We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I was fortunate enough to spend a night up here and apart from the stunning views I found the staff extremely helpful and accommodating the room fantastic and the food and the service. In bar without fault would recommend the hotel to anyone

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    695
    439
    179
    69
See reviews for
397
1,233
33
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Spent two nights here recently with 10 other family members. Hotel was extremely well positioned, well presented with luxurious spacious bedrooms.

Stunning views and sunset scene from the restaurant (see photo) where the food matched the scenery. Both dinner and breakfast were beautifully presented, well prepared and exceedingly satisfying to all 11 members of our party. As I like to offer a balanced view, I would suggest that the very friendly and professional (in attitude) staff, where not always matched by skills on display on this occasion. For example, I would expect better than a waiter to stand and suddenly announce to a large group that "I have a smoked salmon here" and then wait for the audience to respond. (of course, had he done the same with my pork belly, that would have been amusing). Also, meals came out individually more often than not, adding to the wait time for the first meal to cool (manners always!). These are things which can quickly be rectified however and certainly did not detract from the terrific meal.

Breakfast was plentiful, fresh and cooked to order. I would order the sausage over and over!

Bedroom with a four poster (room 111) was very large indeed - almost matched by the over sized and somewhat uninspired, echoing bathroom. Clean and comfortable with a beautiful photo frame window view of the golf course and Firth of Forth. This was enhanced by the situation of the couch and the accompaniment of the provided espresso machine. Be aware though, that with only 3 coffee capsules available, replenishment comes at £2 per capsule.

Final point which would enhance a visit for me on a personal level - the bar offers little in the way of non-lager beers and I settled for a can (a can!) of Belhaven Black Stout.

Overall - a great stay with fabulous food in a lovely hotel with friendly staff.

Room Tip: Always, always, always ask for a room facing the sea - but be prepared to pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellytubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here on our way back from Scotland great place to stop over after a long journey. Lovely greeting from the young lady receptionist, and our room 227 was fantastic, sea views, light, cosy, very romantic, very lovely furnishings, large bathroom.Would love to stay here again. There is a 10 minute stroll into North Berwick and the the beach is just 5 mins walk from the hotel. We met Kate the operations manager who greeted us and made us feel very special. If you are visiting the area I can highly recommend this fantastic hotel. oh how could I forget the spa !! the out door thermal pool was great as was the pool and steam room.

Room Tip: room 227 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piggy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
185 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We in Scotland for a golf trip and this was a great central location to play some awsome courses within a few minuets ride. The staff was very friendly and attentative and the food was great. I would recomend springing the extra for the breakfasts every morning. The hotel has great views accross the West Links golf course out to the Norh Sea. Unfortunatly we required two beds and were told that only the king rooms have views of the Sea. No big deal since the view can be seen from everywhere else in the Hotel. If you are there to play golf the hot tub in the spa is a great place to spend part of your evening. It is a small town make sure you allow enough time for a taxi.

Room Tip: If you want an sea view I was told it must be a king room and not a two doubles room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjbinkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We popped in for coffee to this hotel which is in a lovely setting in North Berwick and were very disappointed. Staff were friendly. Coffee arrived first and was almost cold by the time the scones arrived which had obviously been defrosted in the microwave as they were fairly dry. Clotted cream was gorgeous but the jam had already been used by someone else! The waitress then had to go back for the milk which she has forgotten and I noticed just before pouring that it had dozens of black granules (perhaps coffee granules) mixed in with it. I had to return that myself and the coffee was barely warm by this time. At a cost of £13.45 for 2, this was very poor.

Decor is dark and past its best with some lampshades having large stains on them.

While this all seems minor, it should not be the practice of such a supposedly good hotel and I really did not think that milk should have floaters, scones microwaved or have to use someone elses jam!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Douglas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Came here for a night's stay. Lovely area and the hotel was beautiful! We were met by friendly and attentive staff and the room was clean and fresh. Just a shame we had a view of the car park! We got a last minute deal so that explains the view! The pool area was brilliant and the all the facilities were included which we really enjoyed. Breakfast was delicious with lots of choices and the cooked breakfast was yummy! We may travel back here in the future as we want to explore the area more so would use the hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kt2435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and was very impressed by the helpful and friendly staff - both reception and in the main restaurant. I was told the hotel was fully booked and as I hadn't specified a twin room only doubles were left. The staff agreed to put a spare mattress in our room without any fuss and even though it wasn't quite what I had expected the arrangements didn't distract us from enjoying our stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.2 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
306 reviews
3.3 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
0.8 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
24 reviews
18.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 16 in St Andrews
3,060 reviews
9.1 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Address: 18 Cromwell Road | Edinburgh, North Berwick EH39 4LZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa boasts everything you could need for a short break on the Scottish coast. Our luxurious spa offers rejuvenating Elemis treatments performed by highly trained therapists. Experience award-winning dining in our restaurant or relax in our lounge while taking in the view over the Firth of Forth. Your guaranteed a great night sleep in our stylish bedrooms, exactly what you need after a day on one of the many surrounding world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Marine Hotel North Berwick
Macdonald Marine Hotel And Spa
Hotel Macdonald Marine
Berwick Hotel Marine North
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing