We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fish and Chips”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Pub
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Enjoyed lunch here during a trip to North Berwick to watch the fantastic East Lothian Open Tennis tournament.
Lovely fish and chips, freshly prepared in a good sized portion. Service was fine and the pub is spacious inside with a few tables to the outside at both the front and rear.
Would happily return for good pub grub.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank serviceace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    139
    31
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great times”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We went several times to the Ship Inn and each time was very enjoyable. The wait staff was very friendly and even remembered us from our previous visits. Good food, great service, and a laid back pub. Perfect! And dogs are welcome too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tractx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A nice pub right in the town centre so handy for everything on your visit.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and rushed off their feet so it was nice to have a nice smile from the bar maids. We sat outside in front of the pub on one of the benches that they have there on a nice sunny day, we chose to sit here because it was in the shade, they do have an area out the back but it had all the sun, it's called the sun trap. The Ship do welcome dogs which was great for us as we had ours with us and it was good to see a large bowl filled with water for them.
I had a steak pie with veg and i must say it was perfect, so tender and the veg were cooked to perfection, my wife had squash and this too was perfect.
The only down side to our experience was that the salt and pepper pots could do with being cleaned but overall we enjoyed our meal and would visit again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good pub food......”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

There was 11 of us in our party when we visited The Ship on a Monday lunchtime. It wasn't particularly busy and service was a bit slow though maybe that was because we were a large table. We enjoyed battered fish and chips, homemade lasagne and burgers. The burgers were served in a tasty brioche bun with chips and relish on the side, only problem was bizarrely it's two small burgers in a bun- difficult to eat as they fall out when pick burger up? Why not one big juicy burger? All drinks and food must be ordered at the bar- what happened to the customer/table service? It's hard to remember 11orders and loses that personal touch that may earn your staff a tip?
Menu is good size and lots to choose from. Great choice of beers/wines too. Child and dog friendly . A nice local pub!!

Helpful?
Thank Rowaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice local pub.”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Nice pub in the centre of the town. The world cup was on when we were there so the place was busy but not packed. A good mixed age group - nice selection of beer. Worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 
North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing