We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, but no service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed with my daughter four days. The room we had was great, with a nice view, but chilly temperatures inside. The outside temperature was 12-13° so it was only 17° inside. The central heating was off and we had to work with a tiny elecrical heater. (one night the heating was working?!).
The spa is fine, but has to be cleaned more thoroughly.
The receptionists are polite and helpful.
Lets talk about the service in reataurant and bar: It is a dead loss!!!
Waiting, waiting, waiting......disorganized and unpolite!
There had been so many mistakes and errors made, it would take to long to go in detail.
Overall, nice to stay but do avoid the bar or restaurant!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jumbocaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,659 - 1,665 of 2,387 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Long weekend over the bank holiday. Spa facility was excellent, with good pool and gym opening hours. Evening meal was fantastic, everything very tasty. Slight problem with original room, due to dogs in neighbouring room but I informed staff and was moved swiftly. Peaceful retreat, stunning scenery. Would definitely go back

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank biomed86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for a final treat before our first baby is due! We really wanted a special and memorable experience and we were not disappointed. We were fortunate enough to have a room overlooking the sea which was lovely. It was a small room but beautifully decorated and very comfortable furnishings. The shower was fab. Robes were provided in the room which added that element of luxury and was great for visiting the spa. Now onto the spa.....fabulous! Pew have stayed in many hotels that claim to have a spa only to be disappointed. Marine hotel however did not disappoint! Lovely pool area big enough to actually swim (unlike many hotel pools) however the spa area was fab. Several different steam room/sauna/shower/jacuzzi type rooms. Unfortunately I could use these dud to pregnancy but it looked great & my husband certainly enjoyed. I was quite happy though in the lovely pool with loungers overlooking the beautiful garden. Now moving on to the food! Absolutely stunning! Breakfast was great. Everything very fresh, fruit pastries etc. then lovely cooked breakfast. Evening meal in the restaurant was also great. Delicious we'll cooked/executed quality produce. One of my highlights was the chocolate fondant which was perfect! One of the best in have tasted. Hats off to the chef and all staff for that matter. All staff were very friendly and attentive, without bring too invasive. Restaurant was very well run and managed. All in all I can not praise this hotel highly enough and will be booking a weekend away for my mum and dad and have also recommended to several people. We hope to return some time in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay. Marine, looked like the best hotel in town with very good food and quite handy to town center (about a 10 minute walk) and its restaurants. One can also take a taxi to anywhere in town for a fixed fare of 4 pounds. It is also an excellent location if the reason for your visit is to play at North Berwick Golf course.
The food at the hotel is very good starting with a very good breakfast and afternoon tea service and a good bar. One can have tea and drinks in comfortable areas overlooking the Firth of Forth and the golf course. They have a very nice library room and a comfortable living room.
Among the negatives, they have one slow elevator and although the hotel is updated there are no temperature controls in the room. We had to call the front desk to get the room warmed up on a particularly cold night in early May. During our stay the hotel did not have adequate "bell service" to help with our luggage both at arrival and departure.

Room Tip: Don't bother getting upgraded rooms; it's a hit or miss deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The service and standard of accommodation was as you would expect from a MacDonald Hotel. I stayed as part of a corporate golfing event and my room overlooked both the links of North Berwick Golf Course and The North Sea. The restaurant is very grand and the food was excellent. This is not a value seekers venue but a little opulence does you good. There are several top quality golf courses within only a few miles and Edinburgh is only a 20 minute drive. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We recently celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary at this hotel. We booked members of the family into the hotel and had dinner in the library. Both meal and accommodation were wonderful and the friendly staff gave us excellent service both in organising the event and during our stay there. We would highly recommend this hotel for such a function. The breakfast was ordered and served on a personal basis and not from kept-hot ingredients to help yourself.

We did not use the spa so cannot comment on it.

Room Tip: Some rooms have an excellent view over the golf course and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackBrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Having just returned from The Marine Hotel all I can say is well done to all involved in the set up in North Berwick. My wife and I arrived to find we had been upgraded to a suite which in itself was fantastic. However the whole experience from reception to spa to bar to breakfast was 5 star. We will definitely be returning. This was my second visit in 3 months and all I can say is consistency rules at the Marine.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.2 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
328 reviews
3.3 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
0.8 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
25 reviews
18 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
3,500 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa

Address: 18 Cromwell Road | Edinburgh, North Berwick EH39 4LZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Price Range: £75 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa boasts everything you could need for a short break on the Scottish coast. Our luxurious spa offers rejuvenating Elemis treatments performed by highly trained therapists. Experience award-winning dining in our restaurant or relax in our lounge while taking in the view over the Firth of Forth. Your guaranteed a great night sleep in our stylish bedrooms, exactly what you need after a day on one of the many surrounding world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Marine Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel North Berwick
Hotel Macdonald Marine
Berwick Hotel Marine North
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing