We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great links course”

North Berwick Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Reputed to be the thirteenth oldest golf course in the world (founded 1832), this course stretches 6,420 yards.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great links course”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I am reluctant to praise North Berwick GC too much as it is becoming better known and therefore it may become difficult to make bookings at this course in the years to come. It is a true links style track with all the quirkiness of many of Scotland's great golf courses, undulating greens, stone walls and hidden bunkers. The course is laid out in such a way as to test the skills of all level of players. This is a must play if you are in East Lothian.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BobbyFair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    22
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“If you golf you've got to play here!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Well its the 13th oldest golf course around - no course architect its just the way it is. You are met by a gentleman that explains the layout and welcomes you - the starter gives you a few tips and a couple of marshals around the course all had were very pleasant and had a little story to tell. The course itself is exquisite and there are probably plenty of better descriptions than anything I can say. Its not cheap but well worth the green fee for the experience and views.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Thanks Malcolm!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My family played both the West Links golf course and the Children's golf course. It was our first time playing a links course and what and experience it was!
Malcolm at the front desk of the club house was very helpful with explaining the logistics of the course. I talked with him several times during that day and he was very funny, courteous, and pleasant.
The course itself was beautiful with amazing views out to the sea.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tractx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
424 reviews
178 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Lovely with nice staff.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We really enjoyed playing at The Links. It is beautiful, both the course and the views.The people there are really friendly which adds to the experience.

We would play here again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LibbyH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“RIGHT UP THERE”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had booked this trip seven months before as 36 holes playing as a 2 ball.All the staff we met were genuinely pleased to see us and treated us superbly.
A special mention to Sam Fox,who as the starter has gone off a bit since his page three days,but sneaked us out in front of 2 four balls,giving us a clear round of three and a half hours1
Lunch was then an unhurried affair,catering was superb,squeezed in a local dram Glencinchie,and then another 18.
The course was superb,at £90 for 18,but only £120 for 36 didn't seem bad value.
We ween't quite so lucky in the pm,taking 4 and 1/2 hours as some of the 4 balls in front clearly had no place on a course of this stature,but if I have to be kept waiting and the sun is shining there can't be many better spots!!
A must play before you die course

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DENTISTJEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed North Berwick Golf Club also viewed

North Berwick, East Lothian
Gullane, East Lothian
 
North Berwick, East Lothian
Dunbar, East Lothian
 

Been to North Berwick Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing