We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect holiday cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Greylag Cottage - traditional listed 1825 flint cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Greylag Cottage - traditional listed 1825 flint cottage
Traditional flint cottage refurbished to a high standard Cosy sitting room with TV / DVD, Wood burner, Wireless broadband
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Greylag Cottage - traditional listed 1825 flint cottage
Traditional flint cottage refurbished to a high standard
Cosy sitting room with TV / DVD, Wood burner, Wireless broadband
Comfy leather suite added April 2018
Dining area
Cosy evenings with the woodburner
Roaring fire for those cold evenings!
Linen and towels included
Beach hut deatils - double room
Twin bedroom overlooking the garden - can be configured as a double
Looks inviting
Well equipped kitchen with lots of little extras
Welcome tray - all part of the service
Summer house - ideal for Spring and Autumn breaks
Bathroom with over- bath shower
Garden looking back towards the summer house and cottage
Country garden
Holkham Beach - just a few miles from Wells. Great for walks, riding, kite flying, zorbing!
A stone's throw from the Quay
Wells beach - nothing quite like it and in easy reach from cottage
Greylag Cottage is only a stone's throw from Wells quay
Beach huts on Wells beach
Holkham Hall - great day out with something for everyone
It's Christmas!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
StamfordH...
Stamford, Lincolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We loved this cottage. Visually it is super sweet and the photos on here are true to how it looks. The living room is snug but was the ideal size for us to relax and also to contain our lively 18 month old twins! Great, well equipped kitchen which has all you could possibly need. If you want to do any cooking/baking whilst here, I don't think you'll be missing anything needed. Lovely back garden with summer house. Sitting outside with a glass of wine listening to all the birds was really relaxing. Master bedroom is nicely decorated and has a fabulously comfortable bed. Not sure if it was just the bed or the sea air but I slept much better here than at home. The smaller room has a beautiful view across the marshes. Our toddlers obviously didn't appreciate this but the room was ideal for them. There isn't allocated parking with the cottage but we had no problems parking on the street. Last of all, the location is spot on. Just a minute or two to walk into the heart of Wells, but far enough removed to be nice and quiet. Thoroughly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
Thanks so much for youre review. It's great when guests take time to write in detail to help other guests decide on whether to stay at Greylag Cottage. So pleased that you've booked again for next year! Jessica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
touristSh...
sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay at this delightful cottage”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent 2 bedrooms cottage. Our second stay was as lovely as the year before......
Tea, coffee, milk, wine and chocolates provided. Very clean and very well equipped kitchen. Bedding and towels provided.
Highly recommended
Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
Thanks once again for taking the time to review Greylag Cottage. Great to hear that you had another good New Year at the cottage and that everything was to your liking. Always good to hear that the little extras make a difference. Great to hear the cottage was clean - my lady Rachel will be very pleased to hear your comments.

If you are planning a North Norfolk New Year in 2016, let me know, though the cottage is only available from NYE itself this year.

Thanks again.

Jessica

P. S. The starter pack is provided for all guests, including the welcome choclates, but the wine is just at Christmas and New Year! Don't want to disappoint my other guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoonyLoo
Sleepy Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 14 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Greylag Cottage is a pretty, warm and cosy cottage with everything anyone could possibly need. It's wonderfully equipped (didn't even need the rolling pin we'd brought just in case!) and the decor is attractive. A lot of thoughtfulness has gone into making it a lovely place to stay. It was a perfect refuge from the rain during our visit! The shower is very good, double bed very comfortable, there's lots of storage space, plenty of coathangers and hooks in useful places.

Close to the quay and a minute more to Staithe Street all the shops are within easy reach, and Staithe Street still has useful ones - butcher, baker, deli, hardware store and much more, as well as gift shops and galleries. Wells is a pretty town and a great place to stay with walking - use the Coast Hopper bus to go as far as you like and walk back to Wells - and fabulous birds nearby.

We'd certainly like to stay in Greylag Cottage next time we visit north Norfolk. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and ease of being there, home from home, and it's location.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2015
Many thanks for your review of Greylag Cottage - it's great to know that the little extras make a difference to our guests so thanks for sharing that feedback.

I know the rolling pin would come in useful one of these days!

I am pleased that you had a good week and it sounds like you did quite a bit of exploring both in Wells and along the coast. The Coast Hopper is a real bonus and great if you don't want to drive.

I'd certainly like to welcome you back to Greylag Cottage again so please do keep in touch.

Jessica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iain h
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wells not quite next to the sea”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cootage is well equiped & centrally located just along from the Quay. I think it would be a little cramped if 4 adults rented it. The problem with the TV was rectified the day after i reported a fault - excellent service, We thouroughly enjoyed our week here. Great walking & birdwatching. Even managed to see seals from the beach along the coast. I can recommend the local butchers & bakery. It was a bonus that the North Norfolk Food & Drink festival at Holkham Hall was on the Sunday of our visit. Well worth a visit to get an insight just what is available in North Norfolk. On street parking might be a problem in high season but it was OK in September.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: Cramped eating area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Thanks for your comments about Greylag Cottage and Wells as a whole. I'm glad you had an enjoyable stay in the area - there is such a lot to do. Apologies again for any inconvenience regarding the TV/Freesat but very pleased that this was resolved promptly and didn't impact too much on your holiday. I do hope that if you holiday again in North Norfolk, you will consider Greylag Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_dpc
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage, great location”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We found the cottage perfect for us. Great location close to the village centre so easy to walk in for the croissants and pick up the paper in the morning! Lovely rear garden overlooking the marshes and a super summer house to relax, browse the paper, read a book and have the occasional meal. The water softener much appreciated by us northerners!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Summer house
Liked least: Dining area was a bit cramped - OK for three of us
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Many thanks for your kind comments about Greylag Cottage and sorry not to reply earlier! I hope that I will be able to welcome you on another occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grumpygra...
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic little cottage”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Found it to be just as described, a true home from home. If you want to prepare a meal it's all there.
It's just off the main quay about 150/ 200 metres away. An ideal location.
Towels are provided.
If you arrive early in the morning or any morning you can park your car directly opposite as no restrictions. We left ours there all week and used the coast hopper whose bus stop is 50 m away.
Lots of walking all accessed by the buses in both directions every 30 minutes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
Thanks for taking the time to review Greylag Cottage and really pleased to hear that you liked it! Good to hear that you found the kitchen well equipped - I try to stock it with utensils etc that I might use when I am up at the cottage and add the extras as they are suggested by guests. Most recently added at the suggestion of keen cooks, some kitchen scales! Also good to hear that the Coast Hopper bus was useful and I am sure other guests will find that useful to know so thanks for that.

I do hope that we'll see you again next year!

Jessica, Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonix2015
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 26 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Staying at Greylag was a superb experience in every way. The tastefully furnished cottage is in a great location, and has been very generously equipped. We very much appreciated the quantity of elegant crockery and cutlery. Having stayed in many holiday cottages over the years, I have never found one with such attention to detail, even providing batteries and string!
Wells is a wonderful base for the beautiful North Norfolk coast, with great walking from the door a delightful old fashioned high street of shops and good places to eat. We will be back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2015
Thanks so much for taking the the time to review Greylag Cottage and for your kind comments. It's really good to know that the little extras are appreciated. I always base things on what I'd like to find in somewhere that I stay with my own family and, to me, Greylag is my home from home. Only difference is that Greylag has a dishwasher and I don't! Your also right about the position of the cottage being good for exploring locally. There really is such a lot on the doorstep and you can do an awful lot without driving for miles. I hope that I can welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing