in my view was more suited to the size of it, so maybe our predicament was noted and it won’t happen to others.
One other negative relates to the lighting, we were a little disappointed with the ambiance in the evening as it was extremely bright in the restaurant. A dimmer or two wouldn’t go amiss and in we all thought with wall lighting the overhead spots were not needed. Overall though we enjoyed our stay, it is a good base for walking and the setting is peaceful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toffesocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGlobeatWells, Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thanks for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with friends with us. We have addressed the problem with the shower head and are in the process of dealing with the speaker in the floor of your friends' room. We have lots more soft furnishings now, the dimmers are on the lights in the bar and we have smaller tables for diners. You all had such a lovely walking holiday together and we were glad to help by providing photocopies of all your maps!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The newly refurbished bedrooms & bathrooms are very nicely done. The bed was extremely comfortable (its surprising how often this isn't the case). Doggie treats with a bed and bowls are provided for the £10 per night doggie fee. The Globe is situated on a pretty green towards the back of Wells. Although it doesn't have its own parking, there is usually plenty of on street parking during the winter, but in the school holidays or summer season it may be difficult to park outside the hotel before 4.30-5pm. The food was extremely good. I have to mention the caramelised lemon tart I had for dessert one evening - it was so tasty. Breakfast was very substantial if you wished and included Eggs Benedict and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, plus all the usual options. It was slightly off-putting to arrive and see lots of "staff wanted" signs in the window, but I can only assume this is because they probably have quite high standards, judging by all those we did meet, who were exceptionally helpful and good at what they were doing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGlobeatWells, Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We're so happy that you were pleased with everything and enjoyed the full Globe Experience. Thanks for the kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntwood, Staffs
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

As Bernard Matthews used to say. But this hotel is no turkey! We have just spent a very enjoyable three nights there and would happily have stayed longer. The refurbishments to the main building are still ongoing but are due to finish by Easter. They in no away detracted from our enjoyment of our stay. Our room was comfortable and decorated in excellent taste with top quality materials ( duck down quilt and pillows,beautifully tiled bathroom etc. We were on DBB basis and meals were plentiful and delicious. Staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful.
This is a lovely welcoming hotel which deserves to succeed in it's ambitious plans for extension.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have pleasant views over the green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scholarsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGlobeatWells, Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for ALL your positive feedback. Come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells-next-the-Sea
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
9.7 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walsingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
6.9 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Globe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Globe Inn

Property: The Globe Inn
Address: The Buttlands | Norfolk, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Wells-next-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking a pretty, leafy Georgian square in the bustling seaside town of Wells-next-the-Sea, The Globe Inn is a great base for a break on the beautiful north Norfolk coast or an ideal spot for a pint of beer and some simple, home cooked food. Accredited with 4 stars and a silver award by Enjoy England, the Inn offers exceptional quality in all areas. We are also proud to have been approved by the Visit England Cyclists Welcome, Walkers Welcome and Welcome Pets schemes. There is a sun-filled courtyard for alfresco eating and dining and a perfect spot to read your morning paper whilst having breakfast. Take a short walk down Staithe Street to the quay and you’ll see fishermen setting out on a good tide for inshore crab, whelk and the passing sea trout and bass. The town offers a central base for the nearby beautiful Holkham Beach with more than four miles of golden sand, and the world-class bird watching sites of the Holkham Nature Reserve, Cley-next-Sea and Titchwell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Globe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Globe Hotel Wells-Next-The-Sea
The Globe Inn Wells-Next-The-Sea, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing