We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well worth a visit”
other travellers have booked this property
outdoor dining
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
outdoor dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
outdoor dining
Open plan living
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
North Berwick, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mariondal...
Galashiels, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 24 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Puffin's Retreat is located centrally in the lovely seaside town of North Berwick with easy access to the many shops, bars and restaurants it has to offer.
The apartment has been tastefully re-furbished to a high standard and is very well equipped to enable preparation of meals. It is a perfect starting point for the stunning coastal walks in East Lothian. We can recommend walking the shoreline from North Berwick to Gullane. However, should the weather not be accommodating it is also a lovely small sanctuary to sit back, relax with a good book and glass of wine!
Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay there - we will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuner93
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, cosy apartment in central North Berwick”
Reviewed 25 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is a beautiful, cosy attic conversion in the centre of North Berwick - very handy for the beach and local attractions like the Scottish Sea Bird Centre. The apartment was very clean, quiet, warm, well presented and had all the amenities we could ever need for a comfortable, relaxed holiday. Thank you very much for a brilliant time in North Berwick!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
675caroli...
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent base for exploring lovely North Berwick”
Reviewed 22 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We really liked this cosy apartment. It has been cleverly and attractively fitted out - a well-equipped kitchen, nice little living area etc. It was homely and a pleasure to spend time there. Nice hot shower after a day out walking in February rain!

The location is great - just a few minutes walk to good restaurants, fish & chips, the Seabird Centre, beach etc. We recommend a walk to see the stunning Tantallon castle. We'll be back and would definitely recommend Puffin's Retreat.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenkel...
Armadale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Mini-Break”
Reviewed 19 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

couldn't be a better location for everything - you can see the beach from the lovely bay window seats, some of the best restaurants within a few minutes walk. Spotlessly clean, modern and compact apartment.

Faultless really...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hideaway”
Reviewed 7 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely place tucked away a mere amble from the beaches, harbour and sea life centre. Well kitted out and decorated, great place for a family stay. N Berwick has plenty of food and drink options to keep you happy, all on the doorstep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances38
York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bright and stylish apartment in centre of North Berwick”
Reviewed 11 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We enjoyed a lovely few days in this lovely bright and stylish apartment. It was spotlessly clean with everything you could need. The location is great - a stone's throw from the beach as well as all the shops. The friendly owners were great and always on hand by phone if we needed anything. The stairs are a little steep up to the apartment (not brilliant for my elderly mother) but we managed ok. Everything we needed for a great stay. I would not ever book directly again with holiday lettings or trip advisor. Suggest you go through Air B n B instead. Trip Advisor cancelled my booking and it was a real pain to get the cancellation fee back from them even though I didn't cancel the booking!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anonymous...
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab Seaside Pad!”
Reviewed 11 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic location in the centre of gorgeous North Berwick & only a few minutes to the East & West beaches. The decor of this loft style apartment is both contemporary and cosy. It is deceptively spacious and has everything you could possibly need for a great stay in a great location. For people new to North Berwick, we recommend Herringbones wine bar & restaurant and also the Fly Half Bar at the Nether Abbey Hotel on Dirleton Avenue (about a 10-15 min walk top of town), especially if you like fresh lobster (out of a tank!). Both have very good food & wine & are dog friendly. In the warmer months the Lobster Shack and The Rocketeer restaurant are open in the harbour & also have excellent fresh seafood. We have stayed in North Berwick many times and The Puffins Retreat is definitely our new favourite place to stay & we will definitely be back! Thanks to John & Kath for a lovely wee break last week :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;