We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Peaceful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is a lovely hotel, perfect for a peaceful week-end or a romantic escape. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Good quality breakfast. The highlight was a location, right next to the beach and the golf course, perfect for a walk along the coast. Staff was friendly and professional

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SvitYa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrMarine, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear SvitYa,

Thank you for your post on the Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa.

Delighted you enjoyed your romantic weekend away in the perfect coastal setting. Our breakfast is great with fresh continental selection and a plated cooked breakfast.

Coming soon some new items to the breakfast menu - cooked to order waffles and pancakes....

That alone is worth another visit!!!

Warm Regards,

Kate - Brihony Dunnion
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,603 - 1,609 of 2,320 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

What a place. Beautiful building. Lovely atmosphere. Brilliant staff (William gets a special mention). Excellent rooms. Just wish I had more time to spend here. The views from sea facing rooms are immense

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrMarine, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Michael C,

Thank you for William's personal mention. He is very passionate about his restaurant at the Marine and delighted for the mention.

Between golf, beach, town, restaurant, bar, spa and hydro areas there is a lot to do at the Marine and North Berwick and minimum 2 days is recommended, therefore we hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards

Kate - Brihony Dunnion
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Ideally situated about a fifteen minute stroll into town the hotel enjoys commanding views over the Forth and the golf course. An old building (1800 hundreds?) which has been tastefully modernised by Mc Donald's while retaining most of its old world charm.

The open reception leads to relaxing lounges looking out to sea with comfortable seating and tranquility. I was though a little surprised to see a roaring fire in the main lounge on a lovely sunny weekend!

The room allocated to me was very well furnished with a very comfortable bed. Complimentary water and a tray of treats was provided. All the accessories expected of a four star hotel were present, hair dryer, iron, tea, coffee.

The bathroom was spotless although a little compact. I would imagine most people would have a problem fitting into the small bath! The usual toilet freebies were all present.

I personally found the restaurant service and food to be excellent. Polite attentive staff made sure that everything was to your satisfaction and were ready to discuss any requirements with you. Talking about staff I found each and everyone I encountered to be very polite and helpful.

In general I enjoyed an excellent weekend and came away feeling quite refreshed. I have already pencilled in a return to this hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Couperthwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrMarine, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Couperthwaite,

Thank you for detailed feedback and you're correct 18 hundreds; actual 1818 to be precise! It is a beautiful building with beautiful coastal views. The team and I are very proud and delighted it shows through their hospitality and service.

Can’t wait to have you back at the Marine, when booked drop me a note and I’ll ensure you're well looked after.

Warm Regards,

Kate - Brihony Dunnion
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just had an amazing stay,yet again at the Marine Hotel. It was a special celebration of my sisters 60th birthday. The hospitality that the hotel affords you is second to none, the rooms with splendid views , the food and of course the service in the restaurant is like it used to be years ago in the UK. Thanks to all concerned Paul & Diane.

Room Tip: One with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeandPaulBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrMarine, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear DianeandPaulBolton,

Welcome Back!

Lovely review on the Marine, the team was delighted to read your notes and very much look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Kate-Brihony Dunnion
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend and found the location lovely and relaxing. Pool and spa is great and the hotel is generally well kept and clean.

Areas for improvement: bed wasn't comfortable and service in bar area was too slow. To be fair the young girl working in there seemed like she needed more support.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrMarine, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Catherine512,

Thank you for your review on the Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa.

Our location is one of true beauty and no matter the weather the dramatic coastline is one to sit back and admire.

I thank you for your feedback and we've reviewed as a team.

Warm Regards,


Kate-Brihony Dunnion
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Spent the Easter weekend here.
First of all a great location about 100m from the Firth of Forth and adjacent to the links golf course.
Room was very comfortable with all the usual facilities.
Great choice at breakfast and the bar was a quiet place to relax.
Eat every night at John Paul restaurant - our deal gave us an allowance of £30 each for food - the quality was excellent but above all the service throughout the hotel was brilliant - everyone very friendly and talkative.
A real asset to the hotel.
The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the railway station and we took a trip into Edinburgh which takes roughly 35 minutes with a return ticket £6.80.
I would thoroughly recommend the hotel

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the Firth - absolutely stunning!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gersandy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrMarine, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Gersandy2013,

Thank you for your post on the Marine. Pleased to read you enjoyed your time with us over the Easter period.

We are very proud of our restaurant and delighted you enjoyed the experience of fine dining is a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,

Kate-Brihony Dunnion
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

This once great old lady is in need of a refurbishment and the brown furnishings don't help. It is all looking a little dated. There is also no air conditioning and given how hot it was that weekend it was impossible to sleep because the bedroom was boiling.

My parents had booked a table in the restaurant to celebrate my birthday
There were 7 waiters for 16 tables and it was some of the worst service I have ever received. 3 times I had to get up to go and find a waiter because they had forgotten something and to make matters worse the food wasn't great.

On the plus side, the reception and bar staff were extremely helpful and friendly and it was nice they allow dogs in the hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank KJScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrMarine, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear KJ Scotland,

Thank you for your review on the Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa. It disappoints me to read your stay had some lapses in service and for this I sincerely apologise.

If you would like to discuss the matter further, please feel free to email me direct.

Warm Regards

Kate - Brihony Dunnion
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.2 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
321 reviews
3.3 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
0.8 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
25 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
363 reviews
18.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa

Address: 18 Cromwell Road | Edinburgh, North Berwick EH39 4LZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Price Range: £107 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa boasts everything you could need for a short break on the Scottish coast. Our luxurious spa offers rejuvenating Elemis treatments performed by highly trained therapists. Experience award-winning dining in our restaurant or relax in our lounge while taking in the view over the Firth of Forth. Your guaranteed a great night sleep in our stylish bedrooms, exactly what you need after a day on one of the many surrounding world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Marine Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel North Berwick
Hotel Macdonald Marine
Berwick Hotel Marine North
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing