We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian evening”
Review of Osteria

Osteria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Italian evening”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have been in this restaurant for the last 4 years in our annual golf trip. Excellent food and service. Book in advance.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank skagfjord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    38
    10
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dundee
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best meal out”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a small restaurant but the welcome is superb. The food is superbly cooked and served. The staff are friendly and chatty and helpful with choice of wines. . Always a busy place and difficult to get a table - certainly you are advised to book ahead. We were staying in North Berwick for a week and managed to eat here 3 nights. Hopefully we will be back in the town and certainly be eating here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brodgarDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The whole experience was delightful”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Eating out is not just about the quality of the food, as far as I am concerned it is also about the atmosphere of the restaurant, the friendliness with which you are greeted and the ability of the staff to give you either space for a romantic evening or interact with you throughout your stay. Osteria as far as I am concerned, does all of this and more. The food is quietly understated, clearly loved by the staff as they describe in great detail each of the dishes. The champagne by the glass is reasonably priced and very acceptable.
Angelo and his staff make you feel welcome and there is an overwhelming feeling of being in someone's front room and sharing in a family meal.
Will be booking my table for my next visit upon our return to north berwick.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank venice22010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding restaurant in every way!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We were in North Berwick for 4 nights and ate here twice because it was so good! Angelo offers wonderful service and made us feel like locals the first night. He and his staff were excellent and very professional. The food is delicious! There were four of us eating and we each ordered different starters and main courses and everyone was very happy with their food. It was fresh, well prepared and presented. The local lamb dish is outstanding as are the homemade pastas and seafoods. We will definitely be back when we visit North Berwick again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melorafern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Superb lunch - a must to visit”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

A Thursday lunchtime in April and a near full restaurant must be a good sign.Not the largest menu but more than adequate, complemented with good wines and excellent coffee. It would be easy to eulogise about this or that but 4 of us dined well on a varied selection of dishes,were looked after in a professional but 'gently' friendly manner (a service skill often lacking in many dining rooms these days). Good decor, unhurried service and ambience most welcoming. Price? Four 4 persons, it was a snip for a 3 course meal pre meal drinks, wine with and coffee to end with change out of £110.00. Will look forward to sampling their evening menu in the future.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ComposerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria also viewed

North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 
North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 

Been to Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing