We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little gem”
other travellers have booked this property
Greylag Cottage - traditional listed 1825 flint cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Greylag Cottage - traditional listed 1825 flint cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Greylag Cottage - traditional listed 1825 flint cottage
Comfy leather suite added April 2018
Dining area
Cosy evenings with the woodburner
Roaring fire for those cold evenings!
Linen and towels included
Beach hut deatils - double room
Twin bedroom overlooking the garden - can be configured as a double
Looks inviting
Well equipped kitchen with lots of little extras
Welcome tray - all part of the service
Bathroom with over- bath shower
Garden looking back towards the summer house and cottage
Country garden
A stone's throw from the Quay
Summer house - ideal for Spring and Autumn breaks
It's Christmas!
Wells beach - nothing quite like it and in easy reach from cottage
Holkham Beach - just a few miles from Wells. Great for walks, riding, kite flying, zorbing!
Greylag Cottage is only a stone's throw from Wells quay
Beach huts on Wells beach
Holkham Hall - great day out with something for everyone
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jonix2015
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 26 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Staying at Greylag was a superb experience in every way. The tastefully furnished cottage is in a great location, and has been very generously equipped. We very much appreciated the quantity of elegant crockery and cutlery. Having stayed in many holiday cottages over the years, I have never found one with such attention to detail, even providing batteries and string!
Wells is a wonderful base for the beautiful North Norfolk coast, with great walking from the door a delightful old fashioned high street of shops and good places to eat. We will be back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2015
Thanks so much for taking the the time to review Greylag Cottage and for your kind comments. It's really good to know that the little extras are appreciated. I always base things on what I'd like to find in somewhere that I stay with my own family and, to me, Greylag is my home from home. Only difference is that Greylag has a dishwasher and I don't! Your also right about the position of the cottage being good for exploring locally. There really is such a lot on the doorstep and you can do an awful lot without driving for miles. I hope that I can welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob w
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“warm and well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 7 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

When we arrived at Greylag cottage it was freezing cold February day,but as we opened the front door we were greeted by a house that was warm through out.The cottage was clean and well equipped,right down to matches and fire lighters for the log burner.Walk on the beach to Holkham village and have coffee and cake at The Vic.Eat and drink at The Golden Fleece on the harbour.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2015
Thanks so much for taking the time to review Greylag Cottage and for your kind words. You certainly needed the wood burner so I am glad that you were able to make use of it. I hope to be able to welcome you back to the cottage on another occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
touristSh...
sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

very lovely cottage in fantastic location
Spotless, very well equipped with lots of lovely touches including welcome pack, wine biscuits, milk, tea coffee and chocs! Very welcoming.
Cosy in winter
Beds comfortable, singles a bit narrow but no problem
Bathroom downstairs
Would highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2015
Happy New Year to you! Many thanks for taking time to write a review of Greylag Cottage. I'm so pleased that you like the cottage and particularly pleased to hear that you found it spotless. Yes, the beds in the twin room are 2 foot 6 inches which can feel a bit narrow but I hope this didn't mar your stay. I hope you enjoyed your New Year celebrations and look forward to welcoming you back to Greylag Cottage in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattRyder
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Lovely retreat”
Reviewed 20 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Beautiful littlw cottage in a fantastic location near the harbour and the lovely restaurants!! Cottage was so clean and well equipped and the log burner was lovely on a cold night. Thoroughly recommend this cottage to anyone who wants to get away for a while.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2014
Thanks so much for your review. I'm so pleased that you liked the cottage and particularly pleased to hear that it was clean - my new lady who looks after the place will be very pleased! I hope that I can welcome you to Greylag Cottage on another occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted6667
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable, cosy cottage”
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I enjoyed a week in Wells, made much more enjoyable by this excellent base.
The cottage had everything we needed; it is really well equipped, the bed was very comfortable and ithe whole places is spotlessly clean. We also made good use of the garden, which was a perfect place to relax and read after a good walk. As the weather was good we never needed to use the wood burner, which was a disappointment in a way.
The harbour is only a short walk away and the excellent Crab house cafe even nearer.
All in all we would be very happy to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall charm of the cottage
Liked least: Bathroom downstairs but this did not really bother us
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2014
Many thanks for your review of Greylag Cottage. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Wells and that the cottage met your holiday needs. I hope to be able to welcome you back on another occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca M
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful, homely cottage with everything you need in a stunning location.”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at this cottage twice now and would definitely return again. The cottage itself is very comfortable and clean and has everything you could possibly need for a relaxing holiday. Our two young children loved their cosy bedroom at the back of the cottage, with beautiful views of the fields and pinewoods that lead down to the sea.
The kitchen is fully equipped with all the mod-cons you could need. We especially loved the little welcome gestures like milk, tea and biscuits on arrival.
The location of the cottage is perfect - a very short stroll to the quayside, shops, pubs and restaurants. Parking was never a problem - we usually got parked in the road outside the cottage but there is also a long stay car park just down the road.
Can't recommend this cottage highly enough. I wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting Wells!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feel of the cottage - a home from home!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Greylag Cottage and I am so pleased that you have enjoyed your stays at the cottage. It's always good to hear when we do things well and keep our customers happy. It was a pleasure to be able to host you and your family for your first visit to Wells and even better that you decided to return the next year. We hope to see you again some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick d
Colyton
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect for winter wildlife or summer seaside fun”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Greylag Cottage is conveniently located near the harbour at Wells-next-the Sea and is perfect for birders, photographers and other wildlife enthusiasts looking to enjoy the fantastic wildlife of the north Norfolk coastline. It's literally minutes from Holkham Hall and other birding hotspots. The thousands of geese and other winter wildfowl that congregate here are an awesome spectacle. What's more, visitors will find seals down the coast at Blakeney Point and there's even a resident barn owl in the field behind the cottage!

The cottage itself is cosy but can accommodate up to four people. It's well appointed and very tasteful and makes a perfect base for exploring the local area. The welcome pack is a nice touch. Definitely recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and style of the cottage.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2014
Many thanks for your kind words about Greylag Cottage and pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to make the most of the wonderful bird and wildlife that North Norfolk has to offer. Will have a think about the elements where we didn't quite make a five star rating and see what we can do about them!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing