We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect 30th weekend...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
103 reviews
Alternative view of the hall
Shower room with twin hand basins
The Entrance
Front Garden leading to entrance
Small private childsafe garden
Paddling pool in the sea
Golf and Beach
Bass Rock from the beach
Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
North Berwick, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 103 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PutneyPat
UK
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A cold experience!”
Reviewed 28 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
4
people found this review helpful

The owner called me the evening before travel to say that there was no heating or hot water and that this would be fixed the morning after our arrival. It wasn’t until our last afternoon and we had no hot water at all during our stay. Not ideal when travelling with elderly in laws and a young child in mid February!

Aaran Haven is finished to a very high standard and with very good taste. It’s a tiny bit quirky (the shower room is off the kitchen), but with an old property you can expect this. The owner was very apologetic about the heating and hot water and offered another stay for free, then a refund and finally gave me a part refund but not, bizarrely, before lecturing me on greed and morals when I said I would take it!

The apartment is well located and is seconds away from the beach and an easy walk to the town centre. Parking was fine as the bays outside have no time limit in winter.

Would I stay here again? Probably not. It is a lovely apartment, but the memories of a holiday with no hot water, queuing for the electric shower that went hot and cold when the dishwasher was on (because there was no hot water to wash the plates!), no heating apart from two plug in heaters and a gas fire for two of the three days, getting up early to deal with plumbers and having to make contact with the owner several times while on a short break took the shine off of what should have been a lovely short break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location - very near beach
Liked least: No hot water and appalling attitude of owner
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2012
This customer booked a Jan/Feb off peak break. The day before this customer came to stay the condenser boiler broke down, he was informed immediately. His travel plans were already made and he still wanted to come even although they lived only 1 hour away. I told the family if they wanted to stay they could extend that stay free of charge, which they duly did and to book a further free short break online due to the difficulties. Subsequently I bought 2 oil filled radiators for their stay. Fortunately the weather outside was unseasonably mild. There is a gas fire in the living room, instant shower in the shower room that works perfectly well and a dishwasher. The only thing that he would not be able to use was the free standing bath in the bathroom and the hand basins would have cold water.
The plumber repaired the boiler on day 2 of his stay after 1 short visit. Immediately on his arrival home he demanded a peak season break free of charge. I told him he could have any off peak break including April he declined the offer. I deducted the cleaning and laundry costs from his stay and returned his balance. Hence my lecture on greed and morals.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Reviewed 16 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
6
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lancaster
Reviewed 16 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012
7
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Co Down, N Ireland
Reviewed 29 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011
7
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JonnyGee
Manchester, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very satisfied”
Reviewed 8 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011
6
people found this review helpful

Clean, tastefully decorated and basically very nice indeed. 3 good sized bedrooms and the owner certainly goes the extra mile to make your stay comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosberton - Lincolnshire
Reviewed 28 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011
8
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Duns
Reviewed 21 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011
8
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing