We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice day in northberwick”
Review of The County Hotel

The County Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The County Hotel
Ranked #24 of 26 North Berwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 May 2014

cheap and cheerful,staff very friendly my wife and i only dined here food was ok .i had the fresh haddock and the mrs had chicken with haggis,there's no more to say but tripadviser require a minimum of 200.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigjoe21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

The bar is the best with this "hotel"!
The beds are awful hard and the smell from the kitchen is right in your rooms!
But it's probably the cheapest hotel in the area.
How ever the location is exellent for a golf holliday or a "city" break.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GolferfromSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Myself and my daughter went in for something to eat and was surprised once seated. There were 2 dogs in the bar/restaurant area. One was on a leash the other one was walking freely around which I wasn't comfortable with.

We ordered our meals and waited. My starter was mushrooms in a brown sauce overpowering with garlic whilst my daughters soup was like tomato juice warmed up.

Our mains arrived and the portions were huge which I am not complaining about. I had lasagne and it was rather dry and never had much taste. I hardly touched my main meal and my daughter ate some of her gammon steak and chips.
When I went to pay for the meals, I asked if my daughters meal could be wrapped up to go which it was.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank customer29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My daughter, who is a committed vegetarian, ordered the mushroom stroganoff, and it was only after taking a few mouthfuls ( the appearance is very similar ), that she realised that it was beef stroganoff, and she left the restaurant for a short period to recover from the shock.
I then asked to speak to the Manager, " Irene ", who, after supporting the suggestion by one of her waiters that it was my daughter's fault, reluctantly agreed that the waiter who took the order was at fault.
She stated that I would not be charged for the stroganoff, as if this was a personal favour to us, but was not prepared to further extend her " apology ", and basically dismissed us - Basil Fawlty lives !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
4  Thank 697DOUGLAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Me and my husband went for lunch in north berwick and were sure we picked the correct place my husband had steak pie which was out of the world and I has the mcchigfis with pepper sauce with potatoes which was very good scott looked after us we'll looked he looked very busy but was still going about with a smile on his face which was good to see. The lemon cheesecake was nice and coffee and teas were ok. Will be back soon that STEAK PIE is outstanding.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Henderson4401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Went back home to North Berwick for the day and had lunch in the County Hotel. Scot looked after us very well. It took a while for the food to come but it was worth the wait. Egg mayo baguettes and the eggs had just been boiled!!! Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank holidayhelper8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

we have stayed here twice and found it to be an ideal base for touring the area. Evening meals and breakfasts are great. Good bus service to surrounding attractions. Staff are helpful. We have recommended to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anne5surf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.4 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
25 reviews
0 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
213 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunbar
519 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
325 reviews
8.9 mi away
Royal Mackintosh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Address: 17 High Street, North Berwick EH39 4HH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in North Berwick
Price Range: £39 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Heart of North Berwick, The County Hotel is a fantastic place to stay when visiting the area. With its 10 bedrooms it is large enough to accomodate groups but small enough to maintain it's friendly traditional seaside hotel style atmosphere. We think you will love it here as many of our guests return. The locals also frequent the bar and restaurant areas contributing to the hotels friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The County Hotel North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing