We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relating stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garden Flat Bed & Breakfast

The Garden Flat Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Berwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Garden Flat Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 27 North Berwick B&B and Inns
manchester
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very relating stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this lovely bed and breakfast. Room was large and comfortable, breakfast was nice and plentiful. Short walk to the town and even shorter to the beach. Very relaxing.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cjhbmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenC2158, Owner at The Garden Flat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thankyou for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Friendly staff, good breakfast, nice room, weather poor but cant help that.

Well priced and centrally located in this lovely seaside town

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jambo067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Great facilities at this lovely B and B.
Very helpful staff and they catered for our early breakfasts, as we had to be at the Golf course earlier than expected, with no problems.
Rooms were all delightful and clean, and this is the second time we have enjoyed staying here.
Although it is nice to have an ensuite room, the rooms with a private bathroom are also very nice.
Great breakfast room, with tables looking out to the sea, and good menu choice for breakfast.
I would recommend this accommodation if you are visiting North Berwick.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenC2158, Owner at The Garden Flat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Many thanks, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mersea Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Nobody to let us in at 16.00 after a drive of 400 miles. When somebody finally arrived (after we had to make two phone calls) we were obliged to wait because the room was not ready. During our three-night stay: breakfasts virtually inedible with mould found on toast and in the honey-pot; after first night: beds not made up, dirty cups in room not replaced, bins not emptied, water not replaced, other people's clothes found on the floor, a hexagonal nut lying on the floor for the duration of the stay. 2011 brochures, visitors' book full with last entry 2011. Need I say more??

Room Tip: Great location or the golf links and town
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NinaS587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenC2158, Owner at The Garden Flat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us; we are a small, family-run B&B, and it is really important to us that guests enjoy their stay in our home. I was particularly distressed that I first learnt about most of the issues you raised when I happened to read about it on tripadvisor.

It is inevitable in life that things can go wrong occasionally, and we very much regret the mix-up with your room on arrival. We apologised - because this is not the standard we expect of ourselves - and it did not appear to be a major problem for you at the time.

It is tempting to refute the inaccuracies you have posted, and I am particularly confused as to why you assured me all was well when I said goodbye to you on your morning of departure.

Nonetheless, my over-riding concern is that you were dissatisfied, and for that, at this stage, I can only apologise. It is genuinely important to us that guests enjoy their time with us in North Berwick, not only from a business point of view, but also because we want them to take happy memories with them
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for a four day trip to North Berwick, and could not have chosen a better place. We were in the Garden Room, which was lovely - the room and en suite were absolutely spotless, with lovely hand wash etc in the bathroom. The hand made shortbread was replenished each day, and was irresistable! The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts were the perfect way to set ourselves up for the day.

The location is very quiet, but only a few minutes walk down the road to the beach, and about 10 minutes along to the harbour. Also just a short walk to the train station, and a half-hour ride to Edinburgh, if you fancy a spot of sight seeing.

We would certainly look to book here again when returning to North Berwick.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ms2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We have now stayed twice at this bed and breakfast accommodation. The rooms are lovely. My husband & I had the double en suite room and our son and his wife and family had the family room which is very large and ideal for children. There is also a garden at the back where
the children can run around.
Facilities such as tea/coffee making in room is always appreciated. Bathroom products are of a high standard. Breakfast is superb! The staff extremely attentive and most helpful in advising restaurants,what to see etc. The location is very good. Quiet,but a 2 minute walk takes you over the golf course,then straight on to the beach. 10 minute walk along the beach you arrive at the harbour,shops attractions etc.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.6 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Lodge at Craigielaw
The Lodge at Craigielaw
#1 of 2 in Aberlady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Flat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Flat Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Garden Flat Bed & Breakfast
Address: 10 York Road, North Berwick EH39 4LX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in North Berwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Flat Bed and Breakfast is a seafront victorian villa offering a variety of high quality rooms at competitive rates making it perfect for your trip, whether it is a golfing weekend, family trip, romantic weekend or solo travelling. We serve a large selection of breakfast options including our delicious full Scottish breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Garden Flat Bed & Breakfast North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing