We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, relaxing place to visit ....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing place to visit ....”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Enjoyed girlie catch up with Afternoon Tea and a glass of wine. Staff very attentive, good value for money. Lovely place to sit and watch the world go by. Lovely sea views. We overlooked the golf course.feel very relaxed. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzydoll_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrMarine, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Lizzydoll_12,

Thank you for your post and sounds like you had a lovely time with us. Wine and cakes is a fantastic combination and with the added bonus of sea views.

I do hope you can visit soon for another afternoon tea, or why not dine in our 2 AA rosette restaurant...

Warm Regards,

Kate-Brihony Dunnion
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    693
    437
    179
    69
See reviews for
396
1,229
33
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Thank you once again for a wonderful stay. We love the location of this hotel, the seaview rooms are fabulous. We would like to say special thanks to William and his team for looking after us we had a lovely eveing meal in the John Paul Restaurant. Also Paul and his team of bar staff who made us lovely cocktails. We had another enjoyable stay with you and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We love the seaview rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IzzyMac C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrMarine, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear IzzyMac C,

Thank you for your comments on the Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa. Thank you for the personal comments to the staff, they very much enjoyed reading your positive experience in the restaurant and bar area.

We look forward to welcoming you back for some more cocktails in the near future!

Warm Regards

Kate-Brihony Dunnion
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Thanks to the welcome we received and the staff, our trip was extra special. I'd love to know where to get your pillows, as I had the most relaxing sleep on them. Evening meal at John Paul's was good but breakfast is the highlight meal.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank annerory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrMarine, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear annerory,

Thank you for your note and delighted you enjoyed your time with us at the Marine. I have messaged you with the pillow details. I hope you find this useful but in the mean time return to the Marine for another wonderful evening meal and relaxation!

Warm Regards,

Kate-Brihony Dunnion
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south lanarkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Booked and overnight at the Marine Hotel and Spa in North Berwick for my husbands birthday. I booked it through the hotel's web site which gave me ten pounds credit to spend at the Hotel during our visit. The break was for dinner bed and breakfast on a special deal for Spring deal, paying for it in advance. The dinner and the breakfast was excellent and the room was nice but a bit on the small side although it had all the usual extras that you come to expect from a hotel of this standard. The room had the requested sea view which pleased my husband. The views from the public rooms were beautiful as was the weather we had when there. I would definitely go back but book a slightly bigger room.

Room Tip: Ask the size of room at time of booking, as it may be worth paying a little extra for a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lady70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrMarine, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear lady70,

Delighted to read your comments on the Macdonald Marine and that your husband enjoyed his birthday treat. Our views are wonderful from room and lounge area. My team are always delighted to assist with requests so next time you book, please call the hotel directly to assist with your requirements.

Warm Regards,

Kate-Brihony Dunnion
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and was very impressed. Not sure fi wewere upgraded but we got a huge room with a four-poster at very reasonable rate. We'd had dinner there before so knew the food would be very good but it surpassed our already high expectations: well sourced ingredients confidently cooked and amazing consistency; way above the level you'd expect at a hotel chain). Superb breakfast as well with loads of fresh fruit, decent bread etc and again, everythihg really well-sourced. A treat.
The spa facilites were excellent, with a pool long enough to do lengths in and an excellent range of saunas and spa pools. Thye were'nt busy when we were there even though it weas the Easter weekend.
We were lucky enough to get good weather but it's the sort of place you'd be happy to while away the hours on rainy days. North Berwick is an interesting town with a good range of independent shops, a pretty harbour and beach and a strong architectural heritage..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickoffforabreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrMarine, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Nickoffforabreak,

Thank you for your thorough post on the Marine and North Berwick. Pleased to read you enjoyed your Easter weekend with us and gained some fortunate weather!

We have some lovely grounds that lead onto the golf course, down to the beach and only a 10 minute stroll to the town, plenty to do at the Marine and in the local area.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing visit.

Warm Regards,

Kate-Brihony Dunnion
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I booked the Marine Hotel for us on the weekend of my Husband's 50th birthday. I was taking him to Barcelona 2 weeks later but we fancied getting away that weekend & we'd stayed here before. I booked a sea view room & mentioned on the booking that it was Hubby's birthday. It was lovely of the hotel to leave a hand written card for him in our room.

The views were stunning, made even better by great weather. It was the relaxing 3 days we were looking for. The staff were as always lovely & attentive.

There were 3 things we were a bit disappointed in:
1. the heat in the bedroom was stifling, even though we turned off the radiators there were still several pipes running along the wall that were roasting hot. We had to leave the windows open at night to be comfortable.
2. we felt the breakfast was overpriced for what you got. The full cooked breakfast wasn't a great portion but couldn't fault the service.
3. the bar prices are still inflated as others have commented on.

I'm sure we will be back at the Marine as we love the spa & North Berwick but will probably look for a deal in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrMarine, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Pamalama,

Thank you for your feedback on the Marine. Great to read you enjoyed your pre-celebration for your husband’s 50th birthday and the team looked after you both.

I note your comments on the points listed and thank you for taking the time to note these for improvements in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back but in the mean time enjoy Barcelona!

Warm Regards,

Kate-Brihony Dunnion
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We spent an evening here over the Easter weekend. The weather was phenomenal so we enjoyed the beautiful sea view from our third floor bedroom as well as the lounge and dining areas. We enjoyed lunch, dinner and breakfast here as well as the spa facilities. The food at dinner was delicious, (I had the Gnocci) and breakfast had a great selection of cooked, continental and fresh produce. Breakfast is really busy in the mornings so might have to wait for a table, but don't be cross, it's worth it.
The spa area is lovely, with several steam rooms, saunas, showers and an outside pool area. Really lovely, relaxing. The ladies changing rooms are bit odd, you don't exit into the pool area but the adjoining corridor, the mens enter straight to the pool area.
Our room was lovely, though my partner who booked was disappointed. Room was clean and had everything you needed.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view otherwise you'll be facing the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrMarine, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear jenna W,

Thank you for posting your feedback on the Marine. Delighted to read you enjoyed the food and beverage offerings over the Easter break in addition the use of the spa facilities. Complimentary use of the saunas, steam rooms and outdoor hydro pool is definitely an added bonus when staying at the Marine.

Sorry your husband did not enjoy the room and if you have any additional feedback always welcome.

Warm Regards,

Kate-Brihony Dunnion
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.2 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
3.3 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
0.8 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
18.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,011 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Address: 18 Cromwell Road | Edinburgh, North Berwick EH39 4LZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa boasts everything you could need for a short break on the Scottish coast. Our luxurious spa offers rejuvenating Elemis treatments performed by highly trained therapists. Experience award-winning dining in our restaurant or relax in our lounge while taking in the view over the Firth of Forth. Your guaranteed a great night sleep in our stylish bedrooms, exactly what you need after a day on one of the many surrounding world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Marine Hotel North Berwick
Macdonald Marine Hotel And Spa
Hotel Macdonald Marine
Berwick Hotel Marine North
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing